HS Chapter 47: The hopeless sister takes exams

‘If Nee-sama avoids getting red marks on all subjects… I’ll listen to one request from Nee-sama, whatever you like…’

—- Like that. I, Mako Tachibana, have made a wonderful promise with my beloved sister, Koma, whom I’ve been secretly (?) yearning for. Thanks to this (impure) goal of doing whatever I like to Koma if I avoid red marks, I was able to study more intensively on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday than I normally would have been able to do.

From tomorrow the final exams begin. In order to catch up for the final exams, I was in Koma’s room with Koma, and I was working on the remaining problems  with Koma watching over me, in the middle of the night…

“Okay, this is the end. Good work, Nee-sama. The date will change soon, so let’s end your study here and go to sleep.”
“Eeeh!?”

Even though there were still a few problems left to be solved, Koma finished grading the problems I was working on and quickly started putting away her study materials. Eh? Why…?

It’s only a little after 11:00, and I was  getting to the good part…

“Ehm, Koma? Don’t tell me, we’re done already…? There’s a few problems left and I can still do it? If it’s possible I think I can cram overnight.”

“No, we’re done for today so let’s go to sleep, Nee-sama. Honestly speaking, overnight cramming before the exams is inefficient. You’ll find it difficult to concentrate on the exams… It’s better to wake up early and study than do that.”

She then put all my study materials that were spread out on the desk into my bag and handed them to me without letting me say anything back.

“But, the exam is tomorrow… It’s not like I can solve the most basic problems perfectly yet…”

“You’re fine. Now that you’ve solved this many problems, you should be confident in yourself. Now it’s just a matter of how much you can apply what you’ve learned in the exam!”

“Is that so… Is that how it works?”

I don’t think what Koma said is wrong, but I’m still uneasy about it. Since I’m a hopeless sister who can’t study too much, I feel like I should study as much as I can…

“That’s how it is. Now, let’s get a good night’s sleep and be in perfect state for the exams!”

“U, un… I got it. Etto… Well, I’m going to return to my room.”

I’m still a little unconvinced, but I decide to follow Koma’s advice and go back to my room.

“Thank you for helping me with my studies till now, Koma. Have a good sleep.”

“Yes♪ Sweet dreams, Nee-sama.”

“Un. You too, Koma.”

After telling my thanks to Koma, I left her room. When I get back to my room, the first thing I do is check my pencil case to make sure I have all my pencils, erasers, replacement leads, and spare pencils in order to be ready for tomorrow’s exam.

And while I’m doing that, I’ll check the exam schedule for tomorrow. After checking it, I turn off the lights and crawl into my bed…

“(… I can’t sleep at all!)”

… It’s long past my normal bedtime, and normally I’d fall asleep instantly… My eyes are wide open and I’m unable to sleep because I’m nervous about the exam that starts tomorrow and anxious because I haven’t studied enough.

Even so, I closed my eyes and tried hard to sleep, but I couldn’t fall asleep… It’s been 10 minutes, 30 minutes, and I still don’t feel like I can sleep at all.

“… What should I do…”

I mutter to myself in my pitch-black room. Staying like this and agonizing until I fall asleep… I feel it’s a waste of time. In that case, shouldn’t I at least study a little for tomorrow until I fall asleep?

After all… Even at my best I’m hopeless in many ways, so I need to learn more words and do more exercises than others. If I don’t, avoiding red marks & getting a reward from Koma will just be a dream… Above all, I wouldn’t be able to live up to Koma’s expectations who has taught me so much.

“… Okay!”

I’ve made up my mind so now I can’t waste a single second or a minute. I jump out of bed and quietly make my way to my study desk without making any footsteps so as not to wake up Koma sleeping in the next room… I took out my study tools that Koma had put in my bag earlier and resumed my study.

◇ ◇ ◇ 

The next morning. It was the day of the much-anticipated exam, so I arrived at school earlier than usual with even more enthusiasm than usual, and spent the morning in the classroom finishing my preparations.

“Oh. Mako is the first one to arrive again. Good morning, you’re working a lot. Amazing, Mako.”

“Ah, un. Good morning, Kanakana. My exams are from today, so I have to do my best!”

“… Ma-Mako!? What happened to your face?”

“… Hm? What?”

My best friend who sits next to me is the second one to arrive at the classroom, and as soon as she sees me studying, she speaks to me with a surprised expression.

My face…? Is there something on it? Perhaps she wants to say ‘Your face is more unattractive

 than usual!’?

“What, you ask me… Don’t you know you have great bears under your eyes!? What happened?”

“Bears…? Aah, yeah. Err… Truth is, I stayed up all night yesterday because I couldn’t sleep.”

“All-night…”

In the end, I didn’t get sleepy since then, and I found myself studying until it was light around me. Hehehe… I feel the sun is brighter than usual…

‘You… Are you fine doing the exams in that state…? I think it’ll be good if you sleep till the exam starts…”

“Ahaha. I’m fine, I’m fine. Somehow… I’m feeling pretty good about my studies right now because my spirit is at an all high due to not having slept.”

“Is that so…?”

Actually, I’ve been feeling weirdly excited because I haven’t slept. Thanks to this, I don’t feel any anxiety or fear about the exam, and like this I’ll just study as hard until the very last minute.

“So, I’d like to continue studying… All okay, Kanakana?”

“Aaah, un… I got it. Sorry for disturbing you, Mako.”

“It’s fine, it’s fine. Let’s both do our best at the exam!”

I ended the conversation with my best friend with that and went back to finishing up my studying for the exam. By the way, the exam schedule for today is: home economics in first period, then English in second period… And then, the process that’s called mathematics in the third period.

… I’m really lucky that my home economics exam, which I don’t have to study for to get a good score, and my math exam, which I have to study for the most, are on the same day. This way I’m able to focus more on math.

“Yosu! You’re early again, Tachiban— Tachibana!? Your eyes… Your eyes are bloodshot, what’s wrong!?”

“Uwaa! Really, are you okay, Mako?”

“Aah, good morning everyone. I’m fine. Don’t worry.”

While I was studying and thinking that, my classmates were gathering in the classroom one after another. I continue studying until the morning assembly starts, with the same greetings and exchanges as my best friend from earlier.

“Good morning, students. Your final exams start from today. I’m happy to see that all of you’ve studied properly. I’m sorry for interrupting you but I want to start the morning assembly so please take your seats.”

When all of my classmates arrived, the homeroom teacher finally comes and starts the morning assembly. 

“—-Okay, I see that everyone is present. What’s left is for you all to work hard. This concludes the morning assembly.”

Today, the teacher ends the morning assembly with an attendance check and some light announcements…. Maybe, the teacher cut the morning meeting early to give us a little time to review for the exam. Thank you, my teacher.

We have some time before the first period exam starts. I use this precious time to solve math problems at the end of chapters

“Thank you for waiting. Everyone, it’s time to put away your study materials in your bags. I’ll begin your home economics exam.”

In the blink of an eye, it was time for the first period home economics exam, and the supervising teacher arrived. 

Following the teacher’s instructions, my classmates and I hurriedly put away our textbooks and other materials in our bags.

“To make sure you don’t cheat, all students should place their bags in the hallway or on a shelf in the back of the classroom. Only your writing utensils are allowed on your desks. Once you empty the desks then you’ll sit in order of your attendance numbers. Also… If there is any writing on your desk, you may be considered to have cheated. If it’s not your desk, please check it beforehand and report to me if anything is written on it.”

The teacher hands out the question and answer sheets while giving the familiar test notes in a simple manner. I pass the form around to my friend in the back seat and wait for the signal to start.

“Then, everyone please start.”

As soon as the second hand of the clock in the classroom pointed to 12, the teacher signals us to start the exam.

I rolled up the sheets of paper to the back side and I began the final exam.

◇ ◇ ◇

―――Second year final exams, first period:Home economics―――

【Write the names of the five essential types of nutrients called the five macronutrients and their main functions】

All right…! Right from the start, a freebie problem came for me! The answer is… Carbohydrates, fats, proteins, minerals, and vitamins. Carbohydrates and fats provide energy, proteins build the body, and minerals and vitamins keep the body in good shape…  That’s about it.

If I have time to review it later, I’ll add a few more details about how it works. It’s a subject that I can get points for, so I want to get as many points as I can.

I’ve always wanted to help Koma with her taste disorder, and I’ve been studying nutrition at the recommendation of Dr. Chiyuri, so this is an easy problem for me. I’d wonder if they could all make my exam problems home economics… That way I’d be tied for first place with Koma.

While muttering such complaints in my mind, I decide to move on to the next problem.

―――Second year final exams, second period:English―――

【Please rewrite the following sentences that are in active sense into passive sense sentences and then translate them into Japanese】

The news surprised her.

Second period is English. I’ve been trying my best to solve only the problems I could solve, but I suddenly stop solving. Ah…! This word ‘surprised’… If I remember right, when I was studying with Koma at Dr. Chiyuri’s clinic… Isn’t it the word I learned kissing with Koma…!?

Although I’m still in the middle of an exam, I reach for my lips. I remember them by tracing them with my fingers… The meaning of the word and the taste of Koma’s kiss.

When I close my eyes, I can vividly picture my kisses with Koma on that day. I was alone with Koma in the waiting room on that Sunday afternoon, our lips quietly touching each other. Koma’s clothes, her scent, and the softness of her lips at that moment. And then, together with her kiss I learned—

“… Oh? Tachibana-san? Isn’t your face somewhat red? Are you okay?”

“Ah… No, this is… I just remembered something about the answer to a question, please don’t mind me, teacher…”

“Ah, if that’s so then okay. Sorry for interrupting you. Please continue answering.”
“Y-Yes…”

I wonder if it was because I was remembering what I had done with Koma at that moment that showed on my face, but the supervising teacher called out to me with worry. Ah, that was close… I have to focus on the exam.

Etto, I’m pretty sure this is the rewrite… ‘She was surprised at the news’. It becomes that in English, and then changing it to Japanese it’s 『彼女はそのニュースに驚かされた』… Should be that. Thank you doctor who taught me that memorization technique and to Koma who kissed me.

◇ ◇ ◇

— With this feeling,  I got through the Home Economics and English exams pretty well.

And finally, my worst enemy out of all… It was time for the third period math exam.

“Now, everyone, finish putting your study materials away and take your seat. The math exam is going to start. This is your last exam for today. I hope you won’t relax, and do your best till the end.”

It’s a math exam, and the supervising teacher is our homeroom math teacher. She yells at us and tells us to sit down. (TN: Since this is heavily yuri between multiple people other than just Mako and Koma. Everyone is a she unless gender is specifically said, like the editor and the male classmates.)

Finally… The time of judgment has come for me. 

“I will now explain the important points for the math exam. I’ll hand out the question and answer sheets, but I want you to leave both of them flipped to the back until I tell you otherwise.”

As soon as everyone was seated, the teacher hands out the question and answer sheets to us and began to explain the important points, as usual. 

“I think the previous supervising teachers have pointed it out but If you cheat, you won’t just get a zero in this subject but in all of your subjects, no questions asked.  Well, I have faith that nobody in this class would do something so foolish. And… If your sheets are nameless, no matter how many points you get in this subject, you’ll get a zero, so be careful. I advise you all to fill in your name first when the test starts. If you need to leave the room due to an illness, or if you are having trouble with a problem, or if you have any other questions, please raise your hand and call me quietly. Then the exam time—-”

My teacher’s explanation is long, which is almost the same as the previous time… I’ve already grasped what she’s saying, so I don’t really need to listen to her. While thinking, I close my eyes to focus. (TN: NO, what are you doing Mako!?)

… There’s only a few minutes left to exam’s start. Until it starts, I’m going to run a little simulation of the upcoming exam in my mind.

First, as the teacher said, I’ll write my name as soon as the exam starts. That’s the basics of the basics. Next, I don’t start solving problems immediately… First, I read the question paper carefully to determine what kind of questions are there and which ones I can solve…. This is an exam tip I learned from Koma.

If I know in advance where I might stumble, I can skip that problem and go to the next one. That way, I won’t make the mistake of ‘Running out of time when there are problems I can still solve’ and finish it like that.

Once I’m done checking, then I’ll start solving. And then just solve the problems that I can solve. Also it was important to leave the equations on the question paper so that if I make a mistake in the middle of the calculation, I can quickly find out where I made the mistake. 

And finally near the end of the exam, I just have to keep an eye on the time remaining so that I have at least five minutes to review, and I’ll be fine… That’s it.

…. All is well! OK! The simulation is perfect! I can do this… I can do this! Koma’s suitable guidance on me, and then the support of the doctor. And more importantly, the reward system. Thanks to them and the reward system I’ve studied as hard as I could! I’ll definitely do well! Rather, I have to! I have to!

What’s left is up to me to stay calm and not get nervous, and to make the most of what I’ve learned so far.

Seems like the signal to start the test has not been given yet… In order to relax and solve problems, I’ll use this momentum to simulate what happens after my exam is over! I close my eyes and begin my after-exam simulation.

After the exam, I rush to Koma with the answer sheet that has been graded in my hand.

“Koma, Komaa~ I did it! Look, look! Thanks to Koma, I didn’t just avoid red marks but I surpassed the average in all subjects!”

“Oh my…! Amazing, Nee-sama! As expected of Nee-sama who I respect! You’ve done great, Nee-sama!”

“Thank you~! This is all thanks to Koma!”

Though we are in public, we, the Tachibana sisters, are hugging and sharing our joy. Koma smiles like the sun at my good news and congratulates me as if it were her own. 

This time, Koma has been watching me study, and I’m really glad that I have lived up to her expectations…!

“And then, Nee-sama “It’s time. The math exam starts now. If there’s a problem with the question sheet, such as a missing or misplaced page, let me know as soon as possible” did her best and I haven’t done that” (TN: What the teacher said is overlapping with her simulation which Mako hasn’t noticed, hence why this sentence structure looks weird)

“He…? That…?”

And, after a few moments of joy, Koma suddenly changes her expression from an angelic smile to a bewitching smile and whispers in my ear. That… What was it?

“Fufu♪ Nee-sama, have you forgotten about it?”

“Eettoo… Sorry Koma, what was that again?”

“We promised to each other, didn’t we? If Nee-sama can fulfill her requirements… I’ll listen to one of Nee-sama’s requests, no matter what it is.”

Koma breaks the ice with that and I remember the promise I made with her. Aah, that’s right. I’ve been so into my studies that I’ve forgotten about it.

“Aah, un. Now that I remember, we did.”

“You did so great at the exams. I’ll listen to any single order you give me, no matter what it is.”

“Is that so? Ah, by the way, Koma. No matter what it is… For example, how much would you allow me?”

I’m a little bit curious so I ask Koma. I wonder what level will be safe… ? Personally, I would be very happy if she allowed me to go on a date alone with her…

“… That… Anything.”

“Anything?”

“Yes. That’s right… For example— ‘Letting Nee-sama do whatever she wants with my body’ I’ll allow an order like that♪”

“Fue?!”

And so, while sending me a provocative look, she sends a flash of her breasts so that only I could see them. Koma… How bold…!

“For Nee-sama who studied so hard for me… I don’t care how much you look at me, or touch me, or what you want to do with me. Please don’t be shy… And tell me.”

“Tell you…!? Etto… Ettoo…!?”

“Now, Nee-sama… Please enjoy yourself ♡”

She takes my hand while I’m in a panic and guides it to her own chest. Her other hand was around my waist… She is looking at me with feverish eyes, then she slowly brought her lips to mine—

“—- No, stop, Koma… Right in front of everyone… Un, that’s right… We can continue… in my room… It’s okay… Delicious… I’ll eat Koma’s buns… Uhehehehe~”

“””(…. This sister is sleep talking…)”””

“….. Tachibana. You poor one… It was unusual seeing you studying so hard till today… And yet you….!”

Tiredness from not used to study + All-nighter + Meditation right before exam = Falling asleep during the exam.

As I took the test, I fell asleep while my classmates looked at me in amazement and my teacher was puzzled… Like that, my math exam was over in every meaning.

Leave a comment