HS Chapter 113: The hopeless sister comes rushing in.

~Side: Koma~

“…. Mako-nee-sama… Mako-nee-sama… Mako-nee-sama…”

 I left a letter behind and left home… and I am standing alone in front of the station, just mumbling the name of my beloved person.

‘Finally, free from pesky baggage… We were supposed to live just the two of us as I wanted!’

… Pesky baggage. Yeah, I get it. Deep down inside, I knew it but also understood I was just desperately trying to look away. For Nee-sama, I am… nothing but baggage, a hassle and a disgusting nuisance.

And yet, Nee-sama is still kind to a fault, perseveres and puts up with a lot, even when she has to deal with trauma and harsh emotions… And has gone along with me and my whims till today. 

… The moment I could recognize it again, my prosopagnosia got even worse. Just a few minutes ago, people who were close to me I should’ve somehow recognized them….

“Nee-sama’s face… I can’t recognize it…”

… At last, what I feared so much that I fainted this morning has come true. It is no exaggeration to say that she is my world itself… Even Mako-nee-sama’s face is no longer reflected in my eyes.

“… What am I going to do from now on…” 

In the depths of despair I mutter to myself. I have no more regrets—- I would not say that (in fact, I am filled with regret), but I was also able to hear Nee-sama’s true feelings, as I had originally planned. What’s left is to prepare myself… Should I go to Kaa-sama as originally planned?

… But I was so devastated by the shock of not seeing Nee-sama that I accidentally left my mobile phone, the only means of communication between me and Kaa-sama, at home. I don’t remember Kaa-sama’s mobile number (and I didn’t want to remember it) and I can’t get to her if I can’t contact her.

“… Then I should go home once to get my mobile phone.” 

… That’s not good. My home… No, I can’t go back to Mako-nee-sama’s or Aunt Meiko-sama’s home. I’ve said my goodbyes to them… Also, my current state of mind… I’m meeting Nee-sama whose face I don’t recognise…

“…. I went to Kaa-sama’s place in the first place… I can’t believe my kind of world is where I don’t recognise Nee-sama as Nee-sama…”

There’s no point in living. Then wouldn’t it be easier if I just threw myself onto a train running very close by?

My weak heart shocks me strongly.

“…. No. If I do something so stupid, Nee-sama will be sad.”

But even if I am a nuisance and a burden. If I, as her little sister, do such a foolish thing, then my kind and merciful angelic Nee-sama. I will probably give her more trauma than ever before.

… For me personally, the act of imprinting my existence on the pure white heart of Mako-nee-sama for the rest of her life, no matter what form it takes, is a bit… No, it’s attractive although… I definitely won’t… do that ever…

I can’t go forward or backwards. All my directions are blocked. I don’t know where I should go from here or what I should do. Mako-nee-sama… What should I do…

“…ah… Rain…”

I was at my wits’ end… when suddenly a few cold raindrops fell over my head.

A quick glance up at the overcast sky and the rain begins to pour down, hitting my cheeks. I left home wearing only the brooch that Nee-sama gave me as a present during our date yesterday and a wallet with a little money in it, so naturally I don’t have an umbrella. The rainfall became heavier and heavier, and in no time at all I was soaking wet.

“Why is it only at times like this… It’s always raining…”

I heard a rumbling, unpleasant sound in the distance…. I, after all, hate rainy days. I hate the ruthless cold rain that chills the core of the body. I dislike the discomfort of clothes sticking to my skin when wet from rain. I hate the lightning that makes a distinctive sound similar to an earth tremor but strikes with a flash. And most of all, I hate these terrible thunderstorms that remind me of that day that triggered my taste disorder… 

… Really, why? Why is it always when I feel hard… That I encounter thunderstorms like this…

“…. Look, oi. What about that girl? Is she fine?”

“Hn? Let me see? … Ooh, she’s fine. She’s hella fine.”

“Then… Shall we do it as usual?”

“Yeah, let’s.”

When I’m throwing out my resentment to the heavens like that, I feel eyes on me from somewhere. I looked around and saw people whispering something to each other while looking at me soaking wet.

… A junior high school girl just standing there in front of the station at this hour on a weekday, and in heavy rain, without an umbrella or shelter from the rain.That’s not surprising if they look at me strangely.

If I’m reported and taken into custody, it could cause trouble for Nee-sama. I don’t have anywhere to go, but I don’t know if I should walk away from here once anyway…

“—-Yo! Long time no see!”

“….. Eh?”

… That’s what I thought, and just as I was about to change location. The  two people who were whispering to each other while giving me a look, approached me in a friendly manner.

“I knew I’d seen you somewhere before, but I knew it was you! Hey, hey, do you remember me? Yamada and Tanaka.”

“My, it’s been some time. See, see, we were your senpais in primary school.  I used to look after you when you were a first year? Don’t you remember?”

“Eh…?”

Suddenly, I’m confused and taken back. Yamada and Tanaka? Seniors from primary school…? Saying that all of a sudden… I’ll be troubled. I, basically, don’t remember men who made an impression on me…

To begin with, there’s nothing to remember… I suffer from prosopagnosia since today, so I have absolutely no way of reacting because I don’t recognise the faces of these two people who call themselves ‘my seniors from primary school’…

“Ah… Aah… Yamada-senpai and Tanaka-senpai… is it? I, I remember you. I remember. Hello, it’s been a while.”

However, I can’t honestly say to the people in front of me, who may not even know what’s going on, ‘Excuse me, I don’t recognise your faces’. I quickly adapt to the conversation like I know what I’m talking about.

I don’t recognise them at all, but the fact that they speak to me so familiarly must mean that they know me. If you ask me, I can’t help but feel that there were older students with that surname when I was in primary school…

“I’m glad that you remembered us. It’s really been long! How many years has it been?”

“What’s going on? You’re soaking wet. Are you okay?”

The two people talk to me with a worried tone. I appreciate their worry but if I stay with them longer they’d find out.

Also… If they know me, then they also must know Nee-sama… I think I could contact Nee-sama via these two…

“Ah… That is. I’m fine—-”

I thought about that and hurriedly tried to answer, ‘I’m fine’. But before I could say anything, the area suddenly glowed a blinding blue-white light… Lightning streaked across the sky with a thunderous, violent roar.

“~~~~~~~~!”

The moment I saw the lightning, like a child without caring what others might think of me while shaking… I cover my ears and crouch there.

“Eh, eh? Are you maybe one who is bad with lightning?”

“Oh-oh… Is that so? You look really unwell. You okay?”

“… I’m, okay…”

… No. I’m not fine at all. My head hurts and throbbing, and the nausea and dizziness are only getting worse. I’m  weak towards rain and thunder by nature, but today it looks it’d be even more terrible. Hearing Nee-sama’s true feelings, saying goodbye to her, and then not recognising her anymore, I guess I was weaker than I thought I was…

“No, no. You don’t look okay at all. You’re shaking a lot, aren’t you?”

“Ah, that’s right! I got an idea! Actually, there’s a karaoke bar near here where our friend works part-time. Let’s take shelter from the rain there for a bit.”

“Ooh! That’s a good idea from you. Let’s go there!”

I don’t want to get involved with them, but these two people, who don’t know anything about my feelings, go ahead with whatever they want to talk about. Not good… I’m at a loss…

“…. No, really… I’m okay…”

“It’s fine, so don’t force yourself! You can rest until the thunderstorm is gone! There are towels and change of clothes there, since like this you’ll catch a cold!”

“As your senpai, I couldn’t stand to see a pretty kouhai suffer. Can you stand? We’ll hold you up and you can walk as can”

“Uhm…”

I was out of breath and tried to reject them, but they held me on both sides and forced me to stand up, without letting me argue back. I don’t have time to be confused, and I can’t complain poorly, and I am made to walk around like a criminal being taken away by the police.

“We’re here. It’s this place.”

“A bit more patience. Stay here for a bit and wait for us. I’m going to ask my friend if we can use a room.”

“Haa…”

After being made to walk for a while in this way, I arrived at a karaoke bar in front of the station. I’m sitting on a bench at the entrance to it, and the two people who brought me here go to talk through with the karaoke bar staff.

“Welcome—– Oh, just you people…. Oh, ooh? What’s up? You brought… something very nice this time”

“Hehe… Let me take a break, please. Is that room available?”

“Aah, naturally, it’s available… I’ll turn the camera off like I always do, don’t worry.”

“Thank you! You’re so quick on the uptake, everytime!”

“Instead, let me join in later on. It’s not that often I see such a rare gem.”

They exchanged a few brief words with the receptionist and soon returned to me.

“Thanks for waiting! We’ve negotiated. They said we can have a room.”

“Let’s go. If you don’t dry off soon, you’re going to catch a cold.”

Those two people are holding my sides again and taking me to a room inside. The room to which I was guided was a large, luxurious so-called VIP room.

“Here, a towel. Use it without reserve.”

“Are you cold? I’ve just had the heating turned on, so I’m sure it’ll warm up soon.”

“… Thank you, very much.”

I was seated on a sofa in such an expensive-looking room, which was also expensive-looking, and the two people who brought me there offered me a towel.

… I’ve been brought here half-way by force, and I’m not without complaints… We seem to know each other, and I can’t turn down a favour. I’m grateful for it, and I’ve decided to receive the towel obediently.

“……”

I lightly wipe my wet hair and clothes, and it removes some of the discomfort… The room is a VIP room in a karaoke bar, and it seems to be soundproofed well. I feel a little better thanks to the complete absence of the thunderstorm outside, which is probably still rumbling… I think?

“…. Eetto. Thank you very much, senpai. I feel a lot better.”

I didn’t end up recognising where or who the two of them were, but they were helpful. My hair and clothes are rough, I thank them again for the towel to wipe myself.

They’re smiling in front of me—- No. The two of them replied back to me with grinning and mouths twisted…

“No, no, no problem. Don’t thank me with words.”

“That’s right. Something like thanking—- You can do it with your whole body.”

“….. Eh?”

The moment they uttered those words. A disgusting mood spread in the room… These people, what…? 

“You’re going to catch a cold wiping like that, y’see? Wet clothes must be taken off and properly wiped underneath.”

“You look painful. If you want, we can change your clothes for you? No, rather, we’ll warm you up? While naked!”

While approaching me slowly they smiled sleazy. I wasn’t in my best form due to the dangerous weather but I’m finally aware.

“… It’s a joke, right? I’m sorry, but it’s not funny, even as a joke. No matter how close we are as senpai and kouhai, I’d hate to have men to help me change my clothes…”

I lightly brush off their hands and slowly try to move towards the door. But one of the two men moves quickly to stand in front of the door and blocks my retreat.

“Wel, well, you don’t have to look so angry and sad things. We’re not really senpai and kouhai, but we’re going to get to know each other better than senpai and kouhai.”

“…. Hah?”

I freeze for a moment at the other one’s comment… We’re not really senpai and kouhai… What does he mean…

“At any rate, it’s not nice to call you ‘you’ forever. Eetto… Lessee? Tachibana Koma-chan, is it… Un, un! Nice name!”

“Ooh!? Koma-chan is 13 years old! Uhha! Isn’t this a lucky find!”

“…..!? My student’s card…!?”

They stared at my student ID card, which had been stolen from my wallet before I knew it.

… Wait. Their way of speaking… And that they consistently called me ‘You’ instead of my name from the moment we met until I joined this shop… And the earlier comment about not being senpai and kouhai… No way, don’t tell me…!?

“You tricked me…!? You people… You were not my senpai…!?”

I glare at these self-appointed seniors while shouting that with a pale face. I’ve been tricked…! These people are not my senpais…!

“Ahaha! You’re making us look bad saying we tricked you. That’s because we mistakenly thought we knew Koma-chan but, we didn’t intend to trick you?”

“Yeha, yeah. Also… Koma-chan thought we were your senpai, too? We’re both at fault here.”

… That’s a lie. The intentions of these two men, who have taken off their shirts and naked above their waist, are clearer than fire. You  tricked me into coming here… This time the discomfort hits me in a different meaning than earlier.

“People… I’ll call for people! If I shout too loud, you people will get in trouble…!”

I’m not going to stay quiet and let them do this. I say this to them as I slowly backs away.

“You’re going to shout, is it? Koma-chan is cute… But, that usel☆ess♪”

“This is a karaoke room, y’know? And it’s a VIP room? It’s soundproofed so no matter how loud you shout, nobody will hear anything!”

“It’s like that. No matter how much you shout from here on— No matter how much Koma-chan shouts or gets into a lewd mess, no one will notice!” 

They flatly reject my words while laughing ugly.

“…. Don’t you know? Karaoke bars are equipped with surveillance cameras. If you do anything so stupid… The clerk will notice you immediately. Once that happens… You’ll be arrested immediately.”

I talk back determined although my inner thoughts are in disarray. Please… They’ll stop with this…

“Unfortunately! I did say it? We said it’s where our friend works part-time”

“The surveillance cameras here? They were disabled sometime ago!”

“…….!”

… As if to mock my faintest wish, they told me something that made me despair even more… I thought what if… As I thought that the receptionist and these two were accomplices…

“Ooh! That’s a good frightened look! Oi, bring out the camera now!”

“Got it. After doing it once, it’s my turn.”

I tried to back away to put up some resistance, but my back finally hit the wall… From the start there were no paths of retreat.

… I understood that. When they brought me here… I was stuck here.

“Don’t worry, we’re gentlemen so we wouldn’t do anything terrible!”

“Maybe if this is your first time, It might be a bit scary and painful, but… You’ll feel good in the end.”

… While I am listening to their disgusting voices… The situation should have been different, but for some reason I remembered the events on that day again.

No voice of help is heard outside. No people to rely on. Your own safety is in danger… And then… The people I love are not on my side. —- The events on that day 6 years ago.

“(…. That’s right. That day… I thought I was done for… I was prepared… I gave up. Finally in despair… I called her name…)”

When I think about it, I feel the irresistible urge to call her name. Like a heroine who, in a pinch, seeks help from her hero… I’m tempted to call out the name of my hero.

“(… What am I thinking about… I thought I had sworn in my heart not to rely on her, not to bother her, not to get involved with her anymore… What is this now. How much more pathetic… How much more useless can I…)”

 Even when I leave home on my own, I think I am prepared to do so. I’m weak and ugly who end up asking for help. I’m sorry… But, I can’t help… but call her name…

“Now. It’s about time we do it. Then, Koma-chan. Let’s get you out of those clothes that are in the way!”

 

One of them covers me as I am near the wall and tries to put his hands on my clothes. In fear and disgust, I… I know she won’t come… Unconsciously, my brooch—- I’m holding the beautiful brooch that Nee-sama made, and she had given to me as a gift on yesterday’s date,

“…. Ne… sama, nee-sama…. Mako, Nee-sama…!”

I shouted her name as I clanged to it.

*Bang*!

“””….Eh?”””

Right after I shouted her name. With a roar more louder than the thunder that struck just a moment ago, the closed door is kicked down.

The man who came over me without anticipation… And the other one with the camera rolling… Me, too… We froze in our tracks. What…?

“… Haa… haa… haah…”

The person who kicked in the door and entered this room without a pause was staring at the situation in this VIP room while catching their breath. 

… I suffered from prosopagnosia, so I shouldn’t be able to read people’s facial expressions well… But for some reason, I could clearly understand the facial expression of this intruder… This person was probably really angry…?

“… Aah, *cough*. Hey, you, wait a bit. Did you get the wrong room? This is our room?”

The man near the door with a camera trying to film me broke the ice first. Approaching the intruder in an attempt to drive them out.

“Hmm? Now that I look closely, you… You’re exactly like Koma-chan—- (*Bang*) Boghyaaaaaaaaaa!?”

… That was his mistake. The intruder silently and mercilessly kicked the man in the groin — between the legs. The kick causes the man holding the camera to foam and faint.

“!? What are you doing, you bastar—- (*Spray*) Myuaaaaa!? My eyes! My eyes, aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!?”

His partner collapsed, and the man who was holding me down panicked and tried to grab the intruder to get rid of them…. But, the intruder calmly pulls a spray-like substance from their bag and silently sprays it into the man’s eyes. The man who receives it screams, holds his eyes and rolls on the floor in agony, just like the man before him.

“…. What am I doing? That’s my line. How dare you… how dare you…”

After both of the men fell. That intruder who was silent the whole time… She pulls out a black instrument, this time from their bag, and places it firmly against the necks of the two men who have fallen… A low, horrified, droning voice, the likes of which I have never heard before, comes out.

“… How dare you mess with my cute, sweet and angelic little sister Koma!!? Go diiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeeeeee!!?”

“”Gyaaaaaaaaaah!?””

… Sparking sound similar to the thunder that was heard earlier. It lasted for a few seconds, and then the men fell silent, along with the distinctive smell of burning flesh.

I was so stunned by what happened. The intruder hugged me tightly and said.

“Aah, Koma… Koma! I’m sorry, I’m sorry that I came so late…! I’m really sorry, you must’ve been scared…! But, it’s fine already…!”

…. I can’t believe it. But… This smell, this voice, this warmth… I can tell even if I have prosopagnosia. This person… This person…! 

“Ma, Mako… Mako-nee-sama!”

“Un… Un! It’s me, Koma’s Onee-chan… Tachibana Mako…! I’m really sorry for making you wait…!”

… I, Koma Tachibana, have a twin sister called Mako Tachibana. Yes… She’s the most wonderful Nee-sama in the universe and one I’m proud of.

For me, Mako-nee-sama is the most trusted twin sister in the world. A sister that I truly admire more than anyone or anything else. She’s my object of admiration and longing as a woman.

And then… Wherever and whenever I am, even if it’s in a pinch, she will definitely come running to protect me… She is my strong, kind, cool and great hero…


Author’s notes: Hero arrives.

Perhaps most readers have forgotten the two men who came out this time… These are the two suspicious people who have been talked about a bit since the September volume. I did the foreshadowing. (Face of accomplishment)

Then how did Mako come to Koma, or how did she finish him off with two men… I think I have been using that and that since the September volume.

Leave a comment