HS Chapter 109: The hopeless sister is impressed.

~Side: Mako~

After a full inspection. Me, Koma and Aunty Meiko leave the hospital after being picked up by the editor’s car.

“—-sama… Nee-sama… Mako-nee-sama!”

“…. Eh?”

I was half-heartedly absent-minded and in front of my eyes Koma peeked out her lovely face and approached me with a worried look on her face…. Eh? Where… is this…? 

“Wh, what? Did you call me? What is it, Koma…?”

“Aah, I’m glad… Mako-nee-sama when we arrived home… No matter how many times I or Aunt-sama called you, you didn’t answer at all. I was worried about you!”

“… Eh? Arrived home…? No matter how many times you called me…? Eh, eeh!? We’re home!?”

(In a different way than usual) I was so preoccupied with Koma. So much so that I don’t even know since when I’ve been sitting on the sofa in our living room any more.

And I had been so preoccupied that I couldn’t even hear the voice of my little sister and dearest love, Koma Tachibana (and, incidentally, Aunty’s voice).

“I-I’m sorry, Koma!? It’s different! Leaving aside Aunty, I wasn’t ignoring Koma for sure!?…. Onee-chan was just a bit too zoned out…”

“Yes, I understand. Nee-sama was just lost in thought.”

“Ou, wait a moment, Mako. What do you mean leaving aside me, oi. Don’t tell me, you deliberately ignored me calling you!?”

… I’m in a little hurry apologising to Koma (and brilliantly ignoring Aunty). Not good… I don’t remember anything at all between the time I heard the doctor talk in the hospital room and the time I arrived home.

I don’t even remember how many times I was called by Koma… And I didn’t hear the doctor’s story at all during the way back home…. Editor-san, who must have driven the three of us home, was gone before I knew it… Ah. This is bad… I didn’t thank Editor-san for giving me a lift, either… Not good, not good…

“More importantly… Are you okay, Nee-sama?”

“Huh? Am I okay… What?”

What do you mean by am I okay? That… I’m sorry to say, I’m already too hopeless that it is past that…

“Ever since the doctor told you about me, you’ve had this look on your face like you’re not even here. You were always absentminded, no matter what I or Aunt-sama talked to you about… Maybe, Nee-sama… Are you feeling unwell?”

“….Huh?”

“If you’re not feeling well, I think you should take some rest. It’s particularly cold today, and if you push yourself too hard you could catch a full-blown cold.”

“………… Huh?”

Contrary to expectations, I’m stunned by a few words from Koma, who is concerned about me.

“If you feel unbearably unwell, it’s not too late to return to hospital. I think it’d be fine if Nee-sama is examined too.”

“…”

“Do you have a fever? Do you have nausea or feel pain anywhere? Does it hurt somewhere?”

This girl… What is this girl saying… Why and how did you develop unexplained face blindness while… saying such kind words to your Onee-chan on the same day…? 

“…. Koma, listen.”

“Eh?”

“…. Koma, are you the one in pain…?”

“Wa, wawawa! Ne, Nee-sama…!?”

I ask, unintentionally hugging Koma tightly as she approached me to measure my fever by placing her own forehead against mine.

I don’t get it… Why is Koma… like this…

“Ey, why is it? Why does Koma look so carefree about it?”

“Y, es…?”

“You can’t see them, right? People’s faces…”

“Eh, yes. That’s right…”

“I, I was honestly shocked when I heard the doctor talk… If I imagine the view that Koma is seeing now…. It frightens me. One day you suddenly don’t recognise the faces of the people around you…. And like the taste disorder you originally had, even the doctors don’t know when or how on earth it’s going to go away… If it were normal, I think I’d despair.”

… I’d despair when I think about it. Why is it that I’m the only one having a hard time… It’s normal to think that way, and rightly so.

And the unreasonableness of it, the frustration. If she hit me, her sister, or Aunty Meiko, it wouldn’t be unreasonable…. After all, who’d blame her? At least Koma has that right.

“When it comes to that… You didn’t seem shocked, rather you are more concerned about me… Your mind should really be filled with yourself but… Why is Koma….”

“… Nee-sama.”

I ask that question while hugging Koma. Koma gently hugged me back and replied.

“… Thank you very much. You’ve been so worried about me. But… I’m really okay.”

“… It’s a lie. You don’t look like you’re fine… Isn’t it clear that you’re in pain…”

“That’s… Indeed, I too almost despaired when I couldn’t recognise any of my classmates in the classroom this morning, except Hime-sama. In fact, I passed out from shock”

“Thought so…”

“But, that is—- ‘Perhaps I could no longer recognise my Mako-nee-sama’s face’— That’s what I thought, and that’s why I passed out involuntarily.”

“Ehu….!?”

She fainted because I thought my face would be unrecognisable…? That means… What does it mean?

“When I could recognise Nee-sama’s face properly. And then, when the doctor told me that ‘there is also face blindness, where you can be recognised if you are a close person’. I was deeply relieved.”

“… Relieved?”

“Yes, I was relieved. I, as long as it’s Nee-sama— *Cough*. If I could only recognise Nee-sama and those close to me… I thought that I don’t have to be so fearful of face blindness.”

Koma speaks to me with a look that is devoid of any falsehoods. Se-Seriously…? As long as she can recognize only those close to her… Isn’t it quite difficult not knowing what other people look like…? Is this not a disorder that interferes with daily life all the time? 

“It’s certainly inconvenient, but maybe you’ll get used to it. The doctors also said that it is possible to recognise other people to some extent by their voice, clothing and height. This is nothing compared to the taste disorder I’ve been fighting for six years. I won’t have to bother you, Nee-sama.”

“Koma…”

“That’s why, Nee-sama. You don’t have to concern yourself with me. Please don’t torment yourself thinking about me. As for me… It’s more difficult when Nee-sama is not healthy.”

Koma comforts me while gently stroking my back. The hardest part is for Koma, who has a taste disorder that she’s had for a long time, as well as a face blindness disorder… 

Koma was more damaged than me, and I was trying to comfort her, but she comforted me. I’m the big sister in the family, and I’m so pathetic…

“I see… Koma is strong. I… I can’t be like Koma. I’m a hopeless Onee-chan…”

“… Nee-sama is not hopeless. You worry about me more than I do about myself, even though it’s not about you… You’re the best Nee-sama.”

“… Nm. Thanks for the encouragement, Koma.”

Koma encourages me to rise above my sinking feelings… That’s right. I don’t have to be depressed. It’s supposed to be hard for her, but Koma is behaving so firmly. I have to follow Koma’s example and do more than I ever could as her older sister…!

“…(*Mumble*) Fumyu… ‘Koma is strong’…? As for me, who’s hearing you say that… I don’t think that even for a second…”

“….? Aunty, did you say something?”

“…. Aah, no. I didn’t say anything.”

That’s how the person close to me had encouraged me. I thought Aunty, who had been silent since earlier, muttered something small with a bit of a severe expression… Did I just imagine it?

“For now. You guys won’t be hugging each other forever and let’s discuss what to do to move forward.”

“Ah, un. That’s right.”

“Ye, Yes, Aunt-sama.”

As Auntie points out, I with heavy reluctance release Koma from my hug. Not good, at all. Let’s hold back on flirting until we’ve discussed the future of the Koma.

“Though, there’s only so much we can do about it. At any rate, even expert doctors have thrown in the towel. As long as we don’t know the cause or treatment, we can only think about how to deal with face blindness in our daily lives.”

“That’s right, isn’t it…”

“Some measure that comes to mind quickly is just… Me staying close to Koma at all times and taking the place of Koma’s eyes? If I could sneakily tell Koma who this person is and who that person is, it would make Koma’s daily life a little easier, I think?”

“… Nee-sama, always… staying close… to me…?”

In Koma’s case, the most difficult situation when she can’t recognise people’s faces is probably when she’s at school. If it’s during recess, I can follow Koma right next to her.

… As expected, we’re obstructed while being in class and in different classes… So we explain the situation to Himecchi, one of our best friends, and ask her to help us—-

*Pin* *Pon*

“””…Hn?”””

Just as we the three family members were putting our heads together like this and thinking about countermeasures. The sound of the doorbell echoes through the living room. My, who is it, it’s strange for us to have guests at this hour on a weekday…?

“Aah, I’ll get it. You two, continue with the countermeasure session.”

“Hnh… I understand. Please do so and care, Nee-sama.”

“If it’s a person selling something, turn them away immediately, Mako.”

I don’t know who they are, but I can’t keep our guests waiting. For now, I pause the discussion and hurry to the front door.

“Yes, yes, I’m coming.”

While calling out, I remove the key and chain lock, then open the door. A cold November wind blew into the house from outside, I shivered a little, and there were two beautiful women standing in front of me.

“… E, h?”

I see these two women and I’m momentarily stunned and look twice. Why, you ask? Because these two women… They were very familiar people, but people who wouldn’t normally come to a place like this.

“Good day, Mako-chan.”

“Sorry for barging in unannounced, Mako-san.”

“Eh, ah… Chiyuri-sensei…? Also, Sayuri-san…?”

They were Chiyuri-sensei, Koma’s doctor, who has been treating Koma’s taste disorder for many years. And then with her was her reliable assistant and nurse, Sayuri-san. W-Why are these two people at our house…

“Oh my, my. You seem to be quite surprised. I’m sorry, Mako-chan. Actually, I just got a call from your aunt Miyano-san. ‘I know it’s outside your jurisdiction, but in a way, the person who understands Koma’s body the best is none other than you, Chiyuri-sensei. Won’t you have a look at my cute niece Koma?’ she said.”

“Aunty did that…?”

She laughs and explains to me who is surprised. I, I see… As for Aunty, she made a good decision.

Chiyuri-sensei is an ENT doctor and face blindness is probably not her specialty. But Chiyuri-sensei has been battling Koma’s taste disorder for six years together with Koma, and knows more about Koma’s body and mind than anyone else and can offer some good advice..

“But, is it fine…? Surely, Chiyuri-sensei and Sayuri-san must be busy… And yet you took the trouble of coming to our house… I’m, sorry…”

“It’s fine. It’s a regular holiday today, so I wasn’t busy. Also… You’re one of my precious patients and my important friend. I don’t know if we can help you, but let us do what we can.”

“Like she says. Just like Chiyuri-sensei I came here because I like her, and please don’t mind me, Mako-san.”

“C, Chiyuri-sensei… Sayuri-san…!”

Originally, they shouldn’t be concerned about it. I was moved to tears by the sensei and Sayuri-san, who took the time out of their day off to come and say such nice things to me. I’ve been thinking about it for a while… They’re really nice adults…

“Thank you so much! Please get inside the two of you!”

“Thank you too, Mako-chan. Please excuse my intrusion.”

“Excuse me.”

I move with haste. Now that they’ve come a long way, let’s have them take a quick look at Koma. I quickly prepare slippers for the two visitors and ask them to come up inside the house.

“Eh…? Chiyuri-sensei and Sayuri-sama…? Wh-Why are you…!?”

“Ooh, you’re here already, you two. Sorry, I called you so suddenly”

“Yees♡ Good day, Koma-chan and Miyano-san.”

“Koma-san, we’re here on a trip to examine you. Also… I know it’s not much but here you go. Visiting gift.”

“Ha, haa… Thank you very much, Sayuri-sama… I’ll receive it… Examine me…?”

When I lead them to the living room, they are greeted by Koma, who shows the same reaction as I did earlier, and Aunty, who is the one who summoned them.

Koma’s response…. I think Aunty had summoned them without telling me or even Koma. Aunty is not a fine adult at all. If I’d known they were coming, I would have made sure I was ready to welcome them.

“Now. Then, Koma-chan. I’m going to borrow Koma-chan for a quick check-up.”

“Please treat her well! It may not replace the examination room, but you are free to use my room if you like.”

“That’s very helpful, Mako-san. Then, please wait for a while.”

“Yees, Sayuri-san! I’ll wait obediently… Well, it seems that’s why they’re here, Koma. Please let them examine you properly!”

“Eh, eh? Ahm… Examine? Why? What is this about…?”

“Let’s go, Koma-san. I think Mako-san’s room was upstairs?”

“Uhm… Why are the two of you…!?”

“Come on, Koma-chan.”


They quickly take the bewildered Koma with them. If Chiyuri-sensei is the one who sees Koma, it’s a hundred times better. It’s like we’ve won, it’s like we’ve treated her face blindness.

Okay. I’ll leave it to them to treat Koma. Aunty and I will prepare some tea and snacks while they examine Koma.

~Side: Koma~

“Now, Koma-chan. Have a seat here, please.”

“Sensei will now ask you some simple questions. Koma, please answer as much as you can.”

“Ha, haaa….”

I was taken in by the unreasonable Chiyuri-sensei and Sayuri-sama. I was made to sit in a chair in Mako-nee-sama’s room. Why are Chiyuri-sensei and Sayuri-sama here….?

“Uhm…. Chiyuri-sensei? Also, Sayuri-sama? What do you mean by examination…?”

“… Fumu. I see. I was told by Miyano-san that ‘you can identify them if they are close to you’… Koma-chan can recognize my and Sayur-chan’s faces.”

“Eh… Ah, yes. It seems I can…”

Without answering any of my questions, sensei starts doing what she is used to doing, which is to ask me questions. Uhm… I’m happy to answer her questions but…

“I see, I see. You can recognize us…. That’s a bit unexpected.”

“Unexpected…? Uhm… Why is it, Chiyuri-sensei?”

“Oh my… Because, you know, even if I say so myself, I thought Koma hates me… I thought you weren’t satisfied with me. I was wondering if, by any chance, you wouldn’t recognise me, let alone Sayuri-chan. So I’m glad that Koma sees me as someone close to her, so I’m happy.”

“…. Etto…”

Chiyuri-sensei’s words are a bit clogged…. Sensei, I don’t hate you… And, certainly you’re someone I have trouble dealing with.

It’s a bit awkward, like she has hit the nail on the head…

“Chiyuri-sensei. Please don’t say ill-tempered things that make it harder for Koma to answer. We won’t proceed otherwise.”

“Yees. I got it, Sayuri-chan. Then I’ll continue your examination. From what I’ve heard from Miyano-san, you’re showing symptoms of ‘face blindness’… Can you please elaborate on the symptoms and the situation again from your point of view?”

“…. I understand. Eettoo… In fact, this morning at school—–”

I don’t understand it well but I explain to sensei and Sayuri-sama as I am told to do.

“—- So like that.”
“Fumu… I see what you mean. As I thought, it’s like that…”

After I finish explaining everything, Chiyuri-sensei folds her arms and pretends to be satisfied with something.

“… Um, sensei? Did you understand something…?”

“……..”

“Se, sensei?”

“Ey, Koma-chan?”

“Y, yes?”

Chiyuri-sensei, who has been quietly thinking long and hard for some time. Eventually, sensei, with an unusually serious expression on her face, asks me.

“I wasn’t sure if I should tell you, but… I decided. I’m going to be a bit harsh with you now. I hope you’re prepared.”

“Eh…?”

She’ll be harsh? Prepare myself? Why should I, she’s a bit… scary…

“Are you okay? Keep your heads up.”
“Y, yes… I’m fine… Probably”

“Okay. Then, as Koma’s doctor, I’d like to say a few words…”

Sensei then pauses for a beat before continuing.

“Koma-chan… Are you maybe at peace of mind?”

“Eh? Peace of mind…?”

“That’s right. You… are relieved.”

Without any context, sensei ‘Are you relieved?’ she asked. It’s a pretty disconcerting question, because I was worried about what scary things they were going to say….? Etto… relieved, is it…

“That’s right… As sensei says, I’m certainly… I’m greatly relieved to be able to recognise the faces of Mako-nee-sama and those close to me. But what’s wrong about that…”
“…. Wrong, I don’t mean that.”

“…Eh?”

Sensei shakes her head… Chiyuri-sensei looked at me with my bitter eyes… as if she could see through everything, and to say that she understood what was going on in my mind.

“That’s not what I mean. Koma-chan, you—

You are diagnosed with prosopagnosia, and you knew that Mako would care about you again… You’re relieved, aren’t you?”

“….!”

The moment sensei told me this, it was as if my heart had been pierced by a sharp spear… Such a shock ran through me…


Author’s notes: The doctor can only say this sharp comment because she has been treating Koma for many years.

Leave a comment