HS Chapter 45: The hopeless sister, learns by heart.

Dr. Chiyuri, Koma’s doctor, had suggested that Koma and I study at the clinic if we were looking for a place to focus on our studies.

We were reluctant at first, but we eventually gave in to the doctor’s persistent invitation. Yesterday and today, we stayed overnight in the clinic, and we are studying for our final exams in the waiting room of the clinic.

“You’re doing very well, Nee-sama. If you can solve this many problems, you don’t have to worry about the final exam this time.”

“Ahaha. It’s thanks to my personal tutor’s excellent teaching skills.”

“Having Nee-sama say that it makes me very happy. It paid off teaching you.”

We spent the whole morning studying math, my weakest subject, and at noon, Dr. Chiyuri and Sayuri-san treated us to lunch and then we studied hard again in the afternoon.
Like this, I was able to study under the guidance of Koma’s easy to understand explanations, and finally I was able to solve most of the basic sentence problems in mathematics, which had been my weak point.
It seems I’m doing pretty well with my studies, just like what Koma is saying.

“We’ll stop with math around here for today, so let’s take a short break and then start studying other subjects for a change of pace. No matter how hard you study math, if you neglect your other subjects and get red marks in those, then you’ll be back at zero.”

“That’s right, isn’t it? We’ll take a short break, then. Thank you for the work, Koma.”

“Yes, good work to you Nee-sama, too.”

Koma while monitoring my state of concentration and fatigue, she has been adjusting the pace of my work by taking appropriate breaks and changing subjects. If I had done it alone, I probably would have continued to study in a lazy and useless way, or I would have studied unevenly in different subjects, so I’m really grateful to her.

“Thanks to Koma, who manages my schedule and teaches me how to study, I’m able to study easily. I feel that I’m learning a lot.”

“Is that true? … I’m helpful to Onee-sama?”

“Naturally! Thank you so much, Koma!”

“Aah… Ehehehe♪”

When I caress her head in gratitude, Koma smiles with her whole face pleasantly and lets me caress her… Un, cute. Koma has always liked me doing this to her.  And she told me that this somehow makes her feel relieved.

Surely, this won’t be enough to thank her for teaching me how to study, but I’ll at least caress Koma until she’s satisfied.

*Knock*, *Knock*, *Knock*.

“Mako-chan, Koma-chan! Can I enter?”

“Ah, yes! It’s okay!”

“Eh!?… No… That…”

Just as I am thinking this, there is a knock at the waiting room door, just like in the morning. This voice… It belongs to Dr. Chiyuri. I quickly pull back my hand from caressing Koma and greet Dr. Chiyuri.

“Good work, you two. I came to check on you♪ How is it? Are your studies going well?”

“Yes! I’m feeling pretty good about my studies, thanks to you. Thank you for all you do for us, Dr. Chiyuri!”

I give my thanks to Dr. Chiyuri who appeared. I’m grateful to Koma, of course, but I also have to be grateful to Dr.Chiyuri and Sayuri-san.

They gave me a place to study, sleep over, and even prepared meals for me… Most importantly,  they come and check on me and Koma from time to time to see if we’re studying properly.

“After all, if it’s just the two of us, we lose focus on studying… I’m so grateful to you two that come and check on us.”

Just the other day, we tried to study in Koma’s room, but we just flirted with each other and ended the day without studying. That’s why it’s most helpful for us Tachibana sisters to have the doctor and Sayuri-san come to check on us regularly like this.

“Ey! Koma also thinks that!”

“… That’s right.”

“Hm? Koma?”

I sought for Koma to agree with me, but for some reason, she was sitting next to me and pouting…. I don’t know how to describe her, but Koma with cheeks all puffed looks like a hamster. My god, my little sis, like a small animal, is ultra cute.

“Oh, my, my…? Koma-chan? Why is Koma staring at me like I’m her parent’s enemy?… Did I do something?”

“…. Fufu, what are you talking about? I’m not angry at you at all, doctor Chiyuri. How could I be angry with the doctor who has been so good to me?… (*Mumble*) You’ve just interrupted Nee-sama caressing me, but”

“… Ah, I get it. Sorry, Koma-chan. I’m sorry for my bad timing, okay?”

“???… Ehm, what are Koma and the doctor talking about?”

“… Nothing at all, Nee-sama. Don’t worry about it.”

“She’s right. Mako-chan has nothing to worry about.”

Is that so? She tells me she said nothing, but… Did I imagine Koma’s mood being slanted?

“… And then? What can we do for you, Doctor Chiyuri? If you just came to check on us, please don’t worry. As you see, Nee-sama and I are both able to concentrate on our studies… The doctor is busy as well, am I right? You may go upstairs now. Right now.”

With a slightly stiff smile, Koma advises the doctor. Mu… It’s true that she’s a doctor, and even if it’s a holiday, he’s probably still busy.

Originally, she shouldn’t even have time to visit us. In that case, isn’t it bad that she’s spending time here.

“Koma is right. Dr. Chiyuri, as Koma said, we are doing fine. Our studies are going well, and our concentration hasn’t wavered at all today.”

“See, Nee-sama is also saying it. Please go back to work, Doctor Chiyuri♪ Go, off you go…!”

“… Wa-Wait a moment, Koma-chan. I have some business with you two. I want to talk to you two. So don’t push and turn me away, please just listen to me.”

Koma gently pushes the doctor’s back and tries to send her back upstairs, but Dr. Chiyuri hurriedly says something like that. Talk…? What does she want to talk about? Maybe she wants to say ‘It’s about time you girls go back home.’?

If she says that, we’ll be a bit troubled… I’m feeling pretty good right now, and if possible, I hope she’ll let us continue studying a little longer…

“Doctor, what do you want to talk about with us?”

“… Please keep it short, doctor Chiyuri.”

“Un. I came to apologize to you two.”

“”Eh…?””

I’m a little bewildered by what she wants to say, which is completely different from what I imagined. Apologize? Why? Why apologize? I have no clue at all…

“You see, Sayuri-chan got really angry with me earlier. She said ‘Doctor, you are teasing them too much!’”

“Etto… Sayuri-san did?”

“She got angry….?”

I remembered when the doctor said that. Now that she reminds me, when Sayuri-san brought us a cup of tea earlier, she said, ‘I’ll scold the doctor later’… She’s a very disciplined woman… It would’ve been fine since we didn’t mind it.

“‘I don’t mind how much you like the two of them, but don’t you feel embarrassed to tease junior high school students? If you overdo it then those two girls will eventually hate you…. Do you really want to get apprehended for sexually harassing junior high school students? I won’t know anything if they complain against you.’ I was scolded by her harshly…. I’m extremely sorry to the two of you. Now that I think, maybe I went overboard. Please forgive me.”

The doctor bows to us. If she says something like that, it makes me feel even worse.

“Ah, no. It’s okay, doctor. As I told Sayuri-san earlier, I know from the beginning that the doctor is a kind person despite her mischievousness. You don’t have to worry about it.”

“… Same for me… I don’t hate… the doctor…”

“Really? Then, will you forgive me?”

“Ahaha! We’re not angry with you at all! Right, Koma?”

“… I’m not angry with you, either… I have a lot of things I want you to fix, however…”

“Is that so? Thank you, Koma-chan and Mako-chan!”

Once again, we convey our feelings in front of her. We’ve always been loved by the doctor, so there’s no way we’re gonna hate her now.

“Hm…? By the way, doctor, did you come all the way here to talk about that by any chance?

“No, I’ll start talking about the main subject now.  I thought I’d tell you something nice to make up for the trouble I caused you both.”

“”Something nice…?””

This time, the doctor switched from apologizing and started talking happily.

“Yesterday, when I saw Koma-chan and Mako-chan studying hard, it reminded me of my school days. At night, Sayuri-chan and I had a lot of fun talking about our past.”

“Haa… And?”

“During our talk, we talked about the time when Sayuri-chan and I had a study session for the final exam together, just like Koma-chan and Mako-chan are doing now…At that time Sayuri-chan, told me ‘I got through the final exams by using a memorization method that my doctor developed where you would never forget.’”

“”A memorization method where you can’t forget!?”

Amazing… Such a method exists!?

“I remembered it too when Sayuri-chan mentioned it. I remembered that I made such a method… That’s why I came here to apologize for earlier and to teach the memorization method to Koma-chan, who is Mako-chan’s tutor.”

Oooh…! This is really a godsend. We were just going to start studying the subjects that require memorization, and if I could learn a great method to memorize them that I would never forget, then I would have won this term.

“So, Koma-chan, can you lend me your ears for a bit♪”

“Haa….”

Koma listens attentively to what Dr. Chiyuri says for some reason. Koma is listening to Dr. Chiyuri and then,

“So, when she memorizes—Do this”

“Nna!? Wha-Wha-What!?”

“I said—-. Simple, right?”

“…. Are you serious!? No, are you sane…? Nee-sama and I doing —–? Rather, is that really effective?” (TN: Don’t ask me, I don’t know what they’re talking about either.)

“Un♪ It’s very effective. Because if she can’t remember it once, she can’t remember it again. So she does it over and over again until she learns it, and even if she doesn’t like it, she will learn it. Koma-chan is happy too, right? After all, it gives a reason to Koma-chan to do—– with Mako-chan.”

“… I-I-m not going to den-y that, but… No, what are you making me say, doctor!?”

Halfway in their talk, Koma turns bright red and gets flustered. What kind of memory method is she teaching Koma….? 

“I wonder, hmm. Well, now that I’ve told you, I’m going to get out of your way, so I’ll get going. Mako-chan and Koma-chan, do your best! Enjoy yourselves♪”

“Ah, yes. Thank you for your help, doctor.”

After we finished talking, the doctor waved her hand to us and left the waiting room. All that’s left is me and Koma, who’s still blushing like an apple.

“Now that we’ve had enough rest, we should go back to studying, Koma. Since she went out of her way, let’s try the memorization method that the doctor taught you.”

“Eeh!?… Ah, yes. That’s right…. (*Mumble*, *Mumble*)… This is for Nee-sama to remember… It’s for her sake… It’s for her. That’s right… I have no selfish desires…”

“….? Koma, what’s wrong?”

“Nothing! There’s nothing wrong, Nee-samaa!”

She takes a few deep breaths to calm herself down, and then she teaches me the memorization method she learned from the doctor.

“Eh, you see, Nee-sama. According to doctor Chiyuri, ‘Human memory is more likely to retain things that contain shocking, painful, embarrassing, or involve joy, anger, sorrow, or angry emotions in them’”

“Fumu. That makes sense.”

… Koma’s trauma is a good example of that. Six years later and it’s still something she hasn’t forgotten.

“In other words, it is easy to remember what you are interested in and what you like, but it is hard to remember what you don’t feel. Basically, her theory is that there is an inseparable relationship between memory and emotion.”

“Un, un, I get that. So?”

“… I’ll tell you the memory method of the doctor…”

After saying that much, Koma takes deep breaths again. Then, with a determined look on her face, she continues.

“About it, to summarize what she said… Every time the doctor and Sayuri-sama had to remember something, they did something together.”

“Did? Did something… What?”

“…. They kissed.”

“Hee, I see, they kissed…. Un?”

…. Kiss?

“That’s why… They used to kiss each other on the mouth every time they learned a word or something they needed to remember. When they did that, they wouldn’t forget…”

“… Sorry, wait a bit, Koma. Onee-chan’s head is bad so she doesn’t understand…”

Why kiss…? I feel like the conversation has suddenly gone off in a direction I don’t understand. I’m lost… As an ordinary person, I have no idea what smart people think…

“I explained it to you earlier. I said that memories of shocking or embarrassing experiences that affect people’s emotions are likely to remain.”

“Un. You did…”

“That’s why… It’s both shocking and embarrassing… Kissing, if done during memorization, you’ll remember naturally… That’s all.”

“I see, I understand.”

I’m in trouble… I’m sure it was explained in a way that was easy for Koma to understand, but it still doesn’t make sense for me…

“But, Koma? That memorization method is so shocking, I feel like it’s going to blow my memory of everything, including the things I need to remember…”

“Well, you see…! In fact, I heard that Sayuri-sama used this memorization method to get through various exams…!”

“Seriously!?”

I feel like the doctor’s story is suddenly getting a little fishy, however… If that earnest and sincere-looking Sayuri-san was also doing it, then the effect must be real.

But, still kissing while studying for final exams…

“And then… How about it, Nee-sama…? Do you want to try the… method taught by the doctor…?”

“No, well… As expected, that’s a bit…”

“auu… I knew it. Nee-sama kissing me… she hates it…” 

“hu!??”

Whatcha saying!? It’s not that I hate it but rather it’s too perfect for me!? It sounds too good where I can study for exams and kiss my beloved little sis!

“No, you’re wrong! It’s not that I don’t want to do it and I don’t mind doing it, I actually want to do it or get down on my knees and do it all if I could! …. But, I want you to let me do it… I just thought that Koma wouldn’t like the idea of me kissing her even at a time like this, when you’re kissing this hopeless sister every meal every day—-”

“I’ve never hated it!”

“Fue..!?”

Koma denies my words in a very loud voice. She doesn’t hate it… ? Could it be… Koma feels the same way I do…?

“Koma…? You said you don’t hate it… What do you mean?”

“Ah, that… I’m Nee-sama’s tutor! If I can help Nee-sama study for your test, I’ll gladly give you a kiss or anything! Besides, Nee-sama? We’re always kissing each other. So… I’m used to it, and now it’s a bit… there’s nothing uneasy or discomfort about it…”

“Is that so… Yeah! Ahaha!”

… She’s used to it… Well, yeah, guess so. From the point of view of the idiosyncratic Koma, this is like a normal greeting.

It’s just that I’m feeling a little too conscious about it… I knew from the start that you had no  romantic pulse my love…

“Then… If it’s fine with Koma. For now, we can try it out, Koma.”

“Yes… Please treat me well, Nee-sama.”
“Same here, Koma.”

Whatever! I’m happy to kiss Koma in any way I can. I quickly get into the swing of things and take Koma’s hot lips— So that I’m going to try to memorize the words for the final exam.

“And… How do we exactly do the method?”

“Etto… About it. First, I ask you a few questions, and if you can’t answer or make a mistake, then… We kiss each other. We’ll begin with… English words that are likely to be asked this time, Nee-sama.”

“Un-Understood.”

“Then, I’m starting. Please state the words that I’ll say in English. First is… ‘望む’” (TN: So that we get better structure, I’ll post the kanji when Koma and Mako mentions them like this. This one means hope/wish/yearn.)

望む… Etto, what was it…

“Etto… etoo… Sorry, Koma, I don’t know…”
“The answer is ‘hope’. Then… Unfortunately, Nee-sama doesn’t know the answer… Is it fine for me to do it?”
“Un… Please, Koma”


I thought about it for a long time and no answer came to mind, so I am already in the process of kissing her from the first question… No, it’s not like you think? I seriously didn’t know the answer. 

It’s not like I pretended I didn’t know what the answer was on purpose to kiss Koma?—- I can’t help but mutter something in my mind like an excuse to someone I don’t know that I’m talking to.

“… Nee-sama, excuse me.”

As I was making my excuses, Koma’s lips and breath slowly approached me. That’s exactly what I’ve been doing every day for the past six years, and it seems to be a familiar thing for Koma,

“”Hnmn…””

She kisses me on the mouth, casually, yet gently touches me as if she cares about me.

Unlike usual, today’s kiss was not a kiss that would restore Koma’s taste buds. So this is a light kiss that doesn’t require tongue contact, just a light lip-to-lip contact, like you would do with family or close friends.

“(Koma’s lips… They’re so soft and feel pleasant…)”

… But, it doesn’t change the fact that I’m kissing my beloved little sis. The softness of Koma’s lips, the warmth, and the scent of Koma. All of that fills me up and makes my heart beat so fast that I think Koma can hear it.

“… Did you learn, Nee-sama? How do you write the word ‘望む’ in English?”

“U, un. ‘望む’ in English is hope, right?”

“Yup, correct, Nee-sama.”

She kisses me for about a minute, and then asks me a question as she removes her lips from mine. I was worried that the ardent kisses with Koma would make me forget all the words I would learn, but the words I had learned come out of me easily.

“… Certainly, this might be an amazing memory method. I’m pretty sure I won’t forget for a while…”

I can’t believe how simple it has become in my mind. I associated the word “望む” with the word “hope” in my mind and input the word successfully…

I thought the doctor was half-joking again… However, this memory method is surprisingly really effective!?

“Then, Nee-sama. Shall we keep doing this?”

“U, un… If Koma is fine with it, please…”

“I understand. Then, the next question. ‘驚く’, how do you write it in English?”

“Ettoo… What was it?”
“‘驚く’ is ‘be surprised’ in English. Nee-sama, may we do it again?”

“Un. Sorry for doing this many times, Koma.”

 I couldn’t answer again and Koma started to punish(reward) me for the second time.

“Nhu.. Koma…”

“Fu,nhm… Nee-sama…”

Like birds pecking at food, our lips touch each other lightly, yet rhythmically, over and over again.

… Since we always kiss each other with our tongues and exchange saliva, this kind of affectionate kissing feels new to me… What is this, I feel happy.

“… Fufufu.”

“? Koma…? Why are you smiling?”
“I’m sorry, Nee-sama. Looks like I’m having fun.”

“Fun…? Ah, Koma, too? Well… I’m starting to enjoy it too. If Aunty was here, she’d probably get mad at us again ‘Stop flirting and just study’ is what she’d yell at us…”

Apparently, Koma felt the same way, and we both couldn’t help but smile. If Koma allows it… It’s nice doing this once in a while…

“Now, Nee-sama. I hope you haven’t forgotten the original purpose of kissing? I’ll ask the question again. How do you write  ‘驚く’ in English?”

While laughing and smiling at each other like this, Koma asks me the question once again. 

That’s right, we’re kissing for that purpose. I need to remember the purpose and then the words I need to remember.

“Ahaha, naturally. It’s for memorization. I remember.  ‘驚く’ in English is written—-”

*Slide*…

“Ah….”

“”!??!?””

Just as I was about to answer Koma’s question… Suddenly, I and Koma hear a voice of a person in the waiting room, which should’ve been empty except for me and Koma. Surprised, we quickly part our lips from each other and look at the source of the voice… 

“Err…. H-Hello, Koma-san and Mako-san…”

“Sa-Sayuri-san……?”

She was there frozen on the spot, her face flushed red, holding a tray of really delicious-looking cookies and tea, staring at us… It’s Dr. Chiyuri’s nurse Sayuri-san.

… Eh, hold on!? When did you arrive here, Sayuri-san…!? Don’t tell me… She saw… the two of us kissing…!?

“I’m sorry, you two…. That, that. It’s 15:00… So I thought I should bring you some cookies and tea… I came to bring you cookies I baked… It seems I’ve disturbed you…”

“No, about that… Sayuri-san? I’m really grateful for the snacks— But, when did you—”

“It’s okay! I-I… I didn’t see anything! I saww nothing!”

Hahaha! I’m sure that reaction is the kind of thing you’d expect from someone who’s just watched a kissing scene between twin sisters, isn’t it, Sayuri-san? She has seen us… Sayuri-san saw us doing it….!

“Wait, Sayuri-sama!? You misunder— I can’t say that, but it isn’t what it looks like!?”

“I-I didn’t see anything and I definitely have nothing to tell anyone, so don’t worry! Th-Then… Please excuse me!”

Faithfully placing the tray on our desk, Sayuri-san bowed while turning bright red and dashed upstairs.

“”……””

There is an awkward atmosphere between Koma and I, who remained in the waiting room. Aah… I’m surprised to death…

…. Ah, now that I’m reminded, ‘驚いた’ is ‘be surprised’… I’m glad… I may have embarrassed myself, but I think I’ve learned a few words thanks to it…

“… It was so embarrassing… I’m pretty sure I won’t forget the word I just learned for a long time…”

“… I would personally like that this never happened and it’s just forgotten about…”

In a way, this memorization method was extremely effective. Because of the risk involved, I’ve added a condition that if we do it again, we must do it only ‘when we’re alone’.

【Remaining days to exams: 4】

One comment

  1. travistann · September 7, 2021

    Hi Tintanton, I noticed you have been translating novels for quite some time and I was wondering if you would be interested in joining Travis Translations? We are a group of translators that translate Korean, Japanese, and Chinese novels. We have all sorts of novel genres on our website and an ever-growing community. We have low requirements on updates schedule (you can almost post at any time you like to) and you are free to translate whatever you want while making money through the ad revenue generated on the translations you post. We also provide Diamond Pay per Chapter System where you can make more money based on advanced chapters. Ko-fi and Patreon buttons are also available at your disposal! If you have any questions, feel free to message me by joining up our discord group to contact me for a further discussion.https://discord.com/invite/jZqwcz7

    Like

Leave a comment