HS Chapter 34: The hopeless sister holds her little sister tightly.

“F***… Why did they have to eject me…”

During the basketball practice game, I, Mako Tachibana, was unreasonably ordered to leave by the PE teacher and my friends. Although I was taking it seriously (at least), I don’t like the idea of being kicked out without question, damn it…

“Asking why we had to eject you, it’s obvious, Mako.”

“You’re a real work of art… You’re hopeless in many ways.”

“The next time you try to do anything perverted, we’ll punch you in the face, Mako.”

My friends inform me of this while smiling bitterly. Violence is forbidden.

“Mako, you really love your little sister, don’t you? …Ey, ey! When was it? When did you awaken as a siscon, Mako?”

“Ha?…. What are you asking me out of the blue?”

“I’m somewhat interested in it, you see? I’ve always thought that Mako’s siscon is hardcore. So I was wondering since when were you in love with her.”

As I’m sitting on the floor complaining while sulking, one of my friends suddenly sits down next to me and says something like that while chuckling. Since when do I love her… Umumu… I’m not sure of when…

“Let me see. I’m not proud of it, but I don’t have a good memory, so I don’t remember much about the past… Probably, I’ve liked her since I was old enough to understand that I like her.”

“That long ago?”

“Un. From what I can remember… At least by the time we were in elementary school, I think I was already aware of Koma.”

“””Is that so… Mako’s been a pervert since elementary school!”””

“How did you reach that conclusion!?”

Nodding their heads in sincere admiration, my friends seem to be convinced of something. Wait a moment, you girls. Just because you’re convinced of something however that doesn’t mean I am too?

“Ahaha! I knew Mako’s siscon is hardcore!”

“Fuun. Basically, since elementary school, Koma-chan has been by Mako lavish— Not it, she’s been tenderly loved.”

“Uwaa… Having the high-strung Mako around you since you are a little girl, and then having her sexually harass you… Koma-chan has it rough…”

My friend who brought up the subject is laughing hysterically, while the others are feeling sorry for Koma. As always, you’re extreme with your malicious rumors, my friends.

“Wait a bit right there! It’s true that I am now a self-professed pervert, but when I was in elementary school, I was a pure-hearted person who never sexually harassed anyone…! Is how I was! Take it back! Apologize to the pure and innocent me of that time!”

I protest to them in panic, but my friends all have doubtful expressions on their faces.

“Oi, did this girl just use the words ‘pure and innocent’ that suit her none at all?”

“Considering it’s Mako, she must’ve at least licked Koma-chan’s flute.”

“Ah, you’re right. There’s a saying the child is the father of the man.”

“You girls are really rude, you know!? I don’t remember doing this like that! Stop treating people as if they are perverts at heart!”

“””… Are we wrong?”””

What? What’s with that ‘What is this girl talking about?’ reaction.

“Hee? So you’re saying you weren’t a pervert before, but you are now? You didn’t lick her flute?”

“Un. I haven’t licked Koma’s flute. However…”
“””However…?”””

“At most, the only thing I licked was Koma’s harmonica…”
“””As we said, you’ve been a pervert since back then!”””

“Eh?”

I feel like everyone distanced themselves even further from me. Why…?

*Pipii!*

“Okay, we’ll resume the match between team A-1 and team B-1!”

While we are making such idle chit-chat, the PE teacher sounds the whistle to resume the match that had been suspended (mostly because of my actions)

“Then, everyone please treat us well!”

“Same here. I’m sorry that you switched teams because of our idiot Mako.”

“It’s fine, don’t mind it at all. I also think that it is just right. After all— It’s been a while since I’ve had to play against Koma-chan. Right! Koma-chan!”

“Eh? Hahaa…”

My replacement is the A-1 team basketball club’s ace. She doesn’t mind at all that she’s changed teams abruptly. Conversely, she’s smiling happily while talking to Koma in a friendly manner.

“I haven’t been able to play with Koma as of late. I’ve been asking Komachan for 1-on-1s for a while now, but I keep getting rejected.”

“Eh, etto… I’m sorry. I’m always busy with seijokai work…”

“Ah, sorry, sorry! I’m not blaming Koma-chan. I know Koma-chan is busy. It’s just that I think I won’t get excited unless I’m with Koma-chan, but I think that’s just me”

Koma apologizes apologetically, and the ace of the basketball team follows up by slapping her on the back and telling her not to worry about it. It seems they are pretty intimate and are talking happily to each other.

….Gununu, how envious. I’m jealous of her for communicating so intimately with Koma… F***, that would’ve been me there if I hadn’t been ejected…

“That’s why I’m so happy that I got to play vs Koma! Koma-chan, let’s do it seriously! Please don’t hold back!”

“I-I understand…”

“Then, we’ll play jump ball at the point we got interrupted at. Jumpers from both teams, please gather here.”

“Oops, I’m being called. Let’s do it fair and square, Koma-chan!”
“Eh, yeah…”

The teacher with the ball calls up jumpers from each other’s teams to play jump ball at the spot where me and Koma tangled just a moment ago.

… No other choice, I’ll have to rethink my opinion. I think I’ll devote my body and soul to cheering for Koma for the time I’m out of the team.  And thinking that I started cheering for Koma.

“Komaa! Fight! Good luck! Onee-chan is with you!”

“A… Yes! I’ll do my best, Nee-sama!”

“””You, atleast, should be cheering for the team you left behind, you hopeless sister!”””

“Everyone… It’s starting?”

My beloved Koma responds to my cheering with a shy smile and a wave, and my friends from the A-1 team, who were left out, gave me a wonderfully humorous tsukkomi. And then, the teacher is confused by their reaction.

“*Cough*. Have both teams finished preparing? Then—-”

The teacher cleared her throat and waited for the spectators and the students on the court to quiet down… and then once she confirmed that it was quiet.

“—-Match restart!”

With that yell and sounding her whistle, she throws the ball high in the air to declare the continuation of the match.

“Oryaaaa!” (TN: It’a battle-cry)

Just like the first time, a friend of mine from the A-1 team tapped the ball that fell first to her teammate’s side. Looks like team A-1 has the advantage in jump balls.

“Nice play! Okay, let’s get right into it, everyone? Get your spirits up!”

The ball was received by the basketball club’s ace that switched me. She starts giving instructions to everyone, shouting loudly.

“First! Let’s get it definitely! Mark Koma properly! Passing will be sharp, quick, and accurate for both the passer and the passee!”

She boldly passes the ball to her teammates as Koma and the opposing team move, quickly passing between the defenders with her hands wide open, receiving the pass again and keeping the ball in her hands while giving the right instructions one after the other.

Umu, she’s amazing. I can feel that everyone’s movements have become even sharper than before with just the instructions from her. She’s a point guard on the basketball club, if I remember right. I see, she possesses a fitting observational eye and commanding ability as an ace.

“Everyone, please concentrate on defence. The basic idea is one-to-one defence. If they are keeping the ball, stand between that person keeping the ball and the goal in a straight line and defend. When defending against someone who is not keeping the ball, anticipate their movements and defend against them to prevent them from getting unmarked”

However, Koma can’t be outdone. She also gives the same instructions underneath the goal and closes the path of the pass. When the B-1 team moves as Koma instructs, they completely block the A-1 team, which had been moving actively and aiming for the goal ring. 

The A-1 team tries to attack by feinting and changing the course of their passes, but they can’t seem to break down the defense of Koma, who gives them clever instructions.

Koma herself is not a member of the basketball club, and yet she is able to lead so wonderfully… As I thought, my little sis is a genius…

“If it became like this… Eei!”

“”!””

The back-and-forth battle went on for a while, but my friend on the A-1 team had lost her nerve, and made a move here. Was it a desperate move or had she something in mind? She holds the ball above her head, uses her knees to jump and releases the ball. That’s right, she’s doing a long shot from far away from the goal ring!

All eyes in the court are glued to the shot that was released. As everyone watched the shot with bated breath, the ball slowly made its way to the goal ring, just a few centimeters away from the goal—

*Bamp*!

Unfortunately, it didn’t go through the ring, and the ball hit the ring, bounced back, and flew in the wrong direction.

“”It’s a rebound!””

At that moment, Koma and the ace of the basketball club jumped high in the air, screaming at the same time as if they were waiting for it. The timing of their jumps, the height, and the height of the jumps are almost even. However…

“… I’m sorry, I will be taking it.”

“Tch! Everyone, hurry back! If you take your time, Koma-chan will break through!”

However, it was Koma who won the aerial battle. Koma seems to have read the trajectory of the ball in advance. She catches the ball ahead of time by perfectly complementing the movement of the bouncing ball. That’s amazing.

On the other hand, the ace of the basketball club realized that the ball was going to be taken away sooner or later, and while she was still in the air, she gave loud instructions to her teammates below. Both of them landed with *Dadang*! and the tables have turned. Now Koma and her team go on the offensive.

“Everyone, please keep up! Number 4, come up and pass the ball with me. Number 2 stand-by on the right and Number 3 on the left. Be ready to move at any time.”

“””We understand!”””

Team B-1 attacks while forming a formation with Koma as the center of it.

“Leave Koma to me! Be careful of everyone else’s feints and don’t block each other!”

“””Understood!”””

Koma and the B-1 team can’t break through the solid defense led by the ace of the basketball club, and although they shoot many times none of them go through and score.

On the other hand, the A-1 team that I was on was able to defend the goal, but seemed to be unable to win the ball due to Koma’s skillful rebounding and passing.

“Goo, Komaa! Make it through!”

“Defence! Defence!”

“Now! Shoot from right there!”

The game was so heated that not only us girls, but even the boys taking classes on the next court were watching the game.

I don’t need to say it, but I am raising my voice and cheering for Koma with all my might, and I could feel that everyone else is naturally enthusiastic about cheering too. 

“Tachibana-san, sorry. I leave the rest to you…”

“Ye-Yes…!”

As the two teams continued their battle back and forth, a teammate that was blocked by the defence threw a high, mountainous pass to Koma. Probably, she was too conscious of the defence in front of her. The thrown ball tries to go over Koma’s head.

Before the ball flew out of the court, Koma backed up slightly and jumped high and barely received the pass in the air, but…

“Okay, I welcome you, Koma! I won’t let you get past me!”

“!”

At the landing site, the ace of the basketball club is already waiting ahead of Koma to welcome her. She defended Koma closely right after Koma landed—- That’s right, it’s a tight defence and she completely blocks Koma’s movements.

It seems that this defense is very easy to put pressure on the opponent because it is easy to get fouled. Koma too seems to be stuck and unable to move.

I believe there was a rule that if this happened, you have to pass, shoot, or dribble within 5 seconds. If Koma doesn’t do anything for a few seconds, she’ll be called for a foul.

How will Koma overcome this dilemma…? I watch Koma’s next play with excitement.

“Haaa!”

“Seriously!? No matter how you see it, there’s no way it will enter from here!?”

“(…. Eh!?…)”

Koma uses her prided jumping power to jump on the spot again. Before the ace of the basketball club can react, Koma throws the ball as hard as he can with his eyes on the goal. This… is it that shot…!?

“Re-Rebou—”

Just as the ace of the basketball team was about to finish saying the word “rebound,” the ball was thrown and headed for the goal in a parabolic path. Once again, everyone watched breathlessly for the ball’s outcome, and the ball—-

*Whoosh*

“””Ooooh! It entereeeeeeed! Three point shoooooooooot!”””

“(…It went… in…?)”

It went straight through the goal ring and Koma’s team got extra points. In this case, Koma’s shot from the 3-point area was literally three points in one go. 

Koma’s teammates, as well as the girls and boys who are watching the game, cheered and applauded her long-range shot. Originally, I would’ve praised Koma, but…

… No, wait a moment. What was that just now…?

“Oh my, Koma is so amazing! I can’t believe your shot went in from that situation!”

“Really, really! She was so cool!”

“Even so, a three point shot! I have no words for how she was able to aim that shot from that position!”

While I’m a bit confused, my friends are excitedly talking about Koma’s play that she just did. 

… She was aiming for it…? Impossible… That’s how it looked to everyone?

“Hey, everyone. What do you think about Koma’s shot just now?”

“Hm? What, Mako? What do we think… I thought Koma was really amazing.”

“Oh, is it that Mako fell in love with Koma again? Jeez, Mako sure is a siscon.”

“You want to say ‘Koma, you’re amashing! Please hold me!’ again? I understand you.”

“…That’s not it. That’s not what I was asking. Did you feel anything strange just now…?”

“””…Eh? Strange….?”””

All of my friends didn’t seem to feel anything, but I felt a strong sense of discomfort with Koma’s current shoot. I am always next to Koma, watching her so I know what this sense of discomfort is.

“Is something strange, Mako? It went in nicely, didn’t it?”

“Uun. It looked like she threw the ball too hard and it went in by accident to me… Her shooting was wobbly, she could have been called for a foul because she almost made contact with the defence when she shot”

“Is that so…?”

“More importantly, given the placement of each defender, if it hadn’t gone in, the A-1 team would have definitely gotten the rebound… And yet, why did Koma shoot so crudely…?”

“Crudely, you say… It didn’t look like that at all? Did you watch Koma properly, Mako… Mako?”

“….”

“Ma-Mako? Why are you suddenly quiet… Is everything okay?”

That’s right, it’s strange. Koma’s play… Something is strange.

For example, if it had been the usual Koma, rather than taking a desperate shot, she would have calmly passed the ball to the number 4 girl who was waiting behind her, or do a feint to get through the defense, in order to regroup…

“Oops… As expected of Koma-chan. It’s my loss again… I never thought you’d be able to make a three-pointer shot from that position.”

“Haa… Haa.. Thank… you… very much…”

I’m curious about what’s going on with Koma, and so I see that she’s out of breath, talking to the ace of the basketball club… Looking at this carefully, this is strange too. How is this level of activity making Koma who trains regularly this tired? Now that I remember, when I hugged Koma earlier—-

‘Wait… Nee-sama…! This is not allowed… Let go… of… me! I’ve been sweating a lot today… I smell like sweat… So hugging me like this… it’s troubling… for me…’

…. Yeah, she had been sweating so much even though it was only just 2 or 3 minutes of physical activity. What if Koma isn’t feeling well…? Speaking of which, her taste buds hadn’t come back for lunch today, had she caught a cold…?

No, but Koma didn’t seem to be feeling well yesterday either because she didn’t get enough sleep or something, so I had taken her temperature with a thermometer last night and again this morning just to be sure. She had a normal temperature and she wasn’t feeling particularly sick…

“(It’s not like Koma, yesterday too…)”

I remember that she was making a lot of mistakes that didn’t look like Koma at all while she was working with me at the Seijokai yesterday. Now that I remember more,  I think Koma was just staring out the window and mumbling something, not doing any of her work yesterday, too.

What… What was Koma mumbling about at that time…? Eetto, if I’m right it was…

‘Rain is falling… outside…’

‘Nee-sama… Do you like… the rain…?’

‘What are the good points of rain…?’

…. Rain? Oh yeah, that’s right. For some reason, Koma kept repeating the words ‘rain’. Rain… It’s the rainy season, and today in particular, it’s raining so much that it’s overcast and the sunlight can’t reach us. Even now, the rain seems to be getting worse since the morning…

“(Could it be that… Koma can’t deal with the rain?)”

This thought suddenly popped in my mind…. No, I think it’s different this time. I can say this as her older sister who’s been next to Koma more than anybody else.

Every time it rained, she’d get depressed, sick or just plain strange—- She’s never been like this before.

“(For her to be worried so much about the rain… I don’t think I can say the rain is unrelated…?)”

Then, what’s the main cause…? What makes Koma so unsettled…? Think, think, break your head if you have to, me!

She is sweating and out of breath more than usual. Her taste buds were harder to return, too. Lack of concentration, too. Her erratic behaviour after the rain started… What’s left…. The topic of rain that she suddenly talked about. Did Koma say anything more at that time…?

Eeeeei, I have to remember more from yesterday! I think there’s a hint! At that time, Koma… Koma…

‘… I hope it won’t fall… tonight…’

‘…. That’s right, isn’t it… The rain itself is not bad… I have to overcome this, enough playing around, me…’

Rain… and that? What’s that…? Also… What was she talking about when she said hoping it won’t fall tonight?

Fall. Things that fall together with rain… Temperature, feelings… Next is…

“Now then, let’s resume the game with another throw-in by the A-1 team—-”

All the points are connecting each other point by point in my head. Then the teacher with the ball tried to urge the two teams to resume the game… Right that moment.

*Crack*! The sky, which had been so dark, suddenly brightened, and a pale blue light shone into the gymnasium where we were, illuminating us.

Next moment, there was a roar and a vibration that shook the gymnasium, and at the same time, all the lights went out at once. Could it be this…!?

“Thun… der…”

“Uoo… I got frightened. So it’s thunder?”

“It was scary. Didn’t it fall really close just now?”

That’s right,  I finally got it… It’s thunder! In that case… This is very bad!

“My, my, the lights went out. … Eh? Ma-Mako…? What’s wrong? Where are you heading!?”

“Oi, idiot! Mako is going wild again… Stop right there, Mako!”

I’m suddenly standing out as if I’d been struck by the thunder. Thanks to it, I connected the dots. At the same my instincts are screaming ‘Koma is in danger!’.

My friends try to restrain me as I suddenly get up and run into the court, but… I shake off all of their restraints and run to the frame without even looking aside. 

“…. Haa… Aa…aaa…”

Before my eyes, I can see Koma’s eyes widen at the thunderstrike just now and her face gradually turns blue. She held her chest with her hands in pain, like a child abandoned by its parents… Her expression is a mixture of pain, anxiousness and tension.

This is… Koma’s expression…! It’s definitely the same as back then!

“….?  Koma-chan? You look somewhat pale… Is something wrong? Are you okay?”
“No,… Nooo… I hate it…!”

“Eh… Wait a sec, Koma-chan! That’s dange—-!”

Everyone else, distracted by the lightning and the power outage, seemed to have finally noticed that something was wrong with Koma here. One of my friends on the court reaches out to Koma and says, ‘Are you okay? to her.

However, the action seems to have had the opposite effect, and Koma shakes her hand away, rejecting it, trembling .

Thanks to shaking her hand off strongly, Koma entangles her legs and slumps her body. In a panic, my friend reaches out her hand to Koma once again, but the hand slips through the air.

Koma without even receiving it, she just plunges head first into the floor…

“(*Whoosh*) I made it… in time…”

—In the nick of time, I caught Koma in my arms just before she collided with the floor.

Okay, okay…! I somehow made it in time! She’s safe! Good job, me!

While holding her in my arms I call out to her in panic to make sure she’s conscious.

“Koma, Koma…! Look at me! Komaa….!”

“….Onee-chan…?”

“!”

… Just now she called me Onee-chan and not Nee-sama. I’ve missed her calling me that. Is that so… As I thought, it’s about that. It finally makes sense to me, Koma. I’m sorry it took me so long…

“Ye~ah, it’s Onee-chan. Koma, you’re safe now.”

“…Aah. As I thought… It’s Onee-chan… I’m happy…”

I smile as if nothing has happened and talk to Koma while patting her head just like in the past. When Koma sees that I am holding her, she gives me a weak smile as if she was relieved and surrendered herself to me.

“Rest for a bit, Komaa~ It’s okay, Onee-chan will stay here with you, okay~? You can rest safely~ Sleeping is fine, too~”

“—Onee-chan will sleep with me too… You won’t go anywhere? You won’t leave me alone… Like that, time…?”

“I won’t go anywhere. I’ll be right here on Koma’s side, see?”

“Un…”

I pat Koma’s head until she calms down completely. If I caress her for a while, she will fall asleep with a sigh… I’m glad… I’ve solved her worries.

… I’m sorry, Koma. I’m sorry it took me so long to notice. I apologize to Koma over and over again in my head, and hold the sleeping Koma up in my arms.

“Ko-Koma! Koma-chan, what’s wrong!? Are you all right!? Is it anemia!? Did she faint!? Or is she sick from some kind of disease…!?”

“… Calm down, Kanakana. Koma is a bit unsteady. There’s no need to be worried.”

“Tachibana Mako-san! What happened to Koma-san!? Is there something I can help with!?”

“Teacher, you also should calm down. It’s not something of a big deal.”

I pick Koma up and am about to head to the nurse’s office when my friend who tried to help her earlier and the teacher start talking to me.

My other friends and Koma’s classmates also asked ‘What’s wrong? Are you hurt, Koma-chan?’ And they seemed to be looking at us with a distant, worried expression.

“…Teacher, I’m sorry for interrupting your class but is it fine to take my little sister to the nurse’s room?”

“Of course it’s okay for you to go to the nurse! Emm… Should I accompany you to the nurse?”
“No, I’m okay alone. More importantly, may I ask you to call my sister’s homeroom and my homeroom teacher to the nurse’s room? I’d like to talk to the teachers about something.”
“Yes! I understand!”

“Also you don’t have to worry about us so please resume your class. My little sister and I apologize in advance for the trouble we’ve caused.”

At any rate, I asked the teacher to resume the class and asked her to call my homeroom teacher and Koma’s homeroom teacher to the nurse’s room.

Today… Koma probably will leave early from school. I’ll have to call Aunty too once I get to the nurse’s room.

“Mako, I’m on the health committee. Let’s go together. It would be hard for you to carry Koma-chan all alone!”

“Ah! Then, I’ll go too! It’s better for three people to carry her than two!”

“I’m on the health committee, too, so I’ll help you carry Koma. Leave it to me!”

“…..Kanakana. Also everyone, thank you all. But it’s fine. Koma is light so I can do it alone. Also… If I go with too many people, then we’ll get in the way of the health teacher, and if you’re worrying too much, you’ll just trouble Koma, you know?”.

“””Ah… Un. That’s true, as well…”””

That’s what I say to my kind-hearted friends who offer to lend me a hand. I really appreciate their kindness, but… If someone other than me, my aunt, or even Chiyuri-sensei were to touch Koma now, it would cause Koma to panic.

“I’ve received your feelings. Thank you for worrying about Koma. Well then, I’m off to the nurse’s room.”

“Ah… No, there’s nothing to thank me…”

“Tachibana-san, I’ve sent notifications to the homeroom teachers. They’re on their way there.”

“Thank you as well, teacher. Now, I’ll excuse myself.”

While bowing deeply to the teacher and my friends I headed to the nurse’s room, holding Koma tightly so that she would never fall, and with the worried eyes of everyone on my back.

… I’m so happy. There are so many people that care a lot about Koma. As Koma’s sister, I’m a bit impressed.

Now… If I take my time then Koma’s body might become cold, so I have to hurry.

3 comments

  1. gianthoneybee · July 31, 2021

    Oooh, things are taking a turn! Waiting with anticipation for the continuation

    Like

  2. Hermes Passer · July 31, 2021

    It took Mako to faint to Mako act like a proper human

    Like

  3. Birb · July 31, 2021

    Is it just me or are her friends really crappy people? I just can’t like her friends at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment