HS Chapter 179: The hopeless sister becomes a Daifugou (Part one)

Author’s notes: New chapter of Hopeless sister. I’ll be busy again this month and next month, so I’ll post a new chapter when I can.


“Uhm….. Koma? It’s getting time to go home from school, and for today…. How about we stop here?”

“It’s time to double down, Nee-sama♡”

“Ka, Kanakana! I think that Kanakana also wants to stop this, right?”

“What are you talking about, Mako? Aren’t we at the best part?”

“Re, Ren-chan! If you stay any longer, Ren-chan’s family will worry about you!?”

“I just called them to let them know I’ll be late today, so don’t worry about it! Now, let’s go to the next game, Mako-senpai!”

I’m playing cards in hand with tears in my eyes, while desperately pleading my case, and I’m surrounded by enemies on all sides. Nobody is my ally…

“Aah, jeez… Why… Why did things become like this…”

I’m surrounded by three people with glistening eyes, and I’m unable to escape,so I complained to myself. We were all just having fun together, really… So why did things become this way…?

~30 minutes before this situation~

“~ Dear me. By the way, it’s been a long time since we’ve had this group of people playing together properly. It’s fun to play with all these people you know so well.”

Afternoon on one day. I am allowed to use (without permission) an empty classroom at school in the name of a club activity, and try to say such a thing to everyone around me.

“Indeed. Recently, there have been some problems with timing due to class schedules, Nee-sama was abducted by a teacher, and some unscrupulous woman has tried to sneak out and go on a date with Nee-sama… And we don’t get to get everyone here together very often.”

“Personally, I’d rather be on a date with Mako alone only, but… she’s a lonely girl and loves to hang out with everyone. It’s not a bad idea to get together and have a fun time once in a while, is it?”

“… It’s pretty fun to play with people who you used to play together in middle school.”

Koma, Kanakana and Himecchi agree to my comment with wonderful smiles. And the other girl here…

“Me too! Me too! Since we don’t usually get to see each other, it’s so much fun to hang out with Mako-senpai like this!”

“Ahaha. I’m happy to hear that, Ren-chan. I’m also having fun playing together with Ren-chan.”

Ren Hiiragi, one of my kouhais in junior high school, was also jumping up and down with joy when she said so.

The other three of us can hang out at home or at school, but Ren-chan is still in junior high school and goes to a different school than we do… So, unfortunately we don’t get to play together much. That’s why I love to have fun with everyone like this sometimes.

“Rather, Hiiragi. I know it’s a little late for this, but why are you here…?”

“Muu… What is it, Kanae-senpai. Am I not allowed to stay here?”

“Not saying that you’re not allowed to be here, but… You’re an outsider, after all. How did you sneak into this school?”

“When I told them I was Mako-senpai’s little sister, they let me in without a hitch”

“Ha, Haa!? I’m the only little sister Mako-nee-sama has had, before or since then!?”

“… There, there. Calm down, Koma.”

Just with the addition of Ren-chan, see, this happens. We are more lively than usual. Yeah, yeah, I’m glad everyone is enjoying themselves.

“Even so… Are you really okay with it, Ren-chan? Such as classes and club activities… You didn’t have any plans?”

As soon as it was after school, out of nowhere, “Mako-senpai, it’s been a while! I came to visit and play with you!’, my kouhai came into our classroom excited.

Ren-chan is a third-year student, and this year she’s taking exams…Even when it’s after school for us, there were exams happening in her school, but… Is she sure she doesn’t need to go there? Even if she didn’t have classes, I’m pretty sure Ren-chan was in some kind of club…

“I’m fine! Thanks to a staff meeting today, I only had classes in the morning. And club activities…I quit as the manager of the soccer club a long time ago. And my club activities now…They’re also connected to being with Mako-senpai, which in itself is a club activity.”

“Ah, I see. I’m glad to hear that… Hm?”

…. Leaving aside classes. Why is being with me a club activity in itself? … Well, the other day, Ren-chan said to me, ‘Am I in a club? I’m in a club that proselytizes the merits of Mako-senpai!’ I thought she was joking about it, but… It couldn’t be, right?

“More importantly, Mako-senpai? What are we going to play today?”

“Let me think. I just brought some playing cards and so how about we play a card game?”

“It sounds nice. Speaking of card games… Is it the classic old maid card game, Nee-sama?”

“Uun… It’s not bad, but five girls getting together and playing old maid… It gives that kind of impression.”

“Yeah, it does. Then… We are just five people and it’s a good time, so let’s play a game of secure ‘Daifugou’.” (TN: Daifugou)

“… I approve.”

Like that, today, we decided to play a card game that ranks alongside Old Maid and Fan-Tan… which is Daifugou.

It’s a classic game, and I’m sure quite a few of you have done it before. Deal the cards evenly and put out the cards you have in order. The game is simple: when you have no no more cards left, the game ends. The cards strength is,

3→4→5→6→7→8→9→10→J→Q→K→A→2

and that’s the strength in order (however, since two jokers are included this time, the strongest one is the joker). The basic rule of the game is that players can only play cards that are stronger than the cards on the ground, and if they can’t (or don’t want to), you can pass.

The interesting thing about this game is that the ranking of the previous game determines your rank from the next game. In the case of five people, they are rated as “millionaire”, “rich”, “commoner”, ‘pauper’, and ‘great pauper’ in the order of winning… There is an interesting rule that the ‘poorest player’ gives the ‘richest player’ two strong cards from their hand, and the richest player gives the poorest player two cards that they do not need. (By the way, the poor and the rich exchange one piece each)

There are several other ways to play the card game with various official and unofficial rules… Well, I’ll leave that for later.

“We all start as commoners. I’ll hand out the cards now!”

“”””Yees!””””

I add the two jokers to the deck, shuffle the cards, and then distribute them evenly to everyone. Starting the game immediately.

Let’s see? My hand is…. Umu. It’s neither good nor bad. At any rate, it’s the first time, and the goal is to avoid great poverty! I’ll do my best.

“My?… I have 3 of diamonds. May I start?”

“OK. I’m fine with it. So we’ll start with Koma-chan and work our way clockwise.”

“… I have no objections.”

“I have no problem with that either.”

“Okay. Let’s start game one, okay?”

“Yes. Then… Let me get three 3s out of the way right away♡”

“”””!!””””

My dear little sis declares so, smiles and puts the 3 of diamonds, aces and clubs on the spot. From the first hand, three cards are played…!?

In this game, depending on the cards in your hand, you may have not only one, but two or three cards, as Koma just showed. And it is possible to put four cards out at once. In this case, the next player must also play three cards each. I can counter this if I have three of them…

“Guuu… I’m going to pass…”

“… I’ll pass too.”

“Uuu, me tooo…”

Our hands are basically random. Cards with the same numbers don’t always line up so conveniently. Me, Himecchi, and Ren-chan dare to choose to pass.

“Way to go, Koma-chan… Well, I’m going to play. Here, three cards of six.”

Only Kanakana was able to play three cards with the same number.

“Oh my. In that case… I have three 9’s too.”

“””…. Pass.”””

“Tch. I’m going to counter readily with a cool face. I’ll play with two tens and a joker.”

“I see you’ve bitten. Okay, I’ll do three 2’s.”

“””…. Pass.”””

… These two are heating up. And me, Himecchi and Ren-chan, who are out of the firing line. We haven’t played a single card, and already Koma and Kanakana can count the cards left in their hands on their fingers, as if they were in the endgame…?

“How many of the same cards do you have, Koma… Did you cheat?”

“That’s my line, Kanae-sama. Why are you able to handle everything… So? Are you going to reveal it?”

“There’s no way I can make a move when three of the most powerful cards are on the ground. I pass.”

“I’m glad to hear that. Then… 2 cards.”
“”””Pass!””””

All the strongest cards are now on the ground except for the one remaining joker. And someone who probably has the last piece would never play a valuable joker just to stop Koma’s rapid progress… It looks like it’s decided that Koma is Daifugou.

As, as expected of Koma…I didn’t realize you were so good at playing card games where luck is involved.

Hearing everyone’s pass, a satisfied Koma puts the last card on the field.

“With this, I’m done… Here, a joker.”

“””….. Hah?”””

And the card that Koma played was, of course… her last trump card. The joker’s card. It’s stronger than the 2 cards Koma just put out, in a way the strongest card that no one else can handle.

…. No, but this is…

“Uhm, Koma…? This is…”

“… The last 2, the 8 of 8, and you had the joker…”

“Then, loss from foul play…?”

… That’s right. This card was put out by Koma… No, her previous two cards. In fact, there is a rule in Daifugou that if a strong card like this is played, the player loses by foul play.

In that case, for example if you played it first… Unfortunately, it’s a violation of the rules, and you’d be a very poor person.

“My♪ I’m sorry, I forgot about it. Then… I have no choice but to say I’ll be the next great pauper.”

“No, no, wait a moment. If you forgot the rules… You can rewind it once, Koma…?”

“No, no, Nee-sama. Any way you roll it back, my last card in hand is a joker or two. I’m sure I’m the poorest of the poor since I can’t go up because I’ll lose by foul play in either case.”

“I, I see…”

Eh, wait… Eh? Why? Why did Koma make such an elementary and mundane mistake…? With such a strong hand, there were so many other ways to win…?

“Tch…! You’ve done it, Koma…! It should’ve been me paying a tribute… by becoming the poorest of the poor…!”
“Fufufu… If you resent it, please hate the luck of the card, Kanae-sama.”

My dear little sis, who for some reason is happy to be a great pauper. While Himecchi, Ren-chan, and I were questioning the meaning of the word, only Kanakana seemed to notice the intent of Koma and gritted her teeth.

… Hello, you two? I don’t know what it is, but are the two of them playing by different rules? Am I imagining it?

“Eh, eetto… Then, for now, Koma is the poorest of the poor… I’ll resume the game. Then, I’ll start. 4 cards.”

“…. 5”

“Ah, then I go 7.”

“I pass.”

“Eh? Aah, ah, un. Then… After ending with 8, I go with 5.”

“…. 6!”

“I’ll take out 7!”

“I pass.”

“…. Uhm, Kanakana?”

“Whaat is it, Mako? It’s Mako’s turn, but… What do you need from me?”

“No, why are you not playing cards?”

“Nhh? Aah… I’m sorry. I have no more cards to play. Mako doesn’t pay attention to me and sends out cards at a rapid pace.”

“I, I got it…”

Where is her momentum from earlier? Kanakana is making a series of passes as if suddenly she is unmotivated. No, she doesn’t have cards to play… She was playing a pretty strong card hand earlier…

Koma, and then my best friend. I don’t understand what their intentions are. At any rate, the remaining three decided to continue the game.

◇ ◇ ◇

And so the game continued—-

‘Daifugou’ is Me

‘Wealthy person’ is Himecchi

‘Commoner’ is Ren-chan

‘Pauper’ is Kanakana

‘Great pauper’ is Koma

The first game resulted in this order. First is Koma who lost with a foul and was the poorest, and after that, Kanakana, who made a lot of passes, was the poorest.

I was the only one to get through, followed by Himecchi and Ren-chan, with only a small difference in the cards.

“Okay, let’s continue with the 2nd game… But, before that. Nee-sama, here you go♡ From the poorest of the poor to the richest of the rich, a tribute of love.”

“Aah, un. Thank you. Then… Sorry, Koma, I’m sorry to impose on you, but I’ll give you this and this.”

“Wow…! Thank you very much, Nee-sama! Aah, this is the precious card Nee-sama gave me… I will cherish it and use it with care!”

Before the next game begins. Koma gave a very strong card to me. Conversely, I hand Koma a card that is relatively weak and unlikely to be useful. When she receives the card from me, Koma gazes at it in a trance.

…. Uhm, Koma? What are you doing?

“Daamn… This next game, I’m going to give to Mako…! Ah, Ohime. I’ll give you this. Use it as you like.”

“… Aah, I understand. I got it. I thought it was strange… Koma, and Kanakana too, so it’s like that.”

“….. Haah!? Senpais, I can’t believe that you’re after that…! So, unfair! You’re both unfair! In, in that case, I too…!”

“Uhm… Kanakana, Ren-chan you too… What are you saying?”

“…. Mako, don’t worry about it. I can’t be too careful.”

What is everyone around me talking about? Himecchi sighed when she said that concerning the people themselves and made a bit of a worrisome face…

“Then, I’ll begin the second game. Let me, as a great pauper, begin.”

~The hopeless sister and her friends are in middle of Daifugou~

Then we played a few rounds of Daifugou, however.

“…. Ah, sorry, everyone. I know it’s a little early, but I have to make dinner for Kaa-san… It’s getting time for me to go home.”

Himecchi, suddenly looking at her watch, apologizes to us while holding her schoolbag in her hand and says so. Oh… It’s already that late?

“It’s okay, okay. I’m sorry I made you stay with us all this time, Himecchi.”

“Please be careful on your way home, Hime-sama.”

“See you tomorrow, Ohime”

“Asao-senpai, thanks for staying.”

“…. Nh. It was fun today.  Till next time.”

We wave goodbye to Himecchi as she hurriedly leaves the classroom. Bye bye, Himecchi, say hi to your mother from me.

“Noow. Himecchi is not playing anymore,… What are we going to do? Continue playing Daifugou?”

“Yeah, I’m just finally getting heated up.”

“Me too. I’m still not at the good parts.”

“Same here! If senpai desires it, I will go as far as I can!”

I confirm with the remaining people whether they wish to continue. I’m happy to see everyone is motivated… Now. We all can continue having a good time playing together. For now, let’s just do what I have to do for now.

“Okay. I’d like to move on to the next game then. Before that.”

“””? Before that?”””

“… Stop with the tributing play, everyone!”

“””!?”””

I look at Kanakana, Ren-chan and smiling Koma. I break the ice with that.

“Tri, tri… Tribute play? Wha, what are you talking about, Mako-senpai…!?”
“Tha, that’s right. I have no idea what you’re on about.”

“Don’t play dumb with me. I thought it was weird from the first game, though… You girls are definitely losing on purpose so that I win.”

The first is Koma and then Kanakana. Ren-chan’s behavior was clearly strange from the middle of the game. They intentionally lose by penalties due to continuing to pass.

Or, they may adjust the game to the perfect degree so that I don’t fall in the capital (when a millionaire is beat, the winner becomes a millionaire from the next game)…

“I should have seen it sooner… No one in that game is a proper millionaire except me and Himecchi.”

“Ufufu♪ Not at all, Nee-sama. It’s all thanks to Nee-sama’s ability. Nee-sama is really strong.”

“How can you say that after all those wins!?”

The Koma that’s playing dumb is cute too, but that’s not the point! Good grief, these girls…

“Uhm, everyone. I’m glad that everyone cares about me and tries to make me feel good about winning. But as I thought, this isn’t a game? I’m not happy about winning on purpose… It must be tough for everyone to keep losing on purpose, right? It’s not fun, right?”

“(If I become a daifugou, I can’t say it wouldn’t be fun having Nee-sama pay me tribute!)”

“(If I become a daifugou, having Mako pay me tribute would be enjoyable…)”

“(If I become a daifugou, I’d enjoy a tribute from senpai…)”

 Well, I’m happy to win, but. But I don’t think it’s right for me to be the only one to win. That’s not a game.

“Games should be fair, and winning and losing is what makes them fun… That’s why, okay? Please. Promise me you won’t do this kind of thing again.”

“””………………”””

Everyone looks away awkwardly at my request… Apparently, they want to cover up the fact that they were playing to give tribute to me at all costs.

No other choice then…In that case—

“Okey. We’ll do it like this, everyone. I’m going to make it a punishment game from now on.”

“””…. Punishment game?”””

If they don’t want to lose on purpose. If I make it a rule where you don’t like to lose, then these girls will take me seriously. That’s what I suggest to them.

“That’s right, a punishment game. This way, you girls won’t intentionally try to lose. Also… I think that if there is a penalty game, there will be a moderate sense of tension, and it will be more interesting than ever before.”

“Eetoo… I have no problems with the punishment game itself, but…”

“More precisely, what kind of punishment game are you going to do, Mako?”

“I’d hope you might… not be too harsh with it… Right now, my pockets are kinda light.”

Fumu, the punishment game’s contents. I wonder what’s good? … Not too strict, affordable and fun. And there’s no burden on my kouhai Ren-chan… Thinking of a proper punishment game…

“That’s right… How about this one? The loser takes off their clothes one at a time, something like that.”

…….. It was a joke. For my part, it was meant as a lighthearted joke to lighten the mood.

*Slam* x3

“””Taking one cloth at a time, daifugou…?”””

“Eh?”

——At this moment, everything around me became the enemy.


Author’s notes: Thank you very much for reading. Mako is unaware. It’s like a duck with onion on its back entering into the water of a boiling pot in front of beasts.

Leave a comment