HS Chapter 70: The hopeless sister makes a phone call.

‘I’m sure Koma-chan would be happy to hear from you. I think hearing Mako-chan’s voice would cheer her up.’

‘I beg of you, Mako-san. Please give Koma-san a call. That girl… She’s waiting for your call.’

The following day, after I received very helpful advice from Chiyuri-sensei and Sayuri-san.

“—- Now, that’s it for today. And that concludes our fourth period. Bow.”

“””Thank you!”””

The chime rang throughout the school, and the teacher, who had been teaching science until just a few minutes ago, announced to everyone that the class was over. This was the end of all classes for today’s morning.

“Haa… Class is finally over. I’m so beat…”

“I’m hungry. Let’s get some lunch.”

“Hey, if we go to the dining room then we better go quickly. The seats will be taken fast.”

It’s lunchtime, the rather tense atmosphere of the class has been swept away, and the classroom is filled with a noisy atmosphere. Some hurry to the cafeteria, while others huddle around each other’s desks and chat with their friends… Everyone seems to be enjoying their lunch in their own way.

I left my seat while giving them a sidelong glance in their happy atmosphere. Now… It’s about time for me, too. I’d better get going.

“Hey, hey… Mako. Can I have a word with you…?”

“Hnmmm…? Ah, it’s Kanakana? What is it? Something wrong?”

I’m about to leave the classroom with my lunch box in hand when my friend sitting next to me calls out to me. I wonder what she wants? Is there something she wants to discuss?

“Ehm, you see… You brought a obentou that you usually don’t bring.”
“Huh? …. Ah, un. I’m not restricted as usual, so this obentou… What about it?”

“Etto… Listen. In that case… If you’re fine with it, would you have lunch with me like yesterday…?” 

“Eh? Together with Kanakana?”

“U, un… Ah! Naturally, if Mako doesn’t want to then that’s fine too. Just that… Mako seems lonely when Koma-chan is gone.”

My best friend invited me to lunch even though I’m a little sluggish for some reason. In fact, she said to me yesterday, ‘Mako looks lonely, so I’ll be having lunch with you. Be thankful.’ and had lunch with me.

Well, the day before yesterday, I was crying so much in front of everyone, ‘I’m lonely without Koma…’ My friend is worried about me for what it’s worth. Normally she’d speak ill of me such as being an idiot or hopeless, but I’m really glad that she cares about me in this situation. I’m blessed with amazing friends…

“That’s why… If it’s okay with you, I want to have lunch together with Mako… Is that okay…?”

“I see, I see. Thank you. You were so worried about me.”
“No, It’s not… It’s not like I was worried about you or anything…”
“But, I’m sorry, Kanakana. Your offer is tempting, but I’m going to eat by myself today.”
“….. Eh?”

Normally, like yesterday, I would have taken advantage of my friend’s kindness and drowned my sorrows from Koma not being here…

I’m sorry, but there are things I have to do right now, things I would give my life to do. I sincerely thanked her for her concern, but I refused her invitation with a sincere heart.

“E-Etto… So you’re trying to say you don’t like eating together with me… Do you?”

“Ah, no, no, it’s different. It’s not like that at all so please don’t worry… Actually, I’ve got a lot of work to do for the Seijokai. Without Koma, my work efficiency has dropped drastically. I’m going to finish late if I don’t give up my lunch break…”
“Ah… Aah, that’s what it was. I get it… (*Mumble*) What a relief, she doesn’t hate me…”

I lied using that as a reason to my friend. …. Well, I’m not lying about the fact that Koma being absent makes my work less efficient.

“… Then… Un, it can’t be helped. Wow… I guess Mako is useless without Koma-chan”

“Hahaha… I’m speechless. That being the reason. Sorry for refusing you despite asking me out. I’m sorry if I offended you.”

“Ah, no… It’s okay, I don’t mind it… Aah, it’s still unfortunate. I was looking forward to the chance of eating Mako’s bento dishes again.”

“OI, hold right there. I don’t think it might be that, but… When you said it’s unfortunate you meant about not being able to eat my side dishes!? Isn’t that cruel!?”
“Well, you’re right. Did you really think there was any other reason I would want to have lunch together with you?”

My friend seemed to be a little disappointed despite making a lighthearted joke. Of course, you’d feel disappointed if you ask someone out after considering their situation and then they refuse quickly.

I’m really sorry… But just for today, I have something that I must do…

“Ah, that’s right. As a substitute… Here, I’ll give you this.”
“Eh? Ehm… Mako, this is…?”

“It’s a muffin. I’m confident in its taste. I made some to have as a snack. I’m giving it to you as a thank you for inviting me. You can eat it if you want.”

“Mako’s…. home-made muffin…”

It’s a little awkward to apologize using food, but I still wanted to express my gratitude and apology for inviting me. I’m going to give my best muffin to my friend.

I’m pretty sure that this girl’s favourite food is sweets, so I’ll let her take care of it today.

“Ah… Etto… That… Thank you, Mako…”

“Nhm. Thank you for inviting me, Kanakana. If there’s another chance, invite me again.”

“U, un… I’ll think about it…”

When I handed her the muffin, she looked a little happy with a hint of red in her cheeks, just as I had expected. Umu, her being happy is most important.

“Now. I’d better go. If I take it too slow, my lunch break will be over.”

“Ah, un… That’s right. Then, Mako, good luck at your work!”

“Yeah. I’ll do my best without slacking off. I will see you later, Kanakana.”

I wave goodbye to my friend, and rush to the club room of the Seijokai… I’ve been talking for a while, and I’m running a little overtime, so I should probably hurry.

 ◇ ◇ ◇

At the innermost of the third floor of the old school building, there is the club room of the “Seijokai” to which Koma and I belong.

“Fuui… I made it.”

On the way, I was pestered by teachers and students, and handed me letters of opinion to the Seijokai, but I finally made it to the club room.

When I unlock the door to the club room and go inside, the room is dimly lit and empty, with a lonely atmosphere. This club room feels even darker than usual because the curtains are closed… It was as if the room was as lonely as I was because Koma, who was always next to me, wasn’t there…

“Uh… Not good, not good. This is not the time for strange sentimentality.”

I turned down my friend’s gracious invitation to lunch, even lying about it. I can’t waste even a single minute. For the real purpose, I hurried into the room, locked the door from the inside, and was ready to go. Now, I can hang up whenever I feel like it.

That’s right… When she asked me out to lunch, I deceived her with ‘I had some work to do’… But, speaking honestly, I didn’t come to this room to work. I came to this club room for one reason only. As Dr. Chiyuri and Sayuri-san advised me yesterday, I am going to make a phone call to my lovely little sis Koma.

“If I make a call inside school, my phone will be confiscated…”

At our school, we are allowed to bring in cell phones and smartphones, but they are not allowed to be used in class or even in the school. If you try to do it in a classroom, you’ll get the triple combo of instant capture, instant confiscation, and instant sermon from my teacher.

That’s why I came to the club room so that nobody could see me on the phone. This club room can be locked and the curtains can be closed so that no one can see what’s going on inside. There are very few people who are crazy enough to come here on their lunch break in the first place… If I’m here, I can make a call without worries. Really, I’ve been thinking this club room is a convenient place.

“Eetto… The relay and the individuals should’ve ended by now…”

Before making a phone call, I checked the schedule for today’s track and field tournament that Koma had given me beforehand, just in case. It’s a good thing that I called, since I don’t want to get her in trouble if Koma is in the middle of an event or something.

“… OK. It shouldn’t be a problem to call her now.”

Confirmed that it’s okay. At this time, Koma should have finished her events and would be taking a lunch break… Well, she’s in the middle of a tournament, and the power might be off or she might be eating, so Koma might not even notice this call, but… Even so, I’ll call her for now since there’s nothing to be lost and see. It would be fine if Koma notices it…

Thinking about this, I took out my cell phone and called up Koma’s number from the phone book. When I do so—

Pr… *Beep*!

“Hello!? Nee-sama, is it you!?”
“Uoouoh!?”

Koma answered the phone call before the ringing tone even made one ring. As expected, I didn’t think Koma would answer the phone call so quickly so I reflexively let out my surprised voice. She surprised me…

“What’s wrong, Nee-sama!? Did something happen to Nee-sama!?”
“No, it’s nothing at all. Haahaa… I’m just a little surprised…”
“Surprised…? Etto, what do you mean…”
“Aaah… I’m fine, I’m really fine. Don’t worry about me. More importantly, I’m sorry for calling you so suddenly, Koma. Is it okay calling you now?”

I regained my composure and asked Koma. I checked earlier, but if the schedule is off and she’s in the middle of a competition, she’ll be in trouble.

“Yeah, absolutely! If it’s Nee-sama, you can call me anytime you want!”

“Hn? Is that right? It’s fine then…”
“…. Oh my? Or better asked… Are you okay for calling me? Nee-sama is at school right now? I thought calling on campus isn’t allowed…?”
“Ehehehe. You’re right. I’m in the Seijokai club room. If the teachers find me out, they’ll get mad at me… I’m secretly making a phone call in the club room♪ Hmmm… I just wanted to hear Koma’s voice a lot… So I called you since I couldn’t endure it♡ Ah, keep this a secret from the teachers, Koma.”
“Well…! I see now… Fufu, Nee-sama. If so, please be careful not to be found.”
“Yes. I’ll be careful.”

We, the Tachibana sisters, exchange such innocent conversation while laughing with each other. Aaah… This is so nice. As I thought, it’s really fun to talk to Koma… It was only a few seconds of communication, but already the loneliness and bewilderment of not seeing her for three days, which had been so painful, seemed to have blown away. Aah, I should’ve called her these three days instead of being stubborn…

Now… I’d like to enjoy this happy time a little longer, but both Koma and I have a finite amount of time during our lunch break. If we stay too long and chat, we’ll get a time-out before we know it… Let’s complete the important matters first.

“By the way, Koma. Today was the qualifier round, right? You finished competing for today? How was it?”
“uu…..”

While asking about the results of the qualifying round, I indirectly ask about Koma’s current condition. It’s been three days since she got her taste buds back… It would be troublesome if something happened to Koma herself.

“……..”
“Hm? Komaa? Hello? Can you hear me?”

“Ah… Yes, I can hear you, Nee-sama… The results of the qualifying found were…. Etto… Pretty much, the relay and individuals… We made it safely through them.”
“Ooh! As expected of my Koma! Congratulations! Amazing!”

Reluctantly, Koma reports back to me in a reserved manner. Umu, umu. I knew I didn’t need to worry about the condition of Koma. I guess she got through the qualifying round pretty easily. Onee-chan is happy a lot with Koma’s effort. I’m happy for you, Koma.

But… I see. Now I’m pretty certain I won’t see Koma until after the finals tomorrow…

Gununu… I’m happy that Koma made it to the finals, but I’m sad that I won’t be able to see her in person for a while longer thanks to her making it through to the finals… My God, what shall I do with this dilemma!?

“…. Thank you, very much, Nee-sama… Just that, there’s nothing to be complimented…”

“Huh?”

While I was secretly struggling with these silly thoughts, Koma muttered in a quiet voice. Nothing to be complimented? Lesse? What is she talking about?

“Although you can say we are qualified… To tell you the truth, it was pretty close. We managed to get through the relay race thanks to the hard work of President-sama and seniors, and we scraped by to get through the individual race just in time to qualify…”

“Is that how it was…”

Koma reports to me that in a somber voice. She seemed quite depressed, and I could easily imagine Koma’s current expression even through the phone.

“Today’s time was far from my personal best. I also dragged President-sama’s down… Probably, it’ll be like this tomorrow to…”
“Hmnn… Is that so. I’m not an expert, and I’m a little confused, but maybe you’re not feeling well or you’re nervous.”

“… That may be the case. I don’t know well either, but…”

“Aah… Ettoo… Well, it’ll be fine! I’m sure Koma will have a good run tomorrow! That’s why, have confidence in yourself and run! Onee-chan is cheering for you!”

I send her advice that is completely groundless. I’m sorry that I can’t give you more appropriate advice when you’re down, Koma…

“… Nee-sama… Do you really think that…?”

“Ah? Un. Obviously! I’m not much of a runner… That’s what I thought when I looked at Koma practice. I’m sure if I work hard like Koma, I’ll be able to run well. That’s why, Koma will be fine.”
“…. I wonder about that. Nee-sama… I think you probably are overestimate me…”
“….Ha!?”

I froze at the unexpected response of Koma. I overestimated her…? Eetto… What could she be talking about?

“Ehm… Koma? What do you mean? Did something happen?”

“I’m… useless… I’m useless…”
“Useless…? No, Koma being useless… There’s no way that’s possible, right? I’m the one who’s useless.”

“…. Wrong. That’s not it… As I thought, I’m… Nee-sama not being near me—-”

Koma spun her words as if she was struggling to get something out. I was about to ask her what she really meant when she said that,

“Tachibana Koma-kun! I’m sorry, but we’re about to start confirming and discussing tomorrow’s schedule… Can you come over here for a minute?”

“…. Ah… Yes, President-sama! I’ll be right there! —— I’m sorry, Nee-sama. I’ve been called to go away. I have to go…”

“Eeeh!? Ko… Koma? Um, we’re still talking…”

“… I’m sorry for hanging up even though you called me, Nee-sama. I’ll call you back…! Excuse me!”
“A, wai… Koma, wait a bi—-”

Before I can hear the last words from Koma, it seems like someone called Koma from the back of the phone, and Koma hurriedly hangs up the phone.

I was baffled for a while as she hung up the phone before I had time to stop her, holding the phone to my ear with a disconnected call.

“…. Ko, ma….?”

… I wonder what it was just now, Koma’s feelings. She seemed a bit gloomy…? And when I say  she’s depressed, I mean she seems depressed… She’s not just depressed because her results weren’t good—- It’s more like she’s depressed for another reason too…?

“Hmnm….”

I give it some thought, based on Koma’s earlier response to me. It was a rare moment of weakness in Koma, and I thought she sounded like she was sending out an SOS to me.

… No, it could be that Koma is simply not satisfied with today’s result, or it could be that I’m just overthinking things, but…

But… What if my imagination is right? …. If so, what should I do? As Koma’s older sister, what action should I take?

“…Fumu”

I think about it and then make a decision in my mind… I decided. Even if this ends up being needless worry by me…. It’s tens of thousands of times better to be embarrassed than to regret it later like I did then.

It is often said to strike while the iron is hot, so I took my wallet out of my pocket and checked the contents.

“Hmmfumi… Okay. Well, this much should be fine. If I don’t have enough, I’ll just drop off near. Then I’ll go to the staff room and ask the teacher… I’ll have to call Aunty too in the meantime…”

I’m going to mumble and organize a few things to do now. I have money and I know how to ride. Then the remaining problem is… Having to negotiate my way out of school.

Probably, Aunty and the teacher—- And then Koma too will scold me later about this but I run to the staff room before my resolve wavers.

… It’s okay. Wait for me, Koma. Onee-chan is coming right now.

Leave a comment