HS Chapter 110: The hopeless sister’s promise.

~Side: Mako~

Prosopagnosia, which is the inability to recognise people’s faces and facial expressions— Otherwise called, face blindness. Such symptoms suddenly appeared in my beloved little sis Tachibana Koma. And I am a hopeless older sister who’s in love with Koma… But, two goddesses of grace descended before me, Tachibana Mako.

“—— Myy, truly. I was relieved to have Chiyuri-sensei and Sayuri-san here—”

Chiyuri-sensei and nurse Sayuri-san, who have been treating Koma for many years, came to visit Koma and check on her. When Aunty called them to say that something was wrong with Koma, they came all the way from their day off to see her.

I can’t thank them enough for this. Them being here is the same as Koma’s face blindness being already cured.

“I can’t believe that you’ve called sensei and the nurse for help beforehand. I have to admire that you made a very nice decision for a dried-up Aunty who is usually a person messing around, a troublemaker, a housework disaster and has no communicative skills. My, you did a good job, Aunty!”

“Ou, Mako. Are you trying to compliment me? Or are you picking a fight with me? If so, I’ll do it without holding back? Aah?”

Aunty gets mad with veins showing on her forehead when I’ve given her a compliment, in my opinion. My, my, you don’t have to be so angry. Your wrinkles are going to increase☆

“Leaving that aside. You’re right, if we leave it to the sensei, she’ll be able to manage Koma’s face blindness. Now we don’t have to worry about next month.”

“Hn? Next month? Next month, you say… What are you on about, Aunty?”

Next to me making tea for Chiyuri-sensei and nurse to drink, Aunty mutters something strange like that (while taking the tea cakes I had prepared for the sensei and nurse). Next month? What? What is she talking about? 

“Haa? What am I… What are you saying, Mako? I’ve spoken to you just a short time ago in the hospital with Editor-san—- Ah, I get it now… You were so preoccupied with Koma that you didn’t listen to me at all. Good grief… Even at the best times, your brain capacity is small and more so you’re a hopeless siscon who thinks only of Koma, which is troubling.”

“Oh? What? Is Aunty picking a fight with me? If so, then let’s get on with it now?”

“Ooh, that’s just fine you impudent niece of mine. I’m gonna turn the tables on you.”

Me and Aunty grab each other’s collars and are glaring daggers at each other. What a horrible BBA she is, spouting off to her lovely niece about not having enough brain capacity.

“… Not good. Right now, it isn’t time for this…”

“… Yeah. There’s a lot of trouble this season so there’s nothing to gain by wasting my energy fighting with Mako…”

Just as we were about to come to blows, we suddenly remembered Koma and the sensei and nurse who were currently examining her, and we turned away with our fists. I didn’t have time to play with Aunty. I need to make nice cups of tea soon.

“So? Aunty, I’ll pretend I didn’t hear your earlier rant, so get on with the story. Is there something next month?”

“Aah… Well, It’s not really a big story. Actually, next month for some time—-”

I urge Aunty to continue the conversation while resuming the preparation of tea and sweets. Urged, Aunty prefaced her story by saying that it was not a big deal… But for me she started a story of tremendous importance.

~Side: Koma~

“——You are diagnosed with prosopagnosia, and you knew that Mako would care about you again… You’re relieved, aren’t you?”

… Chiyuri-sensei (and Sayuri-sama) suddenly came to our house uninvited. And a short comment uttered by Chiyuri-sensei caused me to hold my breath for a moment.

Unpleasant sweat poured out in torrents, on my hands, feet, fingertips and all over my body. I start shaking little by little. To that extent… Sensei’s comment was sharp to me.

“… Wh, at… could you be on about?”

I barely speak with a dry throat. As if to advise me… Chiyuri-sensei continues talking.

“… It’s bulls-eye it seems. Probably, it’s about Mako-chan that Koma-chan loves dearly… And she said something like this to Koma-chan? ‘I’ll stay close to Koma. I’ll become Koma’s eyes.’— Something like that. Am I wrong?”

“….”

I can’t speak a word. I have a mild fear of Chiyuri-sensei… I’ve been thinking about this woman for a long time… Is she an esper or something…? Yes, that’s right… It’s true that just a few moments ago, Mako-nee-sama told me this…

‘Some measure that comes to mind quickly is just… Me staying close to Koma at all times and taking the place of Koma’s eyes? If I could sneakily tell Koma who this person is and who that person is, it would make Koma’s daily life a little easier, I think?’

She said something like this, just as sensei had guessed… But how does sensei…?

“Seeing Mako like that, you must have thought. ‘Aah, like this, Nee-sama will be with me again. I can tie Nee-sama to me.’ That’s why you’re relieved. Isn’t that right?”

“… What, basis…”

“I understand. Do you know how many years I’ve been seeing you? I didn’t see any pessimistic feelings from Koma when she was talking about her prosopagnosia. No, rather, from you, who is telling us how you got prosopagnosia—-

‘I’m glad I got prosopagnosia’

I could hear such a voice from your heart.”

I’m getting slightly dizzy from the relentless sensei’s remarks. I can hear chimes ringing in my ears… It is as if my body refuses to listen to sensei any more.

I can understand that I can’t conceal my disturbance…

“Ey, Koma-chan. Miyano-san talked about it… You don’t know why you can’t recognise people’s faces anymore, but… Is it really so?”

“… Ye,s. I don’t understand…”

“We know that’s not it. The truth is, how you suddenly got your prosopagnosia… You have an idea why, right, Koma-chan?”

“……….”

I quickly turn away from the sensei’s words as if she’s investigating me. Aah, I can’t do it anymore… Isn’t this the same as affirming what she says…

“I’m not going to force you to tell me what’s going on in your mind. Koma-chan has a face that says you don’t want to talk about it and you don’t want me to touch it.”

“… I don’t think it’s like that at all…”

“Well, I don’t have to ask you but from examining you, I have a rough idea.  There have been recent events that have been so shocking to Koma that she suddenly got prosopagnosia… Maybe, there was some kind of event where Mako-chan got confessed by someone… Or that you won’t be able to see Mako-chan from now on because of family reasons. I think that’s pretty much it?”

“…..”

…. Amazing. I’m impressed beyond fear that you can guess my mind so beautifully, sensei…

“I’ve told you many times, I’m not going to pry into the details of what’s going on, so don’t worry. I’m not sure I could cure Koma-chan’s taste disorder or face blindness even if I asked you what was going on.”

“… Haa.”

“Yeah, that’s not the important point. Importantly… that is not what you really need to face…. I, you see, Koma-chan. This time, I believe that Koma’s face blindness is the same as the case of the taste disorder in Koma. Rather than thinking, I’m convinced that it is.”

“Same… as my taste, disorder…?”

“That’s right… Hey, Koma-chan. Koma-chan is really a cunning girl… I think you must have been aware of that, too.”

“… Wh, at… are… you…?”

When I ask in a trembling voice, Chiyuri-sensei clearly informs me.

“Your prosopagnosia is rooted in the same cause of your taste disorder that you and Mako-chan have been struggling with for six years. Physical disorders due to psychogenic causes, the symptoms associated with them, all of it… You don’t want to let Mako go from you… You have symptoms because of that reason.”

“….!”

My poor parts, bad parts. Sensei with her eyes turned to me as if she were peering into the depths of my mind, again pokes me precisely in my weak points.

“In Koma-chan’s case, when some kind of physical disorder appears… It’s when Koma-chan doesn’t want to be separated from Mako-chan, I believe. When that happens, you—- ‘I want to keep Nee-sama—- I don’t want to give her to anyone… I want her to always be by my side!’ —- Due to that wholeheartedness,  a change occurs in your body so that Mako-chan will look at you…. Am I wrong?”

“….”

“It’s different since it’s slightly nuanced, but Koma-chan’s constitution… I analyze it as your defense mechanism. I wonder if Koma-chan hasn’t heard about it too? Those incidents where you get a headache when you try to go to school or a stomach ache before a test.”

“….”

“I don’t condemn the actions themselves. No matter who you are, defense mechanisms work in everyday life, and they are an important body and mind function to protect you, too… But, you see, In Koma’s case, this is all too clear.”

As I turn my face down into silence, sensei mercilessly fires arrows of words at me.

Noo… Please stop. Please don’t continue anymore… I look at Sayuri-sama like I’m seeking help, who usually stands by my side and warns sensei, but Sayuri-sama just quietly closes her eyes and just gets closer to sensei.

“I’ve been debating whether to say it or not, but I’m going to take this opportunity to say it outright. Unlike Mako-chan, Koma-chan, you probably didn’t really try to cure your taste disorder deep down? Because it was more convenient for you not to heal it. Because If your taste disorder is healed… You fear that Mako-chan might leave your side. I don’t know whether it was conscious or unconscious… You’ve been exploiting your constitution for years. So you can restrain Mako-chan to yourself!”

“…>!?”

… I don’t hate Chiyuri-sensei. However, I’ve always been bad at dealing with her. Because, sensei… She plays with me and Nee-sama in some way, and she has a lot of things I don’t have…

And above all else. The dark, stagnant, impure thoughts that are hidden deep inside me. It’s easy for sensei to see through me and she brings them to light…

“Unfortunately, the way things are going, Koma-chan will continue to feel that way… And your taste disorder, and then this face blindness cannot be cured. Not only will they not heal… they will probably get worse. And more importantly—”

And after a short pause. Sensei gives me the last word, as if to say that’s it.

“—-More importantly. You will never win Mako-chan’s heart if you try to keep her with such childish methods, Koma-chan.”

“~~~~~~~!!!”

When I heard these words, my mind went blank… I scream loudly and chase sensei and Sayuri-sama out of the room…

~Side: Mako~

“What on earth is going on?”

I was preparing tea snacks while chatting carefree with Aunty, thinking that it would be all right if I left it to the Chiyuri-sensei and Sayuri-san.

Then, suddenly, from my room on the second floor, I heard Koma’s sorrowful screams.

“Ko, Ko, Ko…. Komaa!? What’s wrong? What!? What happened? Kooooomaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!?”

I’m rushing up the stairs, calling out to Koma. When I reached the second floor, standing in front of my room were Chiyuri-sensei with a guilty look on her face and Sayuri-san, who was sighing with a difficult face.

“… Ah. Sayuri-chan? Are you maybe angry? Did I go a bit overboard?”

“Not at all. I’m not angry. I too believe that what you said was necessary. If you didn’t tell her on the spot… Koma-san…”

“Se-Sensei!? Sayuri-saan!? Koma, did something happen to my Komaaaa!? Is she going to be okaaaaayyyyy!?”

I approached sensei and Sayuri-san and tearfully asked them what was going on. How is Koma’s body…!?

“Aah, Mako-chan… Un, she’s fine. In the meantime, rest assured that we’re not talking about Koma’s life being in danger.”

“B, but… Then, just now, what…”

“… The truth is. For treatment of her prosopagnosia… Sensei was a bit harsh with Koma-san. She was quite shocked and then kicked us out.”

“Haa… For treatment… is it?”

… What did they talk about? For Koma to be so distraught, as if she’d forgotten herself and screamed… First time I’ve seen her like this…?

“Koma-chan, you see, I think she probably doesn’t want to talk even to Mako-chan. Just leave her alone for a while until she calms down.”

“I, I got it. I’ll check on her later.”

“… I’m sorry, Mako-chan. My drastic measures might’ve been too much.”

Chiyuri-sensei tells me this in an unusually apologetic manner. ‘I wonder if I’ve made a mistake,’ she appears depressed.

Seeing sensei like that made me calm down a bit, and I gathered my thoughts for a moment before replying.

“… No, it’s okay. I don’t know what sensei said to Koma… But since it’s sensei, even this hopeless me understands that sensei told Koma something since you had some ideas… It was a last resort for her treatment, right?”

“… N. Well, true. For Koma-chan it might’ve been too strong medicine, I think… But, eventually someone would’ve had to tell her… For Koma’s taste disorder and prosopagnosia. Since I think we can’t cure what can be cured…”

She has been teasing us a lot, but Chiyuri-sensei for these 6 years, Koma… No, Koma and I have always been cared for by sensei.

Sensei wouldn’t just say something to depress Koma as mischief. I’m still relieved that she did what she did for the Koma’s good.

“In that case… It’s fine… No matter how bitter and painful sensei’s words may have been. If it was necessary for Koma, sensei doesn’t need to apologise. Rather, I’m grateful. It’s said that good medicine tastes bitter.”

“Mako-chan… Un, thank you. It makes me feel better to hear you say that…. Now. I’m going to leave in a short while. Sayuri-chan, let’s go.”

“Yes, sensei.”

Chiyuri-sensei looks relieved at my few words. And then she tries to go back down the stairs with Sayuri-san accompanying her.

“S, Sensei. Also, Sayuri-san. Wait, I’ve prepared tea and sweets for you.”

“It’s okay, I’d feel bad for Koma if I stay too long… Before long, we’ll be seeing each other again.”

“A… I got it. Thank you for everything today, sensei!”

“… Ah. I remember now, sorry. There was one more thing I should’ve said previously to Mako-chan.”

“Huh? To me…?”

Sensei, who was about to leave through the doorway after saying that, turns her heels back as if suddenly remembering something, puts her mouth close to my ear and whispers.

“I’ll give you a small piece of advice… Mako, do you know anything about what caused Koma to have face blindness?”

“Cause…? No, I don’t. If I knew that, I wouldn’t have a hard time… Koma also said that she doesn’t know.”

“Un, I thought so… I haven’t been able to find out directly from Koma about the cause of her prosopagnosia, but… The truth is, I can guess the cause of it.”

“Eeh!?”

She can guess the cause…!? Seriously…!? 

“From my point of view, there has probably been some kind of change in Koma-chan or Mako-chan’s surroundings in the last month or two…. Koma couldn’t deal with the change in circumstances, and she must have developed prosopagnosia. Other than that, I can’t think of any other cause that would cause Koma-chan to have prosopagnosia.”

“Mine and Koma’s surroundings… have changed…?”

“Yes. So if Mako-chan wants to cure Koma’s prosopagnosia… Maybe you should find out if anything has happened around her in the last month or two. That’s all to my advice. Well then, Mako-chan, good luck.”

After leaving such valuable advice, Chiyuri-sensei walked out the front door this time. As if following her sensei,  Sayuri-san, a nurse and her partner, also gently whispers to me in the ear.

“Well then. If you allow me, I also have a bit of advice for you, Mako-san.”

“Sayuri-san, too?”

“Yes. Please listen to this for reference only… Koma-san now looks just like I did in the past. Looking at her from the view of a nurse… She may be acting very stout-hearted, but in fact she is in a very critical condition”

“… Critical?”

“Yes. She’s so fragile that if you’re not careful, her spirit could be broken immediately.”

… I see, so that’s how Koma is right now. Koma whom I was talking to didn’t seem to mind that she’d developed prosopagnosia… But, if I believe Sayuri-sama’s words, then Koma is critical…

“That’s why… Promise me one thing.”

“Promise?”

“Yes. No matter what lies ahead of you two… Please remain Koma’s ally even if it’s just you. For Koma-san, you are… What Chiyuri-sensei is for me. If she loses the emotional support of you… Koma-san will never recover from this.”

“…….”

“That’s why, promise me… No matter what happens, you’d always and will remain on Koma-san’s side…. I ask this as one of Koma-san’s friends.”

Squeezing my hand, Sayuri-san gives me such advice with a determined look in her eyes. Something like that… I don’t need to promise.


“… Thank you for your advice, Sayuri-sama. Don’t worry about it, it’ll be okay… Even if the world is destroyed, even if the universe is destroyed. Even if people all over the world become enemies of my Koma. I’ll never leave Koma’s side.”

“… Yes! I knew you would say that, Mako-san. Well, I’ll leave the rest to you.”

Sayuri-san says this, smiles and bows with a smile and follows sensei who left first…. Chiyuri-sensei, Sayuri-san. Really, thank you for everything… I’ll do the rest in my own way.


Author’s notes: The short from the doctor was bitter and painful for Koma. But it’s bitter medicine to look at herself.


If you like what I’m doing, would you consider wanting to support it?

Leave a comment