HS Chapter 29: The hopeless sister cleans.

“”….What the heck is this…?””

“…Uuu…”

With joined hands Koma and I, the twins, quickly finished our usual work at the Seijokai and came back to our house together.

“Am-Amazing, Nee-sama…  This is…”

“Un, it’s amazing, isn’t it? It looks artistic in a way… So? What happened to make this horrible scene, Aunty?”

“… I’m truly sorry.”

What awaited us is… Aunty Meiko the guardian of us the Tachibana sisters and,

“The dressing room… it’s filled with bubbles…”

“I know, there’s nothing but bubbles. I’ve been doing the housework for a long time… But, this is the worst accident I’ve ever seen.”

“… Sorry.”

It was covered in white foam like being on a cloud, it’s what used to be called a dressing room. Now, what I’ll do about this.

“What happened, Aunty. I can’t understand unless you explain it.”

“I’ve finished my work, and since I had free time, I thought I’d help out with the housework for the first time in a while… But, this is what happened when I did laundry.”

“Laundry, is it…? Laundry…”

The source of the foam is apparently the washing machine. White foam is continuously pouring out of the drain and lid of the washing machine and seems to be spreading throughout the dressing room. When I asked her about it in detail, because the clothes had been piling up due to the rain, unlike her she did it voluntarily.

… But the result was a failure, and it somehow became this ugly mess.

“No, no, no, wait… If you just did laundry it wouldn’t end up like this. Why did it become like this? What else did you do, Aunty?”

“I wonder if the washing machine got broken…?”

“…. I also don’t get it. I’m sorry, this shouldn’t have happened… I really don’t understand how it became like this… What happened to make it like this, Mako…?”

Aunty asks me while apologizing with tears in her eyes. U-n… Even if you ask me, I don’t really know either. What the hell did she do?

The only thing I can think of is that she used the wrong amount of detergent or… She packed too many, or possibly the machine broke down as Koma said…?

No, I feel that it’s hard to imagine making this much of a mess in the dressing room. What kind of hilarious things do I have to add in the washing machine to—

“—- I just put in soap, body soap, bubble bath in addition to detergent, but how the hell did this happen!?”

“That’s it!? No matter how you look at it, that’s the source of this mess!?”

A ridiculous disposition comes out from Aunty’s mouth. Of course this would happen, with the source confirmed.

“Oi, Aunty… Leaving aside the soap, why would you mix bubbles into it when you want to wash clothes? It’s too much of a waste…”

“Eh, I thought it would remove a lot of filth…”

“Aah, Aunt-sama’s feelings… I might understand them a little.”

“Look here, you two.”

Koma agrees with Aunty’s idea out of concern… Some detergents are really dangerous when mixing them together so please do it more carefully. I don’t keep anything dangerous in my house that I wouldn’t want to be mixed up just in case for when Aunty does something like this.

But, I’ll tell both of them later— I’ll have to give Aunty good guidance later.

As I listen to Aunty and unconsciously sigh greatly confused at this, she calls out to me fearfully.

“Are you angry?”

“He? What for?”

“No, that… I screwed up by adding so much… I was wondering if you’re mad at me, Mako…”

“Haaa?”

Aunty seems to be scared thinking that I’m being mad at her. To be honest, I feel very uncomfortable right now, because she is usually unprincipled, selfish, and self-satisfied. 

It seems this failure shook her up a lot. Sigh, she’s too incoherent.

“I’m not angry. You didn’t do it on purpose, so why do I have to get angry at Aunty…”

“But, but…”

I’m dumbfounded, not angry. She’s done something you’re not used to and this is a mistake bound to happen. It was an acceptable failure for Aunty, who is catastrophically bad at all household chores, so there is nothing to be upset about.

… Rather, I don’t care if it’s Koma doing it, it’s just too uncomfortable for Aunty to have such an ill-fitting, small-animal frightened attitude, and it’s kind of creepy and weird and scary, so if possible, please stop now.

“In the first place, Aunty tried to do the laundry to lessen our burden, right?”

“Aaah. That’s right…”

“Then I should be grateful, not angry about it. Certainly the result may have been a failure, but I’m glad that Aunty tried to do the housework by herself. It will be fine if you use this experience to be more careful in the future.”

I think this will be a good lesson for her. I’d be happy if Aunty could gradually get used to housework, and if she could think that housework is fun too. 

“I agree with Nee-sama, Aunt-sama. Everyone makes mistakes, and I think you should be more diligent next time.”

“Yes, that’s right. There’s a saying failure is the key to success.”

“You girls…! Sorry… And thank you!”

The kind and angelic Koma encourages Aunty too. Aunty seemed to be impressed by us, the twins’ follow-up, and her face became brighter and brighter.

I’m glad she’s back as she usually is.

“Let’s just clean it up for now, Aunty. If we don’t clean then the three of us wouldn’t be able to take a bath today. So, Aunty, would you bring a towel and a bucket?”

“…Eh? I have to do it, too?”

“Oi, wait a bit. Isn’t that obvious?”

Did this hag intend to leave the cleaning just to me…? How brazen for the person that caused this very mess…

Well, I guess this is just proof that she returned to the usual Aunty. Her returning to the same is also a puzzle.

“Etto… Nee-sama? How are you going to clean this place? I’d like to help with the cleaning, too… What should I do?”

I’m smiling bitterly at Aunty’s words and Koma offers help to clean it as well. What a sweet girl you are, Koma, unlike a certain someone. Onee-chan is moved.

…. Now, what should I do? If it’s possible, I don’t want to waste Koma’s concern.

I don’t want to, but…

“No, it’s fine, Koma. Me and Aunty are enough for cleaning this mess. I think we’ll be done soon. Leaving it aside, Koma—- Can I ask you to prepare the food? I’d like for you to line up the chopsticks, tableware and lay out the mat.”

I can’t let the tired Koma do manual work. I’ll manage it somehow together with Aunty, and I’ll have Koma do less strenuous work.

“Yes, I understand. Then, I’ll change my clothes ahead of you. I’ll do the preparations after I change my clothes.”
“Thank you, I’ll leave that to you. I’ll be making a delicious meal after I finish cleaning here, so look forward to it!”

“Fufu♪ Yes, I’ll look forward to it. Then, I’ll excuse myself, Nee-sama and Aunt-sama. I’ll leave this to you two.”

After saying that, Koma bowed to me and my aunt, then went upstairs. I can’t keep Koma waiting, so I have to quickly finish here.

“Then, Aunty, you’ll clean it up with me. Follow my instructions, okay?”

“Yeees….”

“What is it, Aunty with that half-hearted response… Well, it’s fine. Anyhow, we need to remove the foam first. Aunty, like I said earlier, bring me a bucket.”

“…? Hey, Mako, where is the bucket?”

“………….”

You’re the house owner and you don’t know…

“Aah, I get it. I’ll get the stuff ready, while you move the stuff in the changing room that shouldn’t get wet to another place.”

“Hm, understood.”

She replied with a lack of motivation, but still felt some responsibility. Aunty listens to what I say albeit reluctantly. As always she’s polite in the strangest ways… It would be nice if you’d usually listen to me this much.

“… Now that I think about it, Mako. Sorry to interrupt, but… There’s something that’s been bothering me ever since you girls got back, if you don’t mind me asking.”

“Hm? What is it? What’s wrong, Aunty?”

While I was preparing a bucket, a rag, and some newspapers to keep the water and moisture out, Aunty was carrying a hairdryer and a comb, while looking at the stairs leading to the second floor where My and Koma’s room were, and talking to me with a strange expression on her face.

Something that bothered her? I wonder what it is?

“Ah, no. I may be imagining it, and I’m sorry if I’m wrong…”

“Un, what?”

“… Is there something wrong with Koma…?”

“Oooh?”

I’m a little surprised by Aunty’s question. As expected of Aunty. You’re bad at housework, but you’ve been a guardian to me and Koma for years, so you noticed Koma’s discomfort right away.

I’m a little impressed with Aunty and I reply while handing her the bucket.

“So you understand that Koma is feeling off today… As expected.”

“Yeah.Somehow she was acting differently today from usual…  Rather, there is something wrong with Koma then?”

“Hmmm… I wonder? Koma told me herself ‘She didn’t get enough sleep.’ I also said, ‘Sleep well and you’ll feel better soon’.”

“Fuun, lack of sleep… is it?”

My aunt mumbles in doubt as she scoops up foam in a bucket. She seems to be really worried about her, and I was honestly happy to know that she cares about Koma.

“… Maybe Koma hasn’t been able to sleep recently? If that’s the case, I can recommend her supplements or medicines that I have…”

“Oh no, it’s not like she has insomnia. According to Koma, she just stayed up late last night. And because of that Koma somehow wasn’t able to concentrate on the club activities and she seems to be a little tired…”

“…Hooo? I see now. That’s why you girls came earlier today than usual.”

“Umu. Hm… I think I’m a bit overprotective, too. But during the club activities, Koma was making a lot of mistakes that she normally wouldn’t make, so I was a little worried about her… So I quickly finished club activities and we came home.”

Without taking a break from cleaning, I report to Aunty in a quiet voice so that Koma, who has gone upstairs, cannot hear what happened today. 

Aunty nods at my report.

“I think that’s an unusually wise and sensible decision for Mako. Then, she should properly rest. Don’t underestimate lack of sleep. In general, if you don’t get enough sleep for a long time, it can lead to depression, and of course, it’s also not good for your health.”

“That’s correct… Wait a bit, Aunty. What do you mean by unusual, Aunty!?”

“Eh…?  I don’t know how to answer even if you ask me that…? The usual Mako is that….”

Please don’t make it sound as if I’m usually insane and only think about stupid things. You’re extremely rude, you hag.

“Leaving that aside. Quickly put Koma to sleep today and see what happens tomorrow.”

“Hm, I understand. Well then,  we’d better finish cleaning quickly and get ready for dinner and a bath.”

Leaving her rude remarks aside. As Aunty says, I’ll have to take Koma early to bed as a precaution.

“Now… We’ve cleaned up most of the bubbles, Aunty. Can I have a towel to wipe the wet places? I need to get started on making dinner soon.”

We finished dealing with the bubbles while talking. The rest is wiping down the floor and the washing machine with a rag and laying down newspapers in the corners and damp areas will do the trick for now.

It’s as much as Aunty can do on her own, so I’ll leave her to it and I’ll go make dinner.

“Ooh, I got it. Just wiping it, is that okay?”

“Un. When I’m done cooking dinner, I’ll come back and help you with that, too. Until then, I’m sorry, but you’re on your own, Aunty.”

“Okay! I’ll just do it.”

“Oi, it’s not just, do it properly. Aaah, also, don’t worry about redoing the laundry, I’ll do that later today. Just make sure you wipe the floor clean, Aunty.”

“Uuuah!?”

“Hhm?”

When I made such a suggestion, for some reason, Aunty looked away again with the same awkward expression on her face as before. What is it this time?

“Why are you looking away, Aunty. What did you do?”

“Ah, no, that’s… It’s… about the laundry…”

“Eh, what? Don’t tell me… You’re still worried about the earlier failure?”

I wonder if she’s unexpectedly more timid than I thought, still dwelling on her earlier failure. It’s unlike Aunty. I couldn’t help but chuck and follow up on her.

“Come on, already. You don’t have to worry about it at all.”

“Ehm… No, actually… I haven’t told Mako yet… There’s one more thing I think I might have done wrong with the laundry…”

“Eh? What could that be? Jeez… You’re really hopeless at housework.”

Apparently, she has hidden another failure. Sigh… Aunty can’t be saved.

“So? What is it? Please tell me, Aunty.”

“… You won’t get angry, Mako?”

“What are you saying at this point. Like I said earlier, if you didn’t do it on purpose then I won’t be mad.”

“You really won’t get angry…?”

“Yes, I won’t get angry.”

“Will you promise that you won’t get angry…?”

She was really insistent and kept repeating “You won’t get angry, will you?” over and over.

Are you a child scared of getting scolded or what?


“Fine, I do. I promise that I won’t get angry. That’s why, hurry up and tell me, Aunty.”

“…. I get it.”

I smile and say “I won’t get angry” to lower her guard. I don’t know how narrow-minded Aunty thinks I am. I don’t get angry over the slightest thing.

After I promised her that I would never get angry with her, she finally gave up and opened the lid of the washing machine,

“The truth is…”

“Unun.”

Then she took out what was in it with trepidation and says

“The truth is… I shrunk the sweater which Koma cherished so much…”

“YOU ****** HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAG!”

“See, you’re angry! As I thought! Didn’t you promise that you wouldn’t get angry!?”

“This and that are two different things!”

She took out Koma’s favorite sweater, which had shrunk nearly a size due to rough and messy washing. 

Whatsoever… I’ve knitted it for Koma and I’ve put my heart and soul in it…. You’ve done it now, Aunty…

“Rather, you should’ve told me this important fact first, Aunty! They say the longer you wait, the harder it is to restore these things… Why did you stay quiet till now!?”

“I’m sure Mako would’ve been angry if I told you.”
“I’m angry! Really angry! But… Naturally I would be more upset if you hid and kept it from me, you housework garbage woman!”

I grabbed her by the chest with tears in my eyes, and she grabbed me back with tears in her eyes.

“This is why I didn’t want to tell you! I told you I feel bad for it!? You told me you wouldn’t get angry so what are you doing!?”

“Gyakugire!? Are you a child!?” (TN: I’ll use gyakugire since I don’t know the english term for an offender being mad at the victim.)

I’m the one who should be crying and be angry, you idiot! You hagg… I won’t let this one pass today, you old hag!

“I can’t take it anymore! I’ll settle it today with you, Aunty!”

“Yeah, if that’s what you want, stupid sister.”

Aunty and I quickly grabbed a bucket of bubbles that we had just cleaned up nearby and stared each other down as we fought.

We were closing in on each other, looking for openings…

*Splash*

““Dieeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!””

Me who flipped vs Gyakugire Aunty. As soon as we heard a drop of water spilling from the faucet in the changing room, both of us threw the contents of the bucket at the other as hard as we could, and then——

“Ne-Nee-sama!? Also, Aunt-sama!? Ehm… What are you two doing….?”

“Koma! Listen to this! This hopeless housework BBA!”

“Who’s a baba, you stupid sister!”

“Both of you… What are you doing with all of that bubble? Also… The dressing room seems to have become worse than before…?”

And like that. Aunty and I had a catfight in the changing room, covered in foam, until Koma came down from upstairs to see what was going on and stopped and quieted us down. We had just cleaned up the changing room, but because of this fight, we had to clean it all over again.

After that, I, who usually go to bed before 10:00 a.m. regularly, was so busy restoring Koma’s sweater that had shrunk, preparing dinner, breakfast and lunch for tomorrow, and cleaning up the changing room, that I ended up going to bed after midnight.

Aaah… I’ll definitely be sleep deprived tomorrow…

I intended to fix Koma’s sleep deprivation but why did I become sleep deprived as well. I made a firm promise to myself that I would make sure that Aunty was trained to do the housework under my strict supervision. 

One comment

  1. ka_wa_ru47 · July 12, 2021

    I guess she might be sick tomorrow. Thank you for the chapter TL!

    Like

Leave a comment