HS Chapter 28: The hopeless sister works.

“Fui, I’ve a lot of work today, too…”

After school that day, my beloved friends labeled me “Not catching a cold = Idiot ”. Today is no different from other days, so I’m working hard at the volunteer club Seijokai. My job today is tidying up the documents in the club and I’m working together with my kyut Koma.

“Ey, Koma, how are you over there?”

“…”

“(… Oops? Was it bad calling out to her?)”

Next to me, Koma is working in silence and she’s so focused that my voice didn’t reach her.

Speaking honestly, this is a voluntary activity, and it’s not work that you absolutely have to do, but the serious Koma is great for working so hard on this kind of activity. I’ll have to follow her example here.

“Okay, no time for me to rest here. What are the next documents?”

After taking a short breather, I pick up the pile of papers again to help Koma as much as possible, and I also check the opinions of all the students and teachers one by one.

First is this document… Etto… Let’s see what it’s about.

“I’m the head of the baseball club in 3-A. We’re having trouble using the sports grounds because of the rain. So I have a request to make. During the rainy season, could you please permit the athletic clubs that usually train outside to use the gym and training room? Please consider it.”

Fumufumu… I see. He’s right, you can’t do outdoor activities can’t be done outside this time of the year. We’ll have to gather the teachers and the presidents of the various clubs to discuss this.

Anyhow, we’ll call all the club heads and advisors together around lunchtime next week, and discuss this case at that time… That should be fine. Then, the next document.

“I’m a member of the 2-B swim team. I wish we’d be allowed to use the pool in the rainy season. I think it wouldn’t be a problem since we’d be wet swimming.”

Aah… Un. Well, that may be true. However, there’s the possibility of thunder striking down… It’s still dangerous, so I’d like you to do your best for your club activities, preferably at an indoor pool in the city at least until the end of the rainy season. Okay, next.

“I’m the gym teacher, Honda. The storeroom in the old school building is leaking, so please fix it soon, Tachibana.”

… Maybe the teacher has mistaken this place as an odd jobs club or something? Rather, you can have a technician do that for you, teacher. What are you asking schoolgirls to do for you? Okay, next.

“ I’m a first year student. Tachibana Koma is pretty and charming, she makes my heart beat fast. What should I do for her?”

… Hohou, you sure have expert eyes, my junior. I shall give you the permission to join the official Tachibana Koma fan club (president: Mako Tachibana). Okay, next.

“We’re in the same class. Tachibana Koma, please go out with me!”

I’ll give you some advice. Be careful when you go out at night. Right, next.

“I’m in my third year and head of the soccer club. Please marry me, Koma-chan.”

Even though you’re my senpai, I won’t give my little sis as your wife. Next,

“Koma-chan, please let me prpr you. No, actually, please prpr me.” (TN: This is a female.)

I’ll knock you. Next,

I check the documents like that without hesitation…. All of them considered.

“My school is full of idiots…”

I’m greatly confused. I’m not sure if this is for me to say since I’ve been shouting my love for Koma every day with no stop, but… What is this? Almost all of the documents are anonymous love letters to Koma.

Are you all idiots!? What kind of idiots are you to put these letters into the Seijokai opinion box? It’s not the desk or the shoe box…

For now, I’ll just pretend I didn’t see any suspicious documents related to Koma, and shred them all without mercy.

I look over the other serious documents, sign or answer them, and then sort them.

◇ ◇ ◇

“Okay, I’m done with work! Aaah, so tired~”

After 30 minutes of such work, I’ve managed to reach the quota for today.

Sigh… It’s really tiring. I wonder why the teachers give out such troublesome work everyday despite this being only a volunteer club. It’s not like this is the student council… 

“Well, I’m used to it so no big deal. Now, Komaa~? Did you finish your work? I’ve finished my quota just now—- Hm?”

“…”

“Hm? Koma?”

While complaining in my head, I call out to Koma who is working again. But… I’m not getting any response from Koma just like earlier. Oh, what is this…

“(… Did she make little progress since she started…?)”

I take a closer look at Koma. Her hands have stopped working, and in addition it seems like she hasn’t processed any documents at all yet. It’s very unusual for me to finish earlier…

“Koma? Ey, Koma? Are you okay? Can you hear my voice?”

“….”

“Un, you can’t hear it.”

I look into Koma’s lovely face while calling out to her and wondering what’s wrong, I see that she was looking out the window with a sideways glance and was unusually absent-minded.

Fumu… The careless Koma is extremely kyut— No, that’s not it.

“(*Inhales*…) Koma!”

“!? Wawawa!? Ne-Nee-sama!?”

She’s different from the usual Koma. I was a little worried, so I called out Koma’s name in front of her, and she seemed to notice me and finally responded by jumping up vigorously. I frightened her. I’m sorry, Koma.

“Etto… Nee-sama, what is wrong?”

“Rather than saying what is wrong, what is something bothering you, Koma?  You didn’t reply to me when I was calling you.”

“You were calling me…? Eh…?”

“Ah, I finished my work. You look somewhat off… Is it fine for me to help you do your work?”

“Work… Eh? Oh, no!? What was I…?!?”

Koma looks at her hands in surprise from my words. There’s still a pile of documents to be tidied up. And then, my side is organized albeit messily.

Normally, Koma finishes her work earlier than me and helps me with my work, but now our positions are reversed.

“Are you okay? Could it be that you’re tired? Then you can leave the work to me.”

“I’m sorry, Nee-sama… I’ve been dozing off! I’m all right! I’ll finish it soon!”

“Ah, no, slow down. You don’t have to hurry, Koma.”

Koma tries to do the documents fluttering and hastingly. As I thought, she seems to be in bad shape.

“I need my seal to approve this document, the seal is… A, au… I don’t see the seal…!? Etto… I’m sure I’ve put it here somewhere… Aaaah!? The documents crumbled…!?”

“Ko-Koma-san? Are you really okay?”

Under normal circumstances, Koma should be able to work faster than anyone else in this school, but it’s taking her longer than me to read a little document, or she forgot to sign something, or she broke a pile of papers… Koma can’t concentrate at all for some reason.

Holy… Clumsy Koma is moeeee— No, that’s not it either. It’s totally unlike her, isn’t there something wrong?

I don’t know well about it, Koma but I think she’s really tired. Umu… In that case.

“…Ey, Koma.”

“Yes, Nee-sama! I understand! I’ll quickly finish it! Please don’t get disappointed in me—”

“Uuun, that’s not it. Stop working. Let’s get refreshments.”
“Yes, understood! Refreshments, is it? …. Refreshments?”

“Umu, that’s right. We’re done for work today. The remaining club activities of today are to drink tea and eat cookies!”

While saying that, I forcibly put away all the documents from Koma’s hand, and then I take out from my bag a wrapping cloth containing a snack that I had made beforehand to eat with Koma after work.

“But, Nee-sama. I haven’t done much of my work… Also, why a snack now?”

“Ahahaha, it’s okay, okay. We can just do it tomorrow. It’s fine if you don’t do this troublesome work. Noone will get mad at Koma. There are no problems…”

“No, that’s…”

I smile at Koma while saying it. Anyway, even if she skipped this paperwork anyway, it would be like, ‘You did your job just fine, Tachibana!’, and I’m sure I’ll be the one who’s going to get scolded by the teacher later, so it’s perfectly fine if she cuts corners a little bit.

Rather, I’m used to being scolded more than she is scolded.

“So for the first time in a while, you’re going to carry out Nee-chan’s orders. Koma will rest from her work and will have tea with me now! I don’t accept your refusal. That’s why Koma, you’ll accept it right?”

“Yes…”

More importantly than that, I won’t accept the tired Koma to be forced to work. I know I’m a bit forceful, and I think discouraging Koma’s willingness is bad, but… I want to make sure Koma, who looks tired, is well rested.

That’s why I’ve decided to carry out my annual “Nee-chan order” and give Koma the rest she needs.

Un? By the way, you’re wondering what’s this “Nee-chan order”? Umu, I’ll explain it. It simply means that I as Koma’s older sis have the right to give her an absolute order. It’s one of the rules between the sisters that we, the Tachibana sisters, have made, and that if I use this only once a year, Koma must absolutely obey me.

…   Just in case you might be wondering, I’ve never used it for anything vulgar or perverted, okay? I’m not lying.

Also, Koma has the “Little sis begging right” and if she uses it then I have to listen to what she says. Though, I have to admit. I’m a huge siscon so I’ll listen to Koma and whatever she says.

“… I’m sorry, Nee-sama. Thank you for worrying about me.”

“Fussying? What are you saying? I just want to eat snacks with Koma. —- More importantly, Koma, would you mind helping with readying the snacks? I’ll make the tea and you prepare the napkins and plates.”

“Y-Yes. I’ll get them right away.”

“Thank you, take care.”

Koma receives my order, then stops working and immediately prepares for the snacks. With this she should be okay. While feeling relieved that Koma obediently takes a rest from her work, I head to the kitchenette to warm the hot tea.

◇ ◇ ◇

“Yes, thanks for waiting, Komaa ♡”

“….”

I asked the teacher “Please let me use the kitchenette to warm hot tea” (this is a digression, but… When I asked the teacher he got mad and said ‘No, you can’t. What are you thinking, Tachibana?’ but when I told him “Koma wants to drink too!” he immediately agreed “Then it’s fine.”)… After getting the hot tea, I return to the club where Koma is waiting.

“I’m sorry for taking so long. Now, let’s have a fun snack time with Onee-chan!”

“…”

So I open the door with a huge smile, excited for a fun snack time with Koma, but. Before my eyes were…

“…………”

“My, my, my. Koma looks at the distance again…”

She seems to have finished preparing but she’s still looking out the window and her mind wandering. She doesn’t even seem to be aware I came back.

… Why? Koma seems to be awfully concerned with what’s happening outside…. Is something outside?

“Koma, what’s wrong? Did something strange happen outside?”

“….Outside,… rain is falling…”

“Hm? Aah, un, that’s right. It rains a lot today since it’s the rainy season.”

“The rain…”
“The rain?”

I sit next to Koma, and look outside the window while taking a break. As Koma said, the rain is pouring down from the heavens incessantly, soaking the earth and pounding on the windows.

The rainfall is so heavy that the roads have become rivers instead of puddles… It looks like the rain has become heavier since this morning. It occurs to me that we might as well go home early before it gets any worse.

“I hope… it doesn’t…. fall tonight…”

“Fu? What did you just say, Koma?”

“… Say, Nee-sama…”

“Un? What is it?”

Suddenly, Koma begins to mutter something.

“Nee-sama… Do you like the rain?”

“Ha? The rain?”

“Yes… the rain…”

Koma asks me such a question while looking at the rain outside the window. Do I like the rain?… Hm… Rain, is it?

“That’s right. The laundry won’t dry and I got scolded today because of it… I can’t say I like it in a loud voice, but.”

“But?”
“But, I don’t hate it to death either. Even the rain has its good points…”
“The rain’s good points…?”

I don’t know the intention of Koma’s question, but I’ll say what I think.

“What are they for example… The rain’s good points…?”

“Uh, yeah. Well, I can list a lot, but… The best one is that—- Thanks to the rain, we can’t go outside, so on days like this, Koma won’t have to be sent out to help the athletic team, right?”

“….? Huh… You’re right, but… How is that a good thing…?”

“Isn’t that a very good thing? Because… I can spend my time like this with Koma. Letting me relax like this with Koma together while listening to the sound of rainfall… I like it very much!”

“….!”

Well, I know I said this morning, “I hate the rain” and “I hate the rainy season,” but there are many good things about the rain, too.

When I say something like that in an appropriate manner, Koma’s eyes widen and she looks at me with a surprised expression. Eh? What happened?

“…Nee-sama, you’re amazing.”

“……..Haa?”

I got praised by her suddenly. No, I’m happy about that, but what happened to her…

“Usually… as Nee-sama said… You might end up thinking and end with ‘I don’t like the rain!’ because the rain is hard, but…”

“Eh, is that how it is?”

“Yes… But, Nee-sama is not like me… You don’t simply just hate it… You also properly understand the rain’s good points… And you also have wonderful ideas… You’re amazing, Nee-sama…”

“U, un? Re-Really…? Thank you alot…”

I’m not sure what part of it tugged at her heartstrings, but Koma is truly impressed by something I said… I’m sorry, Koma. Onee-chan just said what she thought at the moment… I didn’t think about it that much… I can’t say that now.

“… (*Mumble*)… That’s right, isn’t it… It’s not the rain or the thing itself that is bad… Enough dilly-dallying… I too need to… overcome it…”

“Leaving that aside, Koma. You’re tired, aren’t you? You’ve been kind of dozing off… You also seem ill…”

“Eh…? No, that’s… I am fine! I was up till late yesterday… So I think I didn’t sleep enough today.”

Koma answers in a slurred manner. Lack of sleep? Aaah… That’s why Koma has been absent-minded today.

“Really? Are you sure it’s not insomnia? Must be rough… If you can’t take it anymore, then we can go to the hospita—”

“It’s okay. I’m really healthy. I’m sure I’ll be better once I get a good night’s sleep once I come back home… Leaving me aside, Nee-sama. I’d like to eat the snacks Nee-sama has made… Is that okay?”

Koma points and begs for the snacks I prepared. Hnm… If she’s too tired then I think she should go home as earlier as possible to get some rest.

“I’m sure I’ll feel refreshed once I eat the snacks that Nee-sama filled with her love… Can’t I eat them?”

“U, un, I got it. As soon as we eat them, we go home and take a rest, Koma. Don’t push yourself too much, okay?”

“Yes, I understand.”

Koma is looking forward to the snacks, and I’m a little worried about Koma, but she says she’s okay… Then, surely she’s okay… right?

In fact, unlike earlier, when she was just sitting there blankly, Koma is now showing me her wonderful smile as usual… Un, from the looks of it, she looks great.

“By the way, Nee-sama. What are today’s snacks?”

“Etto, I made some sweets that are typical of June. It’s ‘Minazuki’ traditional sweets from Kyoto, and they’re supposed to be eaten on July 30th… I’ve wanted to make them.“ (TN: https://www.jpsmart-club.com/minazuki-wagashi/

Just to be safe, I should cut the club activities as soon as we finish the snack, go home quickly, and give my Koma a proper rest.

“Then, Koma… Are we going to do the usual…? If you’re going to eat the snacks… You have to get your taste buds back, right?”

“Yes! A quick kiss as usual, right… Please take care of me, Nee-sama♪”

Afterwards, we kissed each other in the club room as usual (needless to say, Koma’s lips were very tasty♡), and after Koma’s taste buds were restored, we, the Tachibana sisters, enjoyed tea and sweets while making out.

…… I think about this later. At this point, I should have noticed something wrong with Koma and taken action.

Leave a comment