HS Chapter 24: The hopeless sister gives a proposal.

“I never would’ve imagined that Koma is a subscriber of these novels, too… I’m totally surprised.”

“Me too. I didn’t know that Nee-sama also read these novels…”

We’re on our way back from the bookshop and the shopping mall. I mutter to myself while holding the twin sisters romance novel in my hand. Koma, who’s walking next to me, also agrees with me, looking at the novel.

“Koma? Have you been reading this author’s novels for a while now?

“Yes, you’re correct. I’ve read everything they’ve written so far. I have all of Komei-sensei’s novels in my room too!”

Ooh, all of the novels! I like to clean, so I’ll occasionally clean Koma’s room for her, but I’m not checking her bookshelves because it’s a matter of privacy. 

That’s why I had no idea that Koma had so many books by that author, including this series of books…. I’ll have her let me read them sometime.

“I like her style in all of them, but I find this series the best. I’m certain that it will get dramatized soon. It’s also a popular series that has been getting a lot of attention.”

“Hee, so there’s talk of dramatization. Ah, what does Koma like about this novel?”

“Let me see… I’ve come to like the unique dialogue and the vivid expressions of the character’s emotions… Ah, has Nee-sama also been charmed by that?”

“Th… That’s correct! I too have been charmed… Hahaha!”

I’m in cold sweat from the serious Koma evaluating the novel… I’m sorry, Koma, I’m different. In my case, I simply heard that there was a romance novel about twin sisters, and I liked it… It’s so embarrassing I can’t tell Koma about it.

“As I thought, it’s like that. The wordplay is amusing, too. And what I like the most about it is…”

“Most about it?”

“The twin sisters who are the main characters of the novel, they are just like me and you… “
“!? Is-I-s-Is that so? What kind of meaning!?”

Just like me and her!? Don’t tell me Koma has realized my impure thoughts towards her—–!?

“Because it’s a story about twin sisters who are very close to each other. I felt like this novel was written based upon me and Nee-sama. That’s why I like it even more…. Am I putting too much emotion into the characters?”

“Ahaha, I’m glad. So it’s like that…”

Oh, I got scared…. No, if I think about it calmly that’s how it usually means…

“Hm? Like that?”

“It’s nothing! More importantly, I understand those feelings! There’s something in there that’s so familiar to us that we honestly can’t think it’s someone else! That’s why I also like it because it feels so close to me!”

“Nee-sama, too? I see… I’m happy… hearing it…”

I agree wholeheartedly with Koma’s words, but at the same time, I’m relieved. I’m saved… It seems that, unlike me, Koma is reading this novel not as a love story between twin sisters, but purely as a family love story between twin sisters. 

Thanks to it, I’m not totally immersed in reading this novel. In fact, now that she knows that we share the same love of fiction, I feel as if Koma’s affection for me has increased.

“Anyway, after all this time, I can’t believe we’re both living in the same house and reading the same books. I wish I’d known about this sooner. If I knew, we would’ve lent and borrowed from each other.”

“Fufu, really. Well, there’s no point in regretting it now, we’ll have to do it from now on. If you’d like, I can lend you the other series that I currently have.”

Koma makes a soothing proposal. Truthfully, the two of us haven’t done much lending and borrowing of hobby-related items like this.

We’re very close sisters, and I’ve always secretly longed to do something like that one day, but our interests are so different that we’ve never had the chance.

“Aah~, that’s good to hear. If there’s a book I have that Koma is interested in, you can have it.”

“Really? I’m curious to know what kind of books Nee-sama usually reads. If you don’t mind, would you let me see them next time?”

“I don’t mind at all! Aah, if you’re fine with it, you can come today and play in my room!”

“Eh…? Nee-sama’s… room?”

“Un. Let’s show each other what books we have!”

“Yes, Nee-sama!… I did it♪”

Now that I know that I don’t have to hide my novels (except for the extreme girl-on-girl romance novels that I can’t show to Koma) and can save up money with borrowing and lending, and like this I can read them in front of Koma without reserve and borrow and lend them.

I was determined to die when she’d found out that I’d been reading this novel, but it turned out well. I’m super lucky to have a reason to have Koma come and play in my room.

“That’s right. I’ll lend this to you right away! I’m fine with Koma reading this novel before me. Here you go!”

“Ah… Etto…”

It’s the latest edition and I’m sure she’ll be happy to read it. When I try to hand it to Koma while thinking this, Koma looks somewhat doubtful. Oh? What happened?

“Hm? What’s wrong, Koma? You are curious about the sequel, right? I’m fine since I’ll read it after Koma has finished reading it.”

“No, you’re right that I’m curious about the rest of the story, and I want to read it right now, but…”

It’s unusual for Koma to be fidgeting and bashful while trying to say something… Ooh, the Koma who’s reserving herself like this is also cute. The little animal-like gestures are really kyuut. Next time, I’ll try to negotiate with her if I can get her to put on a little cat-ear or fox-ear animal ears.

Oopsie, restrain yourself… I almost went on a trip. Let’s listen seriously to Koma who’s trying to say something.

“What is it, Koma? If you have a request for me, I’ll listen to it.”

“Etto… About it…”

“Come on, say it without reserve. You can ask me anything.”

I ask with a smile to meet the request of Koma who pulls herself together. After taking a deep breath at my response, Koma says with a determined look in her eyes.

“About it. If it’s possible… Just like in the past”

“Like in the past?”

“The two of us reading the novel together… Is it, not allowed?”

“Fumufumu. I see. The two of us… Two of us?!??!”

“Yes… The two of us will read the novel in Nee-sama’s room. That’s how we read books in the past, isn’t it…?”

Just like in the past… The two of us!? That’s basically… Reading the books side by side just like when we were elementary school students!?

As soon as I hear Koma’s request, I immediately begin the simulation while we are on the road.

In order for me and Koma to read it side-by-side we’ll have to be glued to each other.

“Is it tight for you, Koma? Everything okay?”

“I’m fine, Nee-sama. More importantly, it’s hard for you to read right? You can come closer to me, Nee-sama”

“Un. Then, I’ll do so.”

While saying that we huddle close to each other until our breaths meet each other.

We’ll try to read at the same pace and keep our breathing in sync with each other and flip the pages in turns…

“Ah… I’m sorry, Koma.”

“No, It’s me who’s sorry.”

We’d occasionally touch each other’s hands as we tried to turn the pages in a dazed attempt to read the next page.

In the beginning, we would let go of each other’s hands quickly, and then we would touch each other again…

As we gradually touched each other more and more, we spent more time playing together than reading…

“Nee…sama…”

“Koma…”

Just like that we forget about reading the book and enter a world of our own. We stare into each other’s eyes, then our hands that had been touching each other gradually intertwine our fingers into a lover’s bond.

Naturally, our lips have been getting closer and like that the two of us—–

—-Will become in a good mood…!? Fuoooooooooooooooooo! Goood…! Isn’t that amazing!?

“Okay, let’s hurry home! Full speed home! Koma, let’s read this together when we get home!”

“Ah, so it’s alright with you…?”

“Obviously! Onee-chan will read together with you! Now, Koma! Let’s dash! Every second is a waste!”

“Ye-Yes! Thank you very much, Nee-sama!”

I hurried home with Koma, holding my secret motives in my chest. I’m in the height of my puberty.

◇ ◇ ◇

“I’m back. We’re home!”
“I’ve come home.”

Koma and I came home as fast as we could without looking aside. When we unlocked the door and peeked into the living room, what awaited us the Tachibana sisters was,

“Ah… You’re finally back?”

“Aah, welcome back, Koma-san, Mako-san.”

“”Etto…””

Aunty lazing around on the couch, and her editor in charge was trying to tidy up the teacups for both of them.

… U~n, strange. The landowner and the guest roles are reversed.

“Aah? What are you two, why are you standing there?”

“Oh my? How can I help you two?”

“Ehm, Editor-san. We’ll both do that later, so you can put them somewhere for now.”

“It’s as Koma says. Editor-san is a guest so you don’t have to do that… And, Aunty. Why do you have the Editor-san clean up for you?”

I rebuked Aunty while rushing to Editor-san and flustered Koma. How horrible is this person to have her guest clean up… I’m so ashamed of Aunty.

“Ou, stop accusing me of baseless things, Mako. I didn’t make him do it. He volunteered to do it himself. Right, Editor?”

“Yes, that’s right. And it’s fine, you two. She finished her work just a moment ago… She’s been working very hard and seems to be tired… I should do this much as her Editor.”

While saying that he smiled and restrained us, then he went straight to the washing place to clean the teacups.

… As always, he’s an amazing adult. Aunty should start taking lessons from Editor-san right away.

“More importantly, Koma? How was the health exam? Can you talk about it if it’s fine with you?”

“Ah, I understand. The exam results were the same as always—”

The rotten Aunty asks Koma about her health exam while laying on the sofa, and Koma politely begins to answer her.

I’ll leave the progress report to Koma… I owe Editor-san an apology.

“Ehm, Editor-san.”

“? What is it?”

“Today… No, I’m truly sorry for Aunty causing you trouble constantly. It must be tough for you to keep up with Aunty’s selfishness even on your day off.”

I bow my head and apologize to Editor-san who’s washing the teacups. Since a certain someone won’t apologize, I as her niece, have to apologize for her part.

“Hahaha! No, Mako-san doesn’t have to mind it.”

“But…”

“This is also my work, keeping company of Meiko-sensei. Also compared to her wild heyday she’s cute now and I’m used to it.”

“Eeeh… Wait, she was more wild in her heyday?”

I don’t know much about it, but I heard Aunty and Editor-san were close friends all through junior high school, high school and college… Is that so… That Aunty hasn’t been causing trouble for you just today…

“Yes! That’s correct, she was much more wild and arrogant than she’s now.”

Editor-san smiles at me and says “Don’t worry about it.” Aunty was lucky to meet the fine Editor-san…

I’d like to repay him somehow for taking care of her so far. What’s good? The way I can directly thank him—

“Oi you people there, I can hear you! Who’s unprincipled, oi!”

“Ah, she heard us… As usual, her demon ears are scary. Let’s run away before she gets angry. Mako-san, Koma-san. I’ll leave you two. Good work, Meiko-sensei.”

“Ah, wait a moment, Editor-san. I’m going to make dinner now… If it’s fine with you, would you like to eat with us, as well?”

“Eh?”

—-Un, I can thank him by cooking.

“Waa..! That’s a good idea, Nee-sama. Editor-sama, Nee-sama’s cooking is delicious, and since you’re here, you should try it.”

“See, Koma is also saying it. Think of it as saving up money on one meal, Editor-san.”

“No, but… Meiko-senpai—- No, Meiko-sensei. Is that okay?”

Koma interrupts her conversation with Aunty and agrees with me. Editor-san looks troubled at my and Koma’s proposal and confirms it with Aunty.

“Ah, I don’t think it’s a problem. If you want to eat then eat. Anyway, one or two more people don’t make much of a problem.”

“Is that true?”

Wait a moment, Aunty. No, it’s certainly not a problem… But, I’m the one cooking here. Aunty who can’t cook anything, it makes me sort of angry when she says that while looking self-important… Well, leaving her aside.

“… If I’m allowed then, Koma-san, Mako-san. Thank you for treating me.”

“It’s okay. I can’t make something flashy, but do enjoy it without reserve. Then, I’m going to start cooking so why don’t Editor-san go relax with Aunty too?”

Editor-san was a little hesitant about it, but because Aunty gave it a go, he agreed to it without hesitation.

Okay, since he entrusted me with it, I’ll make the best food till he’s satisfied.  I stand in the kitchen with enthusiasm while wearing my fighting apron with “Little Sis Love” letters embroidered on it.

“Nee-sama, I’ll help you with the preparation.”

“Ooh, thanks, Koma.”

Today’s spoils— The souvenir I bought for Aunty and the food I shopped, Koma helps me by unpacking them in the living room.

I’m grateful to her. If I cook together with Koma then I’m motivated to make the food even more delicious. Plus, it’ll save me time, which means I’ll have more time to read together with her, I can kill two birds with one stone.

“Please wait a second, Nee-sama. I’m going to sort the baggage and then head over there.”

“Take it slowly. I’ll also do the prep.”

“…N? Wait a moment, you two. Is that… Maybe my souvenir?”

When she saw the items that Koma had opened, Aunty, who had been lying on the sofa lazily until a moment ago, suddenly stood up as if she was interested in it. She’s sharp-sighted as usual…

“Aah, I forgot about it. Aunty, those sweets there are for you.”

“Ooh! I knew it! Thank you, Mako! I’ll eat them right away!”

“Yes, yes. Good grief. When you hear “sweets” you immediately get energized.”

“Aunt. Shouldn’t you eat the dessert after you’ve finished your dinner? You won’t be able to eat Nee-sama’s cooking.”

“Hm? Wfua fi fyu fai(What did you say)?”

“””(…She’s already eating them…)”””

Aunty stuffed her cheeks full of the sweets and munched on them without taking heed of Koma’s advice.

At her sight, me, Koma and Editor-san smiled bitterly. Aunty, are you a child?

“Hee? All things considered, you’ve bought a lot of stuff. Souvenir for Sensei, training wear and weights. And then clothes… Oh? Books too?”

The Editor-san seems to be interested in the books that we bought and they were next to the sweets Aunty is eating. I guess it’s natural for him to be interested in them since his work consists of dealing with books.

… Aunty, who also works in the book business, was eating souvenirs like crazy, and she didn’t pay any attention to them.

“Cooking magazine… They’re Mako-san’s. And then these two fortune-telling books… Probably, they’re Koma’s. And then this one more is— Oh?”

The Editor-san that brilliantly guesses who the books belong to, he stops when he sees the last book — It’s the novel that I and Koma will be reading today.

…Hm? What’s wrong?

“Editor-san? What’s wrong with the novel?”

“”The innocent lilies bloom”… Is it?”

“Bufu!?”

When the Editor-san reads out loud the title, Aunty suddenly blurts out the sweets she was eating. I don’t know what’s wrong but, spitting out your food is dirty so please stop Aunty.

“Wha-Wha-What did you just say?”

“Mako-san, Koma-san. This novel is…”

“Oh? Perhaps Aunty… And also the Editor-san knows about this novel?”

“Is that so? Well, it’s very popular. It’s a series that my sister and I like. The truth is, we’re going to read it today ♪”

“Ye…yes? No… There’s nothing to know. After all this novel…”

“You idiot!? You’re saying too much!?”

Aunty tries to cover the editor’s mouth for some reason, but it’s already too late. The Editor-san looks at us strangely and then says a few words.

“This novel— Meiko-sensei wrote it using Koma-san and Mako-san as models…”

“”…. Huh?””

… Right now, I heard a shocking fact. What did he say? This novel… Aunty wrote it? On top of it— She used us as models…?

“Eh… Then, Komei-sensei is actually…”

“Yes. It’s Meiko-sensei’s pen name.”

Meiko→Komei… Is it? Aunty, isn’t that too simple?

“Me and Nee-sama as models?”

“It’s strange… Could it be you two didn’t know anything at all…? Sensei has told me many times that she has gotten permission from both of you…”

So it’s like that? Aunty in secrecy… She has been sharing our love story(?) with the world which can be called a naked account of us, sister’s daily life…

“I’m hearing it for the first time, Nee-sama…”

“Same. I haven’t heard anything about it….. Aaah, *cough*. Aunty? Mind explaining this in detail?”

Everyone turned their attention to Aunty. Aunty said a few words while eluding the questions and criticisms. 

“Su…”

“””Su…?”””

“… Everything was the Editor’s idea. I’m faultless!”

“Eeeh!?”

“”….””

Aunty points her finger at the editor as if it were a politician’s excuse from some time ago, and Editor-san is troubled by Aunty shifting the blame to him when he has no recollection of that happening.

…. Hahaha! You’ve got quite the guts to be troubling the Editor-san till the end, Aunty!

First of all, I confiscated all her souvenirs, forbade her drinking for a week, and tortured Aunty with a full course of her hated food for dinner this evening… Let me hear the details in full now.

2 comments

  1. Vivec · June 22, 2021

    mako is keeping herself in denial so she somehow has more restraint than koma does lmao

    Like

  2. Hermes Passer · June 22, 2021

    For two sisters that are obsessed with each other, they can’t get a clue at all.

    Like

Leave a comment