HS Chapter 133: The hopeless sister becomes third year.

Author’s notes: It’s a short chapter, but I wanted to expand on it in the future, so I wrote a bit about it.


A lot has happened like this and that, and months have gone by and a year has passed. The next thing I know, it’s a warm spring with the cherry blossoms in full bloom again.

Well, let me report one thing here. I, Tachibana Mako… I’ve officially become a third year student.

… Yes, that’s it. Don’t be surprised like my friends ‘No way, the hopeless sister moved up in years!?’. Even if I’m like this, I’m working hard every day to become the ideal Onee-chan that Koma is proud of and loves, even if I’m not very good at my studies… Thanks to me working hard, my grades have even improved a little bit, you know?

“Erm, in Mako’s probably it’s that. Grade’s relation, too… Your attitude in class and in life is hopelessly bad, so shouldn’t we be surprised that you’ve made it through to the next level? I knew it was worth doing a dogeza every time to the teachers as I advised you, Mako.”

“… True, true. Mako, you did well to advance. Honestly speaking, I was worried that you were going to be a second year student again. It would be awkward meeting you every morning and greeting me with ‘Good morning, Himecchi-senpai!’. I’m glad the dogeza to the teachers worked!”

“You both say terrible things so simply, Kanakana and Himecchi… What do you mean by doing a dogeza?”

I’m replying with a disgusted look towards my two best friends who have become my classmates… Aah, that’s right. There are two happy things about becoming a third year. First is, my friends, Himeka Asou and Kanae Kanai—- Kanakana and Himecchi are in the same class with me.

The fact that they play around with me every so often like this is a bit of a problem. It’s wonderful to be with my best friends for the next year as classmates, who are my trusted, kind and best friends.

And then the second. For me, there is no greater happiness than this. That is—-

“Good grief… Kanae-sama and Hime-sama. Please don’t make too much fun of Nee-sama.”

She said this and sat down next to me… My little sis and lifelong companion. My beloved wife, Koma Tachibana, smiles at me.

—- That’s right, it’s as you think. This is what makes me the most happy…! Not only in primary school, but also in junior high school… Also that did not come true in first and second year…!

My heart’s desire… together with Koma in the same class…. It finally came true in the third year!

“Wow… It’s a bad joke. Nee-sama is a serious person who believes in fairness and honesty in all situations, and she would never do a dogeza to flatter the teachers!”

“See! See! Look at Koma! You should tell them both more, Koma!”

“Yes! Leave it to me, Nee-sama! After all, it was me who did a dogeza and asked, ‘Please …… let Mako-nee-sama advance to the next year safely!’!”

“… Hold it there, Koma. What are you doing, Koma…?”

Eh….? Could it be that Koma seriously did that…? And then I… My little sis had to do that, or I’d have been truly in danger of advancing years…? 

That must be a mischievous joke that Koma did her best to do… Right? Right? 

“Erm, even so… Koma, Kanakana, and Himecchi. I never thought I would be classmates with the three of you!”

I put the story about my advancing years aside for now. I’m amazed by the leading members here.

I got to be with Kanakana and also Himecchi. And then, naturally…! Being classmates with Koma for the first time in my life…! I’m so happy, I can die happy…!

“… Still, it’s a bit strange.”

“Hm? What is, Himecchi?”

“… Look. University or even better yet technical schools. I hear that it’s rare for twins to be in the same class in primary school, middle school or high school. However, I found it surprising how Mako and Koma got to be in the same class.”

“Aah, I kind of thought that too.”

I nod a lot at Himecchi’s comment… On the day of the class announcement, I seriously ascended for a moment. Like Himecchi said,  I’d just heard rumours that it’s the norm for twins to be in different classes… Until the day the class placement was announced, I had been gloomy, saying, ‘Yes, yes, I’ll be in a different class from Koma anyway’.

So when I saw our names were written, I was honestly even happier than when the school announced my result, and I was sobbing with tears and shouting about my love for Koma as hard as I could in the center of the school.

I don’t know which one it is… Thank you from the bottom of my heart, teacher who came up with the class placements…! You have my respect for life…!

“….. (*Mumble*) Koma-chan, what kind of method did you use?”

“…. (*Mumble*) Oh my, what may you be speaking of, Kanae-sama?”

“….. (*Mumble*) Don’t play coy with me. You yourself declared war on me before the announcement of class placement, ‘From this year onwards, I will not only keep an eye on Nee-sama, but also on Kanae-sama, so please keep that in mind ♡’. You knew at that point that you could be in class with Mako, didn’t you? Hey, what did you do to be together with Mako in class?”

“….. (*Mumble*) I didn’t do anything special? I just said to the teacher, ‘I may get lower grades if I’m not with Nee-sama’, ‘If I’m not with Nee-sama, my motivation will drop and… I may not have motivation to help out with club activities’?”

“…. (*Mumble*) Scary, threatening the teachers, so scary…. You wanted to be with Mako that badly, as expected of my love rival. Koma-chan, you’re really tough, aren’t you?”

“…. (*Mumble*) The one who’s scary… It’s you, Kanae-sama. Of course, the main reason was that I wanted to be with Nee-sama, but. If I didn’t do this… A certain somebody might’ve eliminated me while I slept.”

While Himecch and I were talking lively about such things, Koma and Kanakana next to us were smiling (?) and talking to each other. I don’t know about what you’re talking about, but I’m glad you’re both having fun.

“A-Anyhow. This is going to be the best year of school with all of us here! Kanakana, Himecchi. And then… Koma! I look forward to this year with all of you!”


Author’s notes: Mako and her friends, who will probably live a romcom, happy and yuri life every day, even if they will be in the third year.

…. By the way, if I wanted to, I could have done something like ‘Kanae-sama is in a different class ♡’ for Koma… But I gave up because ‘Nee-sama would be lonely…’. Koma’s basis is a pale, rule-less girl. It feels somehow naive. It feels like a miss on the last turn.

Leave a comment