HS Chapter 16: The hopeless sister gets scolded.

The cherry blossoms petals that had fascinated and amazed us a lot have fallen down from the trees. The next month in May, we can see lush and vibrant young green leaves.

 “But, I think May is the month when people start to relax.”

“”What happened suddenly, Mako?”

One certain day in May, I had recess. I suddenly started chatting with my friends and I’m Tachibana Mako, the hopeless sister.

“Don’t you all think so? Speaking of May, the cherry blossoms are still starting to grow their healthy leaves… On the other hand, people are starting to get lethargic.”

“Is that so? You’re always pointlessly energetic, no matter where you are.”

 “Hahaha! I wonder what do you mean by that?”

No, they’re certainly right, I’m fine in any situation as long as my beloved Koma is there with me. That’s the exception.

“Even after the end of April, a new year, you may not be able to keep up with the new environment, or you may be full of motivation but gradually lose it due to daily fatigue… After all, there’s a word for it ‘May blues’, so I think May is especially the time for relaxation.”

“U-Un… If you put it like that, then Mako might have a point there.”

I nodded in agreement with one of my friends and continued talking.

“Right? Also… The long awaited Golden Week starts from tomorrow. I got carried away knowing tomorrow that I have holidays, so you can’t blame me for slacking off today more than usual.”

“Ah, so that’s why. Un. Certainly, it may be like Mako says so.”

“It’s been a long time since I’ve had holidays. I’m getting a bit carried away too.”

After I explained that much, finally everyone understood and the whole class agreed with what I said.

“That’s right, isn’t it? That’s why I—”

“””Un”””

“I brought all the textbooks for today’s schedule that the other class will use.”

“””…..Why?”””

As if they don’t understand what I said, they’re firing question marks at me. I thought you all would be able to understand but you’re all so bad at guessing.

“Wait a second, just wait, Mako… What you just said doesn’t connect with earlier. What are you on about…?”

“As I said, Kanakana. May is when it’s time to start relaxing—”

 “I get that!? That’s not it… I’m saying I don’t understand the connection between May is time to start loosening up and Mako bringing the textbooks for the other class’s whole schedule!?”

For some reason, my friend is making a tsukkomi at me with an astonished and surprised face. Eh? Why don’t you get it…?

“No, that’s why I’m saying it. Everyone starts to relax in May, right? I think that even my brilliant, well-versed and lovely Koma is no exception to this.”

“Well, I don’t know about her. So, Koma-chan who’s brilliant unlike the hopeless Mako, she might be careless at this time… Is that why you did it?”

“That’s right, Koma is a human. I’m sure she’ll accidentally forget something once in a while. As I said earlier, the fun and long-awaited GW starts tomorrow! That’s why—  There’s a big chance she’ll forget something today!”

If she forgets a textbook or something… The hardworking Koma will be troubled greatly. Therefore, don’t worry about anything, Koma! Onee-chan hasn’t made that mistake!

“With that said! If Koma forgot something then it’ll be fine because I properly checked Koma’s schedule for today and brought all her textbooks and other things she needs for class♪ Like this, if Koma forgot something, I’ll give it to her immediately!”

“Aaah… I finally understood. As usual, you need a lot of effort to understand Mako’s explanations.”

“Really, while they’re everyday things… Mako’s thought pattern is hard to understand.”

“Well, maybe it’s easier to understand it in the sense that she’s going to say LOVE to her sister in the end.”

My classmates finally showed a look of understanding after I explained carefully to them. Sigh, it’s hard having dull friends.

Koma’s schedule for today is Japanese, science, music, English, social studies, and then health and physical education. I have her textbooks and spare ones, and then naturally I prepared writing utensils and class materials for her. Now, Koma you can count on Onee-chan whenever you need it!

“I’ve been wondering since morning on why Mako brought a recorder when we didn’t have music class today… I get it now. That’s the reason… Hnm? Hnnn? Eh? By the way, Mako… Don’t tell me you’re going to give the recorder you licked to Koma even though you two are sisters…?”

“Uee… How dirty… As expected, that’s too much.”

“Gross, isn’t she… I feel bad for Koma…”

“You people, how do you see me!?”

“””Huge siscon pervert!”””

How rude, every day. I washed the recorder I brought with me and sterilized it with alcohol so it’s not dirty.

….. Well, after Koma finishes using it and returns it to me, I might not wash it and lick it *prprpr*…  I can’t deny that, but.

“That being said… Mako’s story is based upon the assumption that Koma-chan forgets things, but the chance is low for Koma-chan who’s diligent to forget things…?”

“I know, right? Mako went through so much trouble to get textbooks for the other class’s schedule, but if her sister doesn’t need it then it’ll be an inconceivable waste of effort!”

“Pretty much. She doesn’t have to do that, she can just check with her sister in the morning to make sure her sister didn’t forget anything. You’re an idiot, Tachibana.”

My friends are saying something however, I ignore their nonsense and begin my simulation about what would happen if Koma comes to borrow the textbooks.

“I’m sorry, Nee-sama… The truth is, I have forgotten a textbook accidentally…”

“Fufu, you seem flustered, Koma. But don’t worry Koma, your Onee-chan has properly prepared textbooks for you!”

“Wow! As expected of Nee-sama! You prepared them just for me… I love you so much, Nee-sama!”

—-Something like that, she’s so happy that she hugs me… No, maybe it’s not just that… That’s right, if I’m lucky I could even get a kiss from Koma to show her appreciation… Fufufu, I’m looking forward to it!

“Uhe… Uhehe… Uhehehehehe!”

“Scary!? Something’s wrong with Mako, she’s grinning and drooling…”

“She’s seriously gross…”

“Don’t get close to her. The pervert is transforming.”

If I close my eyes, I can clearly imagine that exchange with Koma. Come, Koma… 

You can borrow my textbooks anytime!
I was so enamored by my simulations that someone tapped my shoulder to come back to reality.

“I get it now. Bringing the textbooks that the other class will use, that’s a good attitude to have for a sister, isn’t it Tachibana?”

“Hahaha, that’s right, Sensei. You can praise me more.”

“Aah, that’s so. I’ll praise you, all right… By the way, I’ll change the subject but it’s a good thing you’ve brought the textbooks for the other class’s schedule. I hope you’ve brought the math textbook for my next lecture.”

“Heh??”

… Un? Math, she said? I’m pretty sure that Koma’s schedule for today didn’t have that subject… Aaaah…

Before I knew it, my math teacher who’s in charge of the next lecture was standing behind me and said to me, and I searched through my bag to check what’s inside… Fumu, I see how it is.

“…Sensei. I have a request.”

“What is it, Tachibana? Say it if you have it.”

“…I forgot my textbook, can I go and borrow it from my little sister?”

“You’re the one who’s starting to slack off, idiot. Class is about to start so go borrow it and hurry up.”

“Yeees”

… I was going to lend it originally yet it’s the opposite. It seems I was too taken up by Koma’s schedule that I’d completely forgot about mine.

May just came but I’m still a hopeless sister.

◇ ◇ ◇

“… I’m sorry about this, Koma. I accidentally forgot my textbook. Is it fine for you to lend me your math textbook if you’ve brought it….?”

While class is in the middle of starting, I came to the other class where Koma is enrolled in to borrow her textbook.

Today, Koma doesn’t have math lectures so I think that she might not have brought it, however… 

“Yes, it’s all right, Nee-sama. I was right to bring it for self-studying… Yes, here you have it.”

It’s an unexpected request by me, however my sister Tachibana Koma is a straight-laced girl unlike me. While having an angelic smile, she takes out her math textbook which she wouldn’t need for today’s class and hands it to me.

“Thank you♪ Ehm, you really saved me.”

“Hyaa!? Ehm, Nee-sama! Everyone is watching us… Do things like this only when it’s just the two of us… If it’s just the two of us then I’m always up for it…”

“Ah, I’m sorry. I got a little excited.”

I instinctively hug her to show my gratitude and appreciation. It’s a common thing for us to do this at home, but Koma is not comfortable being hugged in front of people so she is embarrassed in saying that.

Oh, not good. If I stick too close to Koma who’s admired by everyone then they’ll start to get jealous and Koma would be embarrassed.

“Excuse me… Tachibana-san? I’m hoping to restart class soon, are you done?”

“Aaah, I’m sorry, sensei. I’ll leave, right away.”

“Nee-sama!”

I bowed to sensei and just as I was about to leave the class, Koma called out to me.

“Hm? What’s wrong, Koma?”

“Please make sure to read the textbook from head to toe, Nee-sama!”

“??? Un, I understand. Thank you and see ya, Koma!”

I didn’t understand what Koma meant by that, but I nodded to her, then took her textbook and left her class like that to go back to mine.

“I’m back!”

“You’re slow, Tachibana. Class has already started so hurry up and take your seat.”

“Yees.”

Our class had already started by the time I came back and sensei was urging me to take my seat. It’s time for another boring lecture.

“I’m resuming class. I think I told everyone to do the exercises on this page for homework a few days ago.”

Haa… I don’t like boring math. I don’t understand the meaning of it no matter how I study it, I don’t understand the formulas very well nor do I have motivation for it. Though, it’s not just math, I don’t understand most of the subjects and I’m not motivated to study. 

But, since I borrowed the textbook from Koma… I have to take class seriously from time to time. 

“I’m going to assign this problem to some of you and I want whoever understands it to come to the board and write the equation and the answer.”

“(My motivation…)”

While thinking that, I opened the textbook that I got from Koma to concentrate in class and look inside it…. Hm?

“(…Eh? What is this?)”

I looked and in front of me was a sticky note placed in the notebook by Koma. Maybe it’s just a study sticky note. Is what I thought, but—-

‘Nee-sama.’

Isn’t this written in Koma’s beautiful handwriting? What’s this? Is this maybe a message for me?

…Ah, now that I remember when we parted—-

‘Please make sure to read the textbook from head to toe, Nee-sama!’

Koma said something like that? Was she talking about this…? I became a bit curious so I opened the page with the sticky note. There was a single sentence in cute letters by Koma.

“Nee-sama, study hard♡”

……………!

“Then, this problem—”

“Fuooooooooooo! My motivation is risiiiiiiiiiiiiiing! My spirit is risiiiing!”

“””…Wha!?”””

Oh my god!? This is a message of support from Koma to me!? Not just that… There’s a heart! A heart symbol!? Koma is making me this flustered… Are you perhaps an angel!? It’s not just lending the textbook…!? She even prepared this kind of surprise…!? Nooo, I’m falling in love more with Koma…

Aah, I’m so motivated! I’m motivated thanks to Koma! I’ll study extremely hard! Thank you, Koma! I love you!

“Tachibana…?”

“Hey, Boss!”

Sensei nominates me as my motivation has reached MAX. It means that I have to solve the problem.

Okay, come at me Sensei! Poor at math? It doesn’t matter. Now, what problem? Right now, I feel like I can solve any problem… I’m feeling it! I have unfounded confidence in my heart, the teacher smiles and tells me.

“You, solve all the problems on this page by yourself.”

“Hee?”

I feel as if cold water had been thrown at me due to sensei’s unreasonable request and I immediately came to my senses. The next thing I knew, everyone in the class was staring at me with cold eyes.

What’s with everyone’s cold stare… E? Wait, could it be…

“…Excuse me, everyone?”

“””Un”””

“Did I… just say what I was thinking… out loud?”

“””Un. Yes you did, it was a clear and loud voice.”

“Ah, is that so…”

Aah, I see, I finally get it why everyone is looking at me like they are looking at trash.

And then, the eye’s of sensei who’s in front of me…He’s not smiling and looks mad, I wonder what’s the reason…

“Tachibana, if you have so much energy to shout loudly in class, then you’ll be fine. When you finish solving the problems, stand up and take the class. That way, you’ll spend some of that excess energy. Do you hear me?”

“Hey, Boss.”

“Then, I’ll have you solve the problems first. Aah, that’s right, you aren’t allowed to return to your seat until you solve all the problems.”

“Hey…”  

…Therefore, I was made to solve a whole page of problems, and as punishment for forgetting my textbook and interrupting the progress of the class, I was made to stand for an hour until the class was over.

3 comments

  1. ka_wa_ru47 · April 30, 2021

    Moka is a grade S(for siscon) dumbass, but I aprove ✊🤣

    Thank you for the chapter TL!

    Like

  2. exqalph03 · May 1, 2021

    — Thanks for the chapter~ ^^.

    haha XD! usual.

    Like

  3. gianthoneybee · May 1, 2021

    This is art

    Like

Leave a comment