HS Chapter 75: The hopeless sister does a dropkick.

“… Damn. I just got that new security stuff the other day, she’s cruel… she’s so… Now, I’ll have to buy new ones again…”

‘Don’t bring this dangerous stuff to school, you idiot.’ my homeroom teacher threw lightning at me and squeezed me tightly as she warned me.

And she didn’t just get mad at me, she also gave me her knuckles… She’s too cruel considering she confiscated every single security item to protect my precious Koma twice…!? Do you have any idea how much those security goods cost, my teacher…?

“You have to buy new ones, you say… Even after being scolded so much by the teacher, Mako still hasn’t learned her lesson…”

“I, for one, admire you for your mental toughness, stubbornness, and how bad you are at accepting, which is more than a cockroach.”

“Well, I’m sure the teacher will confiscate it the next time you buy them again. I bet that, next month, Mako will see another full course of scolding after the teacher finds out and confiscates them again.”

“Next time, I’ll be careful not to get caught…. Rather, isn’t it strange!? As in the last month, there was another suspicious person nearby!? If that’s the case, I don’t think she should confiscate my security items!?”

“””That was overboard than just a security item, so of course they were going to be confiscated!”””

My friends tsukkomi me with bleak eyes despite my appeal from my soul.

Haa? More than just a security item…?

You don’t get it at all, you bastards… If I want to perfectly protect my precious little sis(my angel) from the clutches of thugs, prowlers, perverts, stalkers, etc., I have to be equipped at least that much  to fight…. 

“Gununu… Oh well. In the meantime, I’ll list them in order of priority, starting with the ones that have the highest priority…. First is, walkie-talkie with the highest priority… It’s okay that I still have spare tear gas spray in the house…. A stun gun if I can afford it…”

 No amount of lamenting or complaining to my classmates will bring back what has been confiscated, and there’s nothing more I can do about it. In tears, I consult with my wallet and try to write down what I needed in my notebook while mumbling.

Eetto… I cross-reference the list of products with the ones I used when I bought security goods last month… The total amount is—-

“Uun… This is a bit troublesome…”

I groan as I hold my head in my hands, realizing that the expense will be more than I imagined. You hag… This means I’ll be out of money for at least three months, if not next month… 

But I can’t ignore the suspicious person scare, and since the safety of my Koma is of utmost importance, I can’t turn my back on it. Since it has become like this, I’ll have to take a bit of my savings…

“Uun… It is troublesome…”
“…Hm?”

I’m staring at my wallet, wrinkling my brow and groaning, and next to me, a voice that groans just like mine echoes.

I looked at my neighbor to see what was going on, and there was my best friend with a difficult look on her face… Kanakana.

“Kanakana? What’s with the displeased look? Did something happen? Is Kanakana short on money, too?”
“Eh? Aah, Mako… No, I’m not short on money and it’s not a big deal, but… I’m trying to figure out what to do here.”
“Here?”

After saying that, Kanakana shows me a sheet of paper. I take a closer look at the paper… Etto, let’s see? Future career survey…?

“… I’m pretty sure that’s the one she gave out the other day. What’s wrong with it?”
“Look, that’s what the teacher said earlier during the morning assembly. ‘You have until tomorrow to fill out and submit your future career survey’. I haven’t written anything yet, so I’m in a bit of a hurry…”
“…. Eh? The teacher said that…?”

“……… Mako. You didn’t pay attention to the teacher at all, did you?”
“Umusu.”

The only thing I paid attention to was her notice of  suspicious persons… I spent the rest of the time thinking about the change of clothes for Koma, and I didn’t pay any attention to what the teacher said, but she did say something?

“….. I’m starting to worry more about Mako than about myself… Hey, Mako. Did you properly fill out your career survey? It’s going to be used for career guidance with your guardian next week… If you don’t write it down and turn it in properly, I’m sure the teacher will scold you again?”
“Ah, don’t worry about that, Kanakana. Because I turned it in the same day the teacher gave it to me.”

“The same day!? …. I see. Contrary to your appearance, you’re unexpectedly firm…”
“Yeah!”

I proudly tell Kanakana that I’ve already submitted to the teacher, since she’s worried about me instead of herself. I’ve already decided since I was a child what I want to do with my life. So I didn’t hesitate to submit it.

“For that matter, why the heck is Kanakana confused about it? If you can’t think of a particular school you want to attend, don’t worry about it so seriously and just write something appropriate?”

That’s right. If I remember right, this future career survey,

“I’m just trying to get an idea of what everyone’s aspirations are at this point. You don’t have to write down your third choice, and if you can’t think of anything, there’s no problem writing down what you’d like to do in the future. Write down your honest aspirations for the future.”

The teacher said something like that when she handed it out. That’s why there should be no problem for me to take it more easily.

“… Un, well, that’s true, but…”

However, I’m sure Kanakana is a diligent person at heart. Even though I gave her such advice, she didn’t lose her distressed expression.

No matter how much you’re told to take it easy, a future career survey is a very important thing that can affect your future after graduation. It’s no wonder Kanakana is seriously worried about it.

“…. (*Mumble*)… School I want to attend… If it’s attending together with the person I like… Then, I do have one… A certain someone… If only I knew where they wanted to attend… I wouldn’t be worried this much…”

“…? Kanakana, did you say something?”
“No, I said nothing… I was just talking to myself…”
“Is that so? Then, it’s fine… Well, anyhow. You can think about the future career survey later, it’s about time we move. Our first period will be held in a different room so we’ll be late if we don’t get moving.”

Even if she is struggling with it, it’s not something she has to write about soon. More importantly, class will start if she’s too slow. I told her to leave that for later and urged Kanakana to move. 

“Eh, move…? Now that I remember, you’re right… Yeah. It’s as Mako says, I’ll leave the career survey for later. I have to go immediately.”

“Un, that’s for better. Then, shall we go now? Come on, come. Don’t just chat, everyone, it’s about time we need to move!”

“””Yees!”””

That’s how. I had to leave the classroom with Kanakana and the other friends I had been chatting with in the classroom.

“Nevertheless, it’s really a pain in the ass. I’m actually the same as Kanae and I haven’t written my future career survey yet.”

“It’s the same for me too, since I really don’t know what I want to be. I’ve written down a list of high schools in the area on my questionnaire… I mean, we’re still in our 2nd year, right? I think it’s not necessary to think about the future right now.”

“That’s right. I don’t know what I want to do or what I want to be… It just tires me out.”

On the way.  Perhaps having heard what Kanakana and I had said earlier, my friends also started talking about their career paths .Just as some people, like Kanakana, have serious doubts, and others, like me, have decided what they want to do… There are some people, like these girls, who don’t have any particular thoughts at the moment, so it really seems to be up to each person.

“It’s not like I don’t understand how everyone feels but I think you should properly take into consideration things like this.”

“I know. I agree with Kanakana. If you choose a high school or something randomly, you’ll regret it later.”

“Eeh, I see… Aren’t Mako, Kanakana and the teacher a bit hasty? Why don’t you think about that in your third year?”
“If you start thinking about your career now, you will have more time and more options than if you rush to think about it in your third year, right? At least, it wouldn’t do you any harm if you set a vague goal for now… Well, I’m the one who’s saying that, but I’m still trying to decide what my future goals are and what school I want to attend, so I don’t have the right to speak so proudly.”

Kanakana speaks to everyone with a wry smile. My, my. I think it’s a very compelling talk from Kanakana, because she’s someone who’s seriously worried and thinking about it.

“…. By the way, Mako?”
“Hm? What is it, Kanakana?”

“I’m sorry to rush you, but… You certainly said that ‘I gave my future career survey’, right?”

“Un, that’s right. I already know what I want to do in the future!… So? What about it?”
“I see…. Then… This is for reference… What you want to do in future… or which school Mako wants to attend… If you could tell me… I’d be very happy…”

“Huh? My career?”


For some reason, Kanakana’s cheeks are a little red when she suddenly asks me that.

My career path… is it?

… Fumu. I don’t know if it will be a good reference for Kanakana, but… It’s not like I’m hiding anything from her, and if there’s a chance that I can help my best friend who’s been having a lot of trouble, I don’t see why I shouldn’t tell her.

“Of course, I can tell you. My future career path is—-”

I thought about it and willingly tried to talk to Kanakana about my desired career path—- However.

“…. Eh? Koma…?”

 Just before I spoke, out of the corner of my eye, I saw my beloved, the shining star that guides me, my little sis—– Tachibana Koma.

“….? Mako? What’s wrong?”

“Ah… Nothing. Koma is…”

“Koma-chan? … Ah, it’s really her.”

Koma scanned her surroundings and carefully and stealthily walked up the stairs… Apparently, Koma is doing this because she’s worried about being seen, but on the contrary she’s standing out and it’s cute—- That’s not it.

“Koma… Where is she going…? Class is about to start…”

I question Koma’s actions. The usual serious, honorable, and exemplary Koma would always be in her seat 10 minutes before class and ready for class. 

To make things worse, she’s moving like she doesn’t want to be seen by others… Somehow, it’s unusual for Koma.

“I wonder? I don’t know, but does Koma-chan’s class also have to move to a different classroom?”

“No, that can’t be. Koma’s class has math for the first period. In the first place, Koma’s class has zero subjects where she has to move classrooms today, and I haven’t heard anything about a schedule change.”

“…. You, how do you know Koma-chan’s class schedule so perfectly?”

Obviously, it’s my duty as her older sister.

“Then, she’s probably going to pick flowers or something?” (TN: Basically saying that she’s going to the toilet)

“I think that’s wrong too. There’s one close to her classroom, so isn’t it a bit strange to not use it and go all the way to the one upstairs. Besides…”
“Once when she woke up and once when she arrived at school. Koma has already gone to the bathroom… More importantly, Koma’s lifestyle rhythm, toilet frequency, and taking into consideration her current condition going to the toilet now is strange.”
“””Why do you know so much about your little sister’s activities to that point!? Seriously disgusting!?”””

Obviously, it’s my duty as her older sister.

Well, leaving that aside…. Really, what’s wrong with Koma? Class is about to start in a few minutes and she’s going to be late if she doesn’t go.

I wonder if she has a place she needs to go instead of class…? Also… Somehow, Koma looks troubled…?

“…. Let’s go see.”
“Hah?”

“I’m going to check upon Koma for a bit.”

“No,no, no… Stop right there, Mako. We’d better get going, too, or we’ll be late for class.”

I’m getting a bad feeling. Kanakana grabbed me by the shoulders to stop me from going after Koma.

“Huh, let me go, Kanakana. I’m going to lose sight of Koma otherwise.”

“No, I told you, Mako. Class is…”
“What do you think is more important to me, class or my little sis!?”
“””In your case, you need to care more about class, Mako!”””

Kanakana and my friends are all saying such cruel things. Eeii, you blockheaded lot…

“That’s it! I’ll break through since it became like this!”
“Aah, wai… wait, Mako!”

“I won’t! Farewell!”

I decided that I won’t make progress if I left this like it is, so I shake off my friends and chase after Koma.

Koma, who didn’t seem to notice my tail, went up from the second floor to the third floor… She ignores the third floor and goes up— In otherwords, she’s going to the rooftop. And then, she opens the heavy looking doors and comes out on the rooftop. Umumu… I don’t know more and more. What is Koma doing on the rooftop at this hour…?

“(… Now, I’m out on the rooftop too… Has Koma noticed me?)”

I don’t know the reason, but Koma is moving to avoid being seen. Maybe she doesn’t want anyone else to know she’s coming here… In that case… If Koma finds out I’m here, it might make her feel unpleasant…?

In order to get a better idea of what Koma was doing here, I decided to open the door a little bit and check the rooftop instead of going in right now…

“Yo. I’ve waited for you, Koma-chan.”
“… Good day to you, senpai.”

Apparently, there are two people on the roof. One of them is my Koma. And then the other is…

“… Who’s that boy…?”

“… hmm? Lemme see? Let me see too, Mako… Aah! I know that boy! He’s the soccer club’s captain!”

“Aah… that person… Etto, I don’t know much about him… I’m pretty sure it was the senpai who was rumored to be handsome, good at soccer, kind, and cool… I think?”

“That’s correct, Kanae. He’s popular with his kouhai. Even the younger members of my club said they admired him.”

Heee… He’s that famous. I didn’t know about him at all. But… What does he want with my Koma—-

“Actually, wait a moment.”
“””….? What is it, Mako?”””

“… Why are all of you here, too?”

 I don’t know how long they’ve been here, but Kanakana and her friends are peeping on the rooftop’s situation with me. It’s not for me to say, but what about class?

“Eh? But, why you ask…I was worried for Ma— *Cough*. No, I was worried that Mako might go off the rails again, so I had no choice but to follow her. Be grateful, Mako.”

“I came here because I thought it looked interesting♡”

“Same for me. Even if we’re late for class, if we say, “Mako was acting strangely and we were late because we stopped her,”, I’m sure the teacher will understand and it won’t be a problem, so don’t worry, Mako.”

“…. You really…”

Apart from Kanakana… They’ve been telling people to care more for class and to be careful, but…

Well, leaving all of them aside. The more important thing now, is to find out about this situation on the rooftop. Once again, I’m listening and watching Koma through the door.

“I’m sorry for having called you at this time. At lunch or after school, your sister gets in the way—– In fact, with your sister’s watchful eye, I couldn’t talk to Koma in a calm manner unless I did it now”

“Ha, haa…”

I don’t even know the name of the senpai who said that to Koma. I don’t know what he’s talking about, but… My eyes have been watching him after school and lunch?

Hahaha, please don’t worry. I’m keeping a close eye on you senpai even now.

“…. Now. Let’s leave that aside and get to the main point.”

Senpai takes a deep breath once and then breaks the ice like that.

“The letter I left in your desk… Did you read it?”
“Aah… Yeah. I…”
“(…. Letter?)”

…. Letter for Koma…? Why did he…? This is the first time I hear about it…!?

“(No, wait a second? Letter he put in her desk… (Originally) A time and place where my watchful eye cannot reach. And now this shocking situation… Could it be!? Don’t tell me!?)”

I’m suddenly reminded of something now. As if to confirm my suggestion, senpai continued.

“… It’s like I’ve written in the letter. Let me say this again. Tachibana Koma-chan—- I like you. Please go out with me!”
“………”

“(It’s as I’ve imagined…)”

“””Confession…!?”””

All of us who were listening on the outside were shocked. Co-Co-Confessing… to Koma…!?

“No way… I’ve never seen a person confess to someone personally before.”

“Not just that, a handsome boy confessing to a beautiful girl… Amazing, it looks like they came from a picture…. Oh, I’m getting embarrassed… Even though it has nothing to do with me at all, my heart is starting to beat fast…”

My friends whispered excitedly to each other about senpai’s confession.

“…(*Ngh*)”

“… Hu, Mako… Calm down. Calm yourself down. Don’t forget yourself and storm there in anger…”

“…. Hahaha. I’m OK… I would never do that, my friend…. Koma’s answer… I wouldn’t interfere, at all?… That’s right, I’m OK… I’m really calm, Kanakana…”

“A truly calm person wouldn’t glare so hatefully at senpai, or get so angry that she bites her lip so hard that blood trickles down…. Just take deep breaths, Mako…”

I manage to keep myself from jumping out and storming while saying ‘Be cool’ to myself, and Kanakana holds me back while calming me down.

Endure it… Endure it, Tachibana Mako…Keep your cool, at least until you hear the answer from Koma.

“…. Thank you very much, senpai. I’m glad that you like this me—– I’m really happy.”

“! I see! Then”

Koma, who had no way of knowing about the commotion that was going on between us on the other side of the door, quietly said to the senpai, clearly.

“However, I’m sorry. I have to refuse.”

“….. Eeh?”

“Yeah! Serveees you right!”

“””Buha!? Mako, you’re too loud…!? What if they hear you, you big idiot!?”””

While my panicked friends were holding my mouth, I couldn’t help but shout and make a victory pose. 

Fuhuahahahaaha! Okay, okay! You did well to refuse him, Koma! And then… I’m sorry for your loss, my nameless senpai! Give up on the flower on the high peak!

“… Eetto. Ko-Koma-chan? That… Why is that…? I’m not that attractive…?”

While I was secretly dancing for joy, the senpai who had been rejected asked Koma why he had been rejected.

“No, senpai is exactly as the rumors say. You are an excellent captain of the soccer team and trusted by everyone in the team… You’re bright, cool, and very attractive.”

“Is that so…? Then, why…?”
“… (*Mumble*)… But… I have someone better than senpai. Better than anyone else in the world… More attractive person… Close to me…”

In a whisper that can’t be heard from over there, Koma mutters something to senpai. The nameless senpai is surprised and gets upset at the muttering.

“There’s such… a person!? For Koma-chan to say so much about them…!? Who in the hell is that person…!?”

“… Etto. That is…”

“… No, it’s fine! I don’t care who it is! I won’t give up, Koma-chan…! I’ll make you forget all about that person…!”

“W-Wait a minute, senpai… This isn’t… Yaa…”

“~~~~~~~!?”

“””Wha…!?”””

Did he lose his temper for getting rejected? Senpai used his strength and grabbed Koma’s wrist with one of his hands… Then he puts his other hand against the wall, then approaches Koma…. Hou.

“Wa-Wa-Wa-Wa… Thi-This… is…! The famous ‘Kabedon’ I heard about!?”

“Uwaa… Uwaaa…! Amazing, amazing! I’ve never seen a live kabedon before! Senpai is a bit bold…!”

“How daring. I wonder if senpai doesn’t value his life…? If he does that then Mako won’t be qui— Hm, huh!? Wait a moment!? M-Mako? Mako!? Hey, you two!? Where is Mako?”

“”Eh?””

The next moment I saw the scene. I’ve blown away my restraints controlling me and I plunged in there by instinct. It was him that made the first move. Then there would be no need for restraint or moderation.

I lock on the side of that bastard who’s aiming for Koma’s lips. Kicking the ground powerfully and jumping up high… Keep my feet in the air… And then.

“Drop deeeeeeeeeeeaad!”

“Gubho…!”

“!? Eeeh!? Ne-Ne-Ne-Ne… Nee-sama!?”

I gave that senpai a fired up dropkick with all my might as a present♡ The senpai, who was hit by my strong present, rolled around and then fainted on the spot. I ran up to Koma, ignoring the senpai.

.

“Koma! Aahh, Koma… I’m sorry! I’m sorry that I made you go through something scary while Onee-chan was nearby…! Are you okay!? Did he hurt you!?”

“Eh… Ah,… No. I’m fine, but… More importantly, why is Nee-sama here—-?”

“…. Nunununuunnnu! Wait a bit, Koma!? Your wrist… It’s red! Isn’t your wrist getting red because of being grabbed!?”

I rush to make sure Koma is safe…. The skin of Koma, which is beautiful and white as a bead of snow, is turning red. This… Did Koma get internal bleeding when she got grabbed by that guy rolling around…!?

“Huh…? Ah, yes. It seems so… But this is nothing serious, and I’m sure it will go away soon without any worries…”

“You nameless boy… You did it now, you so on of a b****! Go to hell! Apologize in the afterlife, you son of a b****!”

“Wai, Nee-sama!?”

That bastard… You’ve done something that you should’ve never done…! I was completely pissed off, so I put him down, mounted him, and punched him as hard as I could.

This is for Koma…! This is also for Koma…! And all of this is for Koma, tooo!

“This… It went exactly as I imagined…! You two! I’ll stop Mako, and you two hurry up and get the teachers! If we don’t do something, that senpai might get beaten to death by Mako!?” (TN: wtf, when did this get a serious street boxing ring type of manga!?)

“”We got it! We’ll get them immediately!””

“Nee-sama, please stop! It’s okay! Look, I’m perfect! Any more will be dangerous!?”

“Koma-chan! Help me stop this idiot! You hold her from that side! I’ll hold her from this side!”

“Ah… Yes! I understand!”

“Nu!? Let me go, Koma! Also, Kanakana! I’m not going to let this sinner go till he eats my iron fist of judgment…!”

“It’s already enough! Enough, Nee-sama! You don’t have to worry about me! Okay? Okay!?”
“Let me go… Let me gooooooooo!”

3 comments

  1. Hermes Passer · January 23, 2022

    > (TN: wtf, when did this get a serious street boxing ring type of manga!?)
    Ashita no Mako Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew Parrett · March 1, 2022

    This is exactly why I hate all people. Kanakana clearly likes Mako yet she also shit talks her right to her face every chance she gets. So annoying.

    Like

    • Hope · April 13, 2023

      Agree, I also hate all of the mako “supposedly” Friends all of them are just bunch of bully’s.

      Like

Leave a comment