HS Chapter 23: The hopeless sister shops.

“Fuu, I’m full~”

I finished kissing Koma with no problems, and after that, Koma’s taste buds returned and we the sisters finished having lunch. I’m always the one who cooks, but sometimes it’s nice to eat food that other people have made.

“It was delicious. As expected of a place people recommend.”

“Yes, it is…. Well, I think that Nee-sama’s cooking is much more delicious.”

“Ahaha, thank you Koma. However, I’m not a match for professionals.”

“… That’s not true at all.”

As I thought, it was correct to research in advance. It was the newly opened and popular Turkey restaurant, and the cooking and atmosphere was good as the rumors about it…

I’ve learned a lot. I’ve memorized the taste so next time I’ll try to create it myself.

“By the way, Nee-sama. The food was delicious. Thank you very much.”

“He? Aaah, you don’t have to pay respect to me, Koma. You don’t need to thank me either.”

Just as we got out of the store, Koma said her gratitude while bowing to me. “Today is my treat”, so I paid for mine and Koma’s part… We’re sisters and family, and more importantly, I wanted to look good in front of Koma as her older sister so there’s no need for her to thank me.

“But, that’s not true at all. Thank you for frequently presenting wonderful gifts like this to me, Nee-sama.”

“Again with that… It’s fine, no worries. Sometimes, I have to do things like a big sister, Koma.”

She thanked me even more politely and deeply. Truthfully speaking, I bought one outfit for Koma and gave it to her as a gift, which I had selected for her to try on at the women’s fashion store where Koma and I had just rented a fitting room to kiss.

I would be sorry for the clerk if we left the store without buying anything after renting the fitting room for almost 10 minutes just to kiss each other, and I thought it would be just right if I gave a little reward for Koma’s hard work.

… Though, frankly putting it that was just a front… It’s a secret that I actually bought those sexy clothes because I wanted Koma so that she could wear them. I’m sorry for my impure motives, clerk-san and Koma…

“Well, about the outfit. Next time… I’d be very happy if you wear it next time on our date or whenever you feel like it.

“Yes! I’ll wear it! I’ll definitely cherish it too!—–Yah, cherish it my whole life…”

Koma with a big smile hugged the outfit I picked out for her and gave it to her as a present… I’m glad. If she’s this happy, it was worth buying it for her.

“Now, where shall we go next, Koma? Personally, I’ve visited the places I want but, is there anywhere else you would like to go?”

“Eettoo… That’s right. I too have gone to the places I wanted to go in the morning, what should we do next, Nee-sama?”

“I don’t know what to do”

While looking at the guide map in the shopping we are choosing for the next place we want to go. Despite doing this, it’s as Koma says we’ve visited most of the places we wanted to go in the morning… If I had to guess the remaining interesting place would be—-

“”Next is the bookshop—-””

At the same time we spoke the same words and looked at each other with amazement… And like that we giggle.

“Fufufu♪ There’s also a book that I just wanted. Nee-sama, shall we go together to the bookshop?”

“I agree, Koma. I too have a book that I want to buy, so let’s go together.”

This is to be expected of us, the twin sisters. I’m happy that even our mood is perfect. Our opinion is also in union and while giggling we go to the bookshop.

“By the way, what kind of book does Koma want? Is it a reference book?”

I’m curious so I ask her while we are heading to the bookshop with joined hands. Maybe it’s a reference book for the hardworking Koma? Or maybe a sports book since she likes sports?

“Ehm… Truthfully, it’s a book about my hobby that I’ve gotten into recently… Uu, I want a fortune-telling book.”

“Fue? Fortune-telling book?”

“Yes. My hobby is a bit childish.”

Koma says that bashfully. My god, my little sis being girly is so lovely.

“Uuun. I think it’s a lovely and wonderful hobby. So it’s like that, Koma likes fortune-telling. This is new to me.”

“Yeah. I had learned it from a friend of mine just the other day, and it became more and more fun… (*Mumble*) Especially the love-fortune.”

Wow. I don’t usually do fortune-telling, but since Koma seems to be enjoying it, it might not be a bad idea to have her read my fortune when she’s not busy.

As I was thinking about that, we arrived at the bookshop. Umu, it’s huge. As expected of a large-scale store. The scale is quite wide for a bookshop. If it’s here, the list of titles must be good and Koma will be satisfied, I’m sure.

“Rather, I feel that it’s too huge… Oh no, I feel like I might get lost here. Eetto, we are here… Ouh, found it. Koma, it seems the section for fortune-telling books is deeper in the back.”

“Thank you very much. It’s pretty far.”

Just like earlier, this time I check the bookshop’s guide map for the sections of the books we want. Fumufumu… The fortune-telling books that Koma had wanted are that way… The section of the books that I plan to buy— It’s in the opposite direction!

“Ah, come to think of it, what kind of book Nee-sama plans to buy? You mentioned that you had a book you wanted to buy.”

“Uee!? Wa, me!?… I want to… It’s the usual cooking magazine…It’s that one.”

“Hm, it’s the cooking magazine that comes out every month, right?”

“U, un… You’re right…”

I couldn’t help but be surprised by Koma’s comment. Ah, don’t fret, me. If I’m too strange here, Koma will become suspicious of me.

For now, I’ll calm myself down by taking a few breaths stealthily, and then suggest a one book to Koma for a certain purpose.

“Hey, Koma. There’s a suggestion from your Onee-chan…”

“Ah, okay. What is it, Nee-sama?”

“That is… There’s a big difference between the section of the fortune-telling books and the section of the cooking books.”

“Etto… It certainly looks like that.”

Looking at the guide map, I’m lucky to have the best placement. In the opposite direction of Koma… There are cook books and books built for another purpose.

“That’s why… We’ll split up for the time being and shop on our own… When we finish shopping we come back here… Is that okay with you?”

“So, you’re saying you want to part ways here with your little sister? U~n…”

I timidly propose it to Koma and she is thinking about it… Will it work? Or is it as bad as I thought? Was it too sudden?

We’ve been shopping and visiting stores together till just now, and she might think there’s something strange about me. But… If I don’t part ways with her here then I can’t buy that book…

“Why can’t we go together? Or does Nee-sama have other plans?”

“No, no! It’s not like I have anything special to do or other plans… I thought doing it like this would be more efficient since we save up time!? It would be tough going back and forth when the sections are so far apart… That’s why, if Koma is okay with it…”

“…I understand. If Nee-sama says it like that, then I’ll oblige. I’ll be a bit sad being away from Nee-sama, but… I’m sure that Nee-sama also likes to take her time choosing her books. I’m aware that I take time choosing my book, too.”

Koma had a lonely expression but she took my suggestion like she cared about me.

“U, un, I’m sorry, Koma… Ah! Just in case you’re wondering, it’s not like I’m bullying Koma, okay!? I have no intentions like that…”

“It’s okay, Nee-sama. Since I understand… Then, so be it. How about we meet up at this location half an hour later?”

“Thank  you. Well then, I’ll go…”

We decide to part ways for now, and I do my best waving back to Koma who waves with regret while she heads to the section of fortune-telling books.

…Fuu. I’m glad that Koma is a sweet girl. While exhaling a breath of relief, I turn my heels and head to my destination.

Now. You may find it strange that I, a self-proclaimed siscon, would want to leave my little sis’s side voluntarily. After all, normally I don’t want to leave Koma’s side even for a moment.

Then there’s our holiday and this date with just the two of us. So there’s no need for the option to leave to exist… It’s a bit dangerous to have Koma be around me now.

“…Okay! There’s a new book of Komei-sensei on sale!”

I arrive at the location of my desired product at full speed and find a certain book.  Yes, earlier, I said to Koma that I would buy a cooking magazine.

Naturally, I’m not lying about buying that cooking magazine either… My real desire is to buy this book. You wonder what this book is? It’s—-

“(…Girl-to-Girl… It’s also a twin sisters romance…)”

That’s right, it’s the so to speak novel in Sister, Yuri, GL genres… Additionally, novels like these in the girl-to-girl romance genre are precious. What’s more, you almost never come across a romance novel about twin sisters. In that meaning, the book I just picked up is perfect for my sexual disposition and you could say it’s my Bible.

Regardless of my disposition, Komei-sensei’s books are interesting as novels with their unique expressions and descriptions, and they seem to be well received by the general public for their genre. (TN: Hmm, who does this remind me of?)

… However, no matter how interesting their novels are, I have to make sure that Koma never finds out about my purchase of this novel.Why, you ask? The reason is simple.

Use your imagination here for a bit. Seeing your own blood related sibling panting while reading a homosexual novel… If you see that then 8 out of 9 you’ll probably want to distance yourself. And Koma who’s also known as Buddha is no exception to this—-

“… Nee-sama, what is that book? Have you always looked at me like that…?”

Probably it would be like this.

“When you kissed me, you were breathing very hard and I thought it was strange… So it was like that?”

Then give me a cold stare like looking at an insect.

“Don’t ever come close to me. Don’t address me again. Don’t show your face to me… You’re lecherous.”

The end will be her spitting on me… The day my beloved sister reacts like that to me…

“(…I’ll have no choice but to die…)”

… Well, now you can understand why I had to part ways with Koma for the time being.

If I don’t want Koma to hate me and be disappointed in me, I can’t let her know that this book exists and that I love reading it, no matter what.

“Now, I just need to camouflage it with the subscription magazine… Okay, it’s done.”

I grab the novel and the cooking magazine and then I dash to the register. If I take my time, there’s a chance that Koma will pick out the book she wants to buy and we’ll meet at the register, so I have to hurry. 

“Haa… Haaa… Excuse… me. Please… Haa… give me… haaa… the bill.”

“What’s wrong, customer-san? You’re somehow out of breath, are you okay?”

“I’m fine… Please give me… the bill quickly…”

While gasping for breath I reach the register and urge the clerk for my bill. Everything is okay… I’ve probably made it in time since Koma hasn’t come yet…

“Etto… Customer-sama? Would you like book covers?”

“Cover… is it?”

Cover… If it was as always I would’ve gotten one, but right now I don’t have time to waste. If I ask for it and Koma comes, everything will be over…

“No, I don’t need it. It’s okay like this.”

“Understood. Then— Everything together it is 1,821 yen.”

As the clerk-san says that he puts the books in a plastic book with the bookstores logo on it. I won…! I’m safe since I made it so far. I’m also fine even if Koma comes now.

“Yes. Etto, please wait a second. I’ll take out the money right away.”

What’s left is just to pay. I happily took out my wallet and open it to give my 10,000 yen a bit like a celebrity.

“Excuse me, here’s my 10,000 ye— Un?”

“? What’s wrong, customer-sama?”

…. Hmm? Oh? It’s strange. When I opened my wallet, I didn’t see my beloved 10, 000 yen note-san.

“Eh, ah… Could you wait for a bit?”

“Haa…”

Wait, wait, calm down me. Look for it properly. I rub my eyes and check my wallet for it again. Inside— Not just my 10, 000, but also my 5, 000 and 1, 000 yen notes were gone.

…. Impossible!? I’ve gotten an advance from Aunty for today’s date and I’ve saved up a bit of money but I don’t have any of it…!? Had I spent that much money today!?

Just to make sure, I think back to what the hell I’ve spent my money on. Etto, if I’m right…

◇ ◇ ◇

~Location 1: Clinic~


“Ah… Koma. I’ll pay here. Koma, go get your medicine.”

~Location 2: Women’s clothing store~

“Yes, Koma! This is a present to Koma from her Onee-chan! You can wear it whenever you like!”

~Location 3: Turkey restaurant~

“Koma, I’ll treat you here! You can eat as much as you like!”

◇ ◇ ◇

… It was just these three places plus the sweet souvenir I bought for Aunty. Fumufumu, I see. Ahahaha!

…. Am I an idiot!? How haphazard with finance can I be!? This is the result of trying to act like a Onee-chan and look good infront of Koma!?

What’s with “Had I spent that much today!?”, OI! How could I not notice my wallet emptying out despite the campaign funds being that much!? What kind of hopeless idiot am I!?

“Ehm, customer-sama? Is everything okay? You seem a bit pale, currently.”

The clerk-san talks to me while I’m in front of the register worried about my hopelessness. There’s no other choice. I can’t just stand here and pay what I can’t pay… I have to endure the embarrassment and tell them I can’t pay it.

“No, that’s… I’m sorry, clerk-san. It seems I don’t have enough money…I’m sorry but may I return the items back?”

“Oh my, Nee-sama, you don’t have enough?”

“Un… you’re right, Koma. I’m shameful, aren’t I?”

As I was shamelessly explaining to the clerk, I had to deal with even Koma seeing the disappointing part of her sister.

Aah, I’ve done it… It’s really embarrassing to have my beloved Koma see me like this… !?!??!?!?!

“Ko-Ko-Koma!?”

“Yes, I’m Koma. Ah, Nee-sama don’t worry. I’ll pay here, Nee-sama♪ Clerk-sama, excuse me. Is it okay if you put my items together with my older sister on the bill?”

“Yes, it’s okay. Please wait a moment.”

Before I knew it, Koma was standing behind me waiting for the bill and paying for me. I had let down my guard completely…To think that Koma is here already. Are you saying that God has given up on me…!?

“Thank you very much. Please come again.”

“It’s me who should be grateful. Now, let’s be on our way, Nee-sama.”

“Okayy…”

After Koma has paid the bill she leads me to a nearby resting area. When we arrive at the most empty spot, I’m urged to sit next to Koma.

“You’re quick, Nee-sama. I’m sorry it took me time to choose my books.”

“No, it’s nothing… I was just… quick. More importantly, I’m sorry for having you pay for my part as well. I’ll return the money when we get home…”

“Fufu… It’s all right. You don’t have to worry. Now that we talk about it, haven’t you been treating me a lot today? This is me returning some of it..”

Koma gently giggles at my earlier disgraceful moment but I’m in no condition to laugh it off… In Koma’s hand, there was my bag of books that she paid for. Naturally, the twin sister’s romance book is also in the bag.

How hopeless is it to have that book in the hands of Koma!? As I explained earlier, the day Koma finds out what’s in that book, she’ll definitely despise me and I’ll never be able to talk to her again.That’s why, I have to somehow recover it without her noticing it…

“Oh, yeah, Nee-sama. It would be shameful of me to forget to give your books back, so I’ll do it now.”

“!?”

Koma, who’s unaware of my feelings, opens the plastic bag containing the books with an innocent smile and starts to take out the books. I’m in danger… 

“Etto… These two are mine… And these two belong to Nee-sama. I see it’s the usual cooking magazine, Nee-sama.”

“Aaaah, thank you, Koma…”

First is the cooking magazine. There’s nothing wrong with it so it was easily delivered.

The problem is the next…

Calm down. Calm yourself down, Tachibana Mako. It’s fine, it’ll be fine… Even Koma, who’s excellent at analyzing can’t tell the contents of the book from it’s cover. If I take it calmly without getting nervous then Koma won’t think I’m suspicious for sure.

“And the next one belongs to Nee-sama. Okay, here you—- Oh? This is…”

“Un? What’s wrong, Koma? There’s nothing strange…”

That’s what I was thinking, but for some reason, Koma’s eyes are drawn to the cover of the twin sister romance book… Everything is fine… She shouldn’t tell the contents just by the cover. She definitely can’t.

Definitely… However, Koma is fixated on the cover for some reason. I also looked at the cover wondering what’s wrong with it.

“Love story of twin sisters! What is the outcome of the love between the fragile and beautiful girls who are like lilies blooming lavishly!?”

…. I got it. I’m dead. As soon as I saw the obi with such words in big letters along with the novel, I was in despair. (TN: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obi_(publishing) )

Yeah, naturally it has an obi. These books usually have an obi for promotion purposes. I can’t believe that not taking the time to have the clerk put the book cover on my book would backfire on me…

“Nee-sama, this novel…”

“Un.  It’s as you see… This novel is…”

I’m already a goner. I won’t be able to talk to Koma ever again. At least…

At least, I should enjoy this last conversation with Koma and disappear. While thinking that I turn to Koma with teary eyes.

“This novel—- I see you have the new edition. I accidently forgot to buy it.”

“…Un, that’s right. This new edition…. Un?”

“Yes?”

….New, edition….? Also… forgot… to buy…?


Righto, I’ll need to talk to my bank considering the results of the poll in the last chapter and TL a chapter per week~

4 comments

  1. Vivec · June 18, 2021

    Is it time for Mako to realize how dangerous Koma is?(in the good way)

    Like

    • Mr.Nobody · June 18, 2021

      We’ll see in the upcoming chapters on what will happen. I don’t read ahead, I read as I translate.

      Like

    • ka_wa_ru47 · June 18, 2021

      Probably not. But I sure hope that she gets the hint! 🤭

      Like

  2. Hermes Passer · June 18, 2021

    nice cliffhanger

    Like

Leave a comment