HS Chapter 51: The hopeless sister gives her thanks.

‘We’re going on a trip next week, so you girls better get ready’

Seriously, without any warning, Aunty suddenly told me that she had planned a trip for two days and one night. So I was in a rush and in a hurry to prepare for that… Before I knew it, it was the day of the trip.

“Hmm… It’s a pleasant ☆ Sunny day! It’s another beautiful day! The weather couldn’t be better for swimming! It’s good, good, isn’t it?”

Under a cloudless blue sky, I, Mako Tachibana, shout as I stretch out my arms. The deep blue of the sky, the blazing sunshine, and the busy chirping of the cicadas… It’s truly the full bloom of summer.

“The weather is really pleasant. It’s the best when I can play with Nee-sama in the ocean on days like this!”

“Right! I also want to enjoy the ocean with Koma as much as I want!”

Next to the screaming me, it is my little sis Koma with her elegant white parasol and agrees with me. I’m happy that it’s so sunny. If today’s weather was heavy rain or a typhoon, it would have ruined our trip to the beach.

I’d like to thank the sun god for clearing the sky so much on the day of this fun trip.

“By the way, Koma. You’re holding a parasol. That’s kind of unusual.”

“Yes. The sun is shining so strongly that I thought I’d use it.”

When I ask her about it because I’m curious, she responds while twirling her parasol. Usually Koma wears a straw hat in such situations, so it’s a bit refreshing to see her with a parasol.

“… Say, Nee-sama? Could it be… It doesn’t suit me? Was it a bit too stylish for me? Am I being too flashy?”

“Huh?… Oh, no, that’s not it. I think it’s rather the opposite.”
“Opposite…?”

… Doesn’t suit her? Wrong, it’s the opposite. It’s to die for. Of course, the cool white sleeveless top and long blue skirt she’s wearing now looks good on her, but… More than that, Koma standing under a parasol is so artistic that I can’t help but want to take a picture of her.

To be honest, girls our age would look showy with a parasol… Somehow, thanks to the cool and mature atmosphere of Koma, she doesn’t seem pretentious at all. Rather…

“In fact, I thought it’s really nice since you look like a refined lady or princess.”

“Eh…!? I-Is that so…?”
“Un, it looks amazing on you. I think you’re super lovely!”

“Th-Thank you very much… (*Mumble*)… I got praised… by Nee-sama♪”

I’m enchanted by Koma’s appearance and give my praise to her. When Koma got praised, she turned her head and looked ashamed, but her cheeks were dyed with a happy expression.

… She looks intellectually cool and smooth, and yet she shows this kind of adorable reaction… Oh my God, my little sis looks lovely no matter what she does.

“Anyhow, I wonder why Aunty and the others aren’t here yet? I think that is about time.”

With her cheeks still a little tinted from embarrassment at my compliments, Koma suddenly changes the subject and asks me about it. This action of Koma is also cute.

“Aah, If it’s about them, I tried to contact them earlier. They said they’ll be here soon. —–Utto. Speak of the devil. Look, there they are, Koma!”

As I was talking with Koma, they lightly honked the horn from behind at just the right moment. I turned around and saw a car about the size of a six-seater come along and slowly pull up beside me and Koma. The driver’s side door of the car opened, and from inside…

“Sorry for making you wait, Koma-san and Mako-san. I’ve had a bit of trouble getting ready.”

The editor-san in charge of my aunt, who is a novelist, showed up looking really apologetic for the delay.

“Thank you, Editor-san.  It’s fine, we didn’t wait long. Right, Koma?”
“Nee-sama is right. More importantly, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to accompany us on our trip. I look forward to having you with us on this trip, Editor-sama.”

“No, no. It’s me who should be sorry, I’ll be accompanying you… And I am about to ruin what would normally be a wonderful family vacation…”

The editor, myself, and Koma bowed to each other while thanking each other and apologizing. Un, what an ideal japanese-like behavior..

“Mako, Koma. You don’t need to greet this fellow like that. Better yet, get inside all of you. Time is precious… Also, Editor! Don’t leave the door opened! It’s going to be hot, with the heat from outside getting inside the car! And why are the three of you just standing there! Let’s get going already!”

… On the other hand, there are people who are completely unconcerned about such things and have an unpredictable temperament. Aunty in the passenger seat calls out to us in a kind of fed up manner.

“…. That’s right. Both of you. As Meiko-sensei says, let’s go inside the car first. It must’ve been hot waiting outside, hasn’t it? I’ll take care of the luggage for the two of you, so you can relax and cool yourselves. We’ll leave as soon as we finish packing our things.”

“”Yes!””

Me and Koma, take advantage of the editor’s kindness and leave our luggage with him. We went straight to the air-conditioned car.

 ◇ ◇ ◇

“Well then, once again. Editor-san, thank you for everything today!”

“Thank you so much for all your help, Editor-sama! Even though it was something that we should’ve done…”

The car is driving lightly down the highway with our travel luggage, me, Koma, and Aunty. In the car, Koma and I decide to say our thank you once again to the editor who is driving.

“You’re welcome. I’m sorry that I’ll be accompanying you…Thank you for the help, Mako-san  and Koma-san.”

Editor-san receives our words and replies in a refreshing way. He’s still as kind as ever… Thank you. (TN: So many Thank you’s in this chapter.)

“… Editor. If that’s what you think then you’re free to leave. Right now, leave!”

“A certain Aunty that causes trouble to the Editor-san should shut up… I’m sorry, Editor-san. Our Aunty is really useless. It’s embarrassing being her niece…”

“Haha! It’s okay, Mako-san. She’s the same as usual so don’t mind it.”

I scolded Aunty who said something rude like “Leave” to Editor-san, and bowed my head through the mirror. Jeez, Aunty you… You’re always taken care of by the Editor-san, so I wonder how you can be so bullheaded at all…

Even now, we’re going on a trip thanks to your editor…

… Now. It’s about time I explained why Editor-sana is accompanying us on our trip. 

Truth is the other day…. It happened when Koma and I bought the swimsuits we had chosen and went home happily.

 ◇ ◇ ◇

~Mako’s recollection~

‘Hey, Aunty. Can I ask you something?’

‘Ah? What is it?’

‘I’ve been so busy getting ready that I didn’t ask about it, but I heard it was a two-day, one-night trip… So naturally, you’ve already booked hotels and lodgings, right? Where will we stay? And, what ocean are we planning to go to?’

‘Hm? Hotel? Lodging? … Booking?’

‘I mean, you’ve done well to book an inn near the ocean at this time of year, Aunt-sama. It’s summer vacation, and it’s probably peak season right now. Wasn’t it difficult to get an appointment?’

We finished our preparations for the trip at a hurried pace, and while taking a break, we brought up the subject with Aunty.

At that time, Aunty was the one who proposed the trip, and I and Koma, of course, were under the assumption that Aunty had already made all the arrangements, but… 

‘No, I haven’t done anything like that yet…?’

‘’….Eh?’’

‘I didn’t make a hotel reservation or anything yet. The trip is almost a week away, so there’s no need to rush to book now? Besides I don’t have to do that, I can find a place to stay if I just look around?’

‘’……’’

We were both dumbfounded by such irresponsible statements from Aunty. It was so shocking we couldn’t close our mouths… Yeah. Not only did Aunty make a suggestion to go on a trip without checking our schedules… She said that she hadn’t booked a hotel or lodging near the ocean where she was planning to go. 

This was really a dilemma. As Koma said, it’s summer vacation so hotels and lodgings are probably already full of tourists.

Practically, I was in such a panic that I immediately contacted hotels near the ocean…

‘Eetto… Is that so? If you want to make a reservation now, we are very sorry, but the only way is to wait for someone to cancel…’

That’s what was mercilessly replied to me…. In other words, all the hurried preparations for the trip and the swimsuit I had picked out with Koma were all for nothing.. 

‘—– That’s what happened. Jeez! Aunty is really useless, isn’t she, Editor-san? Messing with people… In the end we won’t be going on a trip, she’s so unbelievable!?’

‘… I see. Sensei was so unplanned that the family trip went back to the drawing board… So that’s the gist. Fumu’

I was complaining about Aunty’s blunder over the phone that night to Editor-san, who is my e-mail friend and phone friend and one of my and Koma’s reliable advisors.

Editor-san, who had been quietly listening to my complaints, seemed to be thinking about something in silence for a while…

‘Hey… Mako-san. If it’s okay with Mako-san and Koma-san… Would you let me do the planning for that trip?’

He proposed such a great thing.

◇ ◇ ◇

… That’s the story till now. I’m very grateful to Editor-san who took care of all the details of our blank family trip.

The car we’re in right now is the editor’s car, and he’s the one driving it. 

And not stopping there, Editor-san did everything from preliminary research for this trip to negotiating the reservation of a moderately priced cottage near the ocean. I’m so grateful that I won’t be able to sleep with my feet upright…

“Good grief. Aunty who’s the person that proposed this should’ve taken the initiative and yet… What are you doing, Aunty?”

“I wasn’t able to, you know… I’ve been so busy for a while that I haven’t had time to think about it…”

“Then don’t propose ‘Let’s go on a trip’ without planning it… Also, Aunty should properly thank Editor-san, too!”

“Nee-sama is correct, Aunt-sama. I’m sure you’re causing him a lot of trouble on a regular basis, not to mention this time… You should thank Editor-sama properly, even if it’s just this time.”

We advise Aunty who has slumped in the passenger seat. I wonder why she looks so self-important over her own blunder?

“…. That’s, I certainly appreciate the fact that he rearranged our travel plans, but…”

“But, what?”

“….. How did it become for the Editor to accompany us…. This is our family trip, you know. I can drive a car too, and the Editor didn’t have to go through the trouble to come along…”

Aunty puffed her cheeks out and said such rude things in a sarcastic way to Editor-san, who’s driving. This Aunty has been complaining about him ever since it has been decided he’ll be with us on this trip…

Honestly speaking, I think Aunty would stop complaining if Editor-san slapped her 2 or 3 times. Her attitude is not a good attitude to have towards someone who’s done so much for her. Also, Aunty, puffing out your cheeks and complaining like a child isn’t cute and doesn’t suit you, so by all means, don’t do it.

“… It would’ve been fine going along with the original plan in the first place. At worst, we can sleep in the car, and if you don’t like it, we can always change to a day trip… Why did we have to bring him along with us…”

“You’re still ongoing…. What’s so unsatisfactory about Editor-san, Aunty? If you complain any further like a child, I’ll get angry before Editor-san does!”

“I’m of the same opinion as Nee-sama. You’re being rude to Editor-sama, Aunt-sama. You should express your apology and gratitude instead.”

Koma and I warn Aunty again. But Editor-san shook his head smiling and said, ‘It’s okay’.

“It’s okay, Mako-san and Koma-san. Honestly, it’s not unreasonable that Meiko-sensei isn’t happy with me coming along. I understand why she’s so unhappy, so please don’t worry about it.”

“… Hoo? Since you said that… Editor, you know the reason why I’m so unhappy?”

“Yeah, of course I do. We’ve known each other for a long time, after all. Sensei basically wants to say it like this.”

“….. Okay, say it.”

Then Editor-san broke off his words and then

“Finally, Mako-san and Koma-san are loving each other(flirting)—– So as a man, my presence is a hindrance to them getting along!”

“Annoying. That’s not it at all, you yuri-danshi(A******)” (TN: Basically a guy who likes yuri)

He tells her that in a high-pitched voice with a nice smile on his face. Umu, I hadn’t thought of that.

“Mako-san. And then Koma-san… I’m very sorry. As Sensei said, ‘Hey, wait a minute, you idiot, I never said a word about that!’ I might get in the way of the two of you… I had been worried until the very last minute whether or not to accompany her on this trip.”

Editor-san apologizes to us while driving, with a look that says he’s sincerely sorry… I can’t say it out loud, but to tell you the truth, Editor-san… He’s very smart, and he’s been aware of my feelings for Koma for quite some time.

He is a man who understands me and often gives me advice and occasionally follows up with me in various ways. My… He’s been really good to me a lot.

“However, in the case of Meiko-sensei, there’s the risk that she might leave her work for almost a month and go into hiding, leaving behind only a note saying ‘I’m going on a family trip’ as she did last year… Above all, it’s not unlikely for her to get into trouble for drinking on the road…”

“”Makes sense!””

“Don’t just agree with him, you twins.”

They’ve known each other for a long time, so as expected he’s reading Aunty’s behavioral patterns. I’m moved.

“If that happens, not only will it affect her future work, but it will also ruin the fun time you two’ll have…. After weighing up the possible problems and my decision to accompany her, I decided to come along.” 

“…. Are you my guardian or something? … Just like in the past. That’s why I didn’t want you to come along…”

Editor-san is bitterly smiling and Aunty in the passenger seat with her shoulders slumped in despair.

That’s why he helped plan the trip + as insurance in case Aunty did something wrong, he decided to accompany us on our trip as her guardian and supervisor.

It’s a huge help having him watch over Aunty. Him taking care of her gives me more time to flirt with Koma and go swimming.

“I’m very sorry for having ruined your fun family trip. I’ll do my best not to interfere with the two of you at all. Please just think of me as a convenient decoration or air. I’ll do whatever you ask me to do, and if you desire I’ll step outside of your view too.”

“That’s… You don’t have to worry about it, Editor-san. I’m happy to have you coming along with us. Isn’t that right, Koma?”

“Nee-sama is right, Editor-sama. We have always known that Editor-sama is a reliable person. We too hope you enjoy your trip without worrying about us!”

“…. Thank you very much. I’m relieved to hear you say that.”

Editor-san shows a relieved expression at our words. Both Koma and I have been indebted to the Editor-san since the past, and we are grateful for him coming along, so we have no reason to treat him badly. I’ll have to thank him once again later, including for taking care of Aunty. 

“… Aah, that’s right. Mako-san, Koma-san.I’d like to thank you for that, so… I have a good topic for you.”

“”Good topic?””

When I was thinking about him, Editor-san broke the ice with that. A good topic as thanks…? I wonder what it is?

“Truth is. The cottage I booked this time… There’s a slight problem.”

“Problem, is it? What is it…?”

“That is… Due to my carelessness, I had accidently booked a cottage with only two bedrooms. I’m sorry that I was so careless. Hahaha!”

“Haa… Etto, what’s wrong with that?”

…. Maybe,someone is going to sleep in the car because there are not enough bedrooms? Well, I don’t mind that, but… What part of that is good?

“Yes. That’s why, I’m so sorry, but…”

“”But…?””

“…. Tonight, Mako-san and Koma-san will use one bedroom, and Meiko-sensei and I will use one bedroom.”

“”!!?””

I leaned forward to listen intently to Editor-san’s words…  Wha-What did he say!? That means… I’ll sleep in the same room as Koma…!?

N-No, wait just a moment and calm yourself, Tachibana Moka… Maybe this nice guy about mine and Koma’s same room has—-

“By the way, Editor-san? This may be a strange question, but can I ask you…?”

“The number of beds in that bedroom… How many are there, Editor-sama?”

When Koma and I ask this question, Editor-san replies with a big smile on his face. 

“Just one. There’s only one double-sized bed, Mako-san and Koma-san. Good gracious, I’m so sorry to you two (*Monotonous*)”

“”Thank you from the bottom of my heart…….!””

Definite☆Confirmation! I’ll be sleeping with Koma tonight, confirmeeeeeeeeeeeed! I’m so seriously thankful to Editor-san so I give him a thumbs-up across the rearview mirror.

Editor-san, are you God?

Thanks to this and that, we, the Tachibana sisters, are unable to put our mind at ease even though we haven’t reached the ocean yet, and Editor-san drives the car straight to our destination. Thank you, Editor-san. Thank you, this trip would be even more enjoyable…!

“… Oi, stop right there.”
“? What is it, senpai—- I mean, what is it sensei?”

“I’ve been listening to you. What you said right now… You and I are going to be sleeping together tonight…? And out of all, on a double size bed.”

“Yes, that’s how it is. What about it?”

“…. Concerning that, don’t you have something you need to tell me about that?”

“Something I need to say? Eeetto…? Let me see, I wonder what it is?”

“Hint: You’re a man, I’m a woman. Do you get it so far?”

“…. Ah, it was about that. Don’t worry, sensei. If sensei and I sleep together, there’s no way a mistake can happen, AHAHAHA!”

“HAHAHA! ….Thank God you’re driving the car, Shuu. Otherwise, I’d have beaten the shit out of you, you bastard… Rather, I’d night attack you…”

2 comments

  1. gianthoneybee · October 1, 2021

    Honestly, the way he did book himself a room with the aunt is a bit creepy. Or, rather, it’s much creepy.
    “If the doctor and I sleep together, there’s no way a mistake can happen, AHAHAHA”
    I think it’s sensei

    Like

    • Mr.Nobody · October 1, 2021

      Thank you.
      I think he wants to make sure Aunty Meiko doesn’t do anything strange or slack off yet again.

      Like

Leave a comment